We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Young and Young at Heart”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Reminded me of thr Ace hotel chain. Hip and a little spartan. Good staff. Best for students. We had a room with a double bed and two bunkbed sets. Nice staff in lobby and good resturant. Some intersting options in other rooms. Spare style.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi Tom!

Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay with us here in Edinburgh - we are flattered to be compared to Ace Hotels!

It's really fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our recently refurbished hotel, and I hope we can welcome you back again next time you are in Scotland :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a super cool hotel/hostel combo -- will certainly be back. For starters, location is ideal: within walking distance of Old City sights and New City shopping. Lobby is adorable -- nice area to sit, grab a coffee, talk, or plan the day out. Art and design of the place is absolutely fabulous! Staff is excellent - helpful, sweet, and accommodating. Rooms are super neat -- some have just one double bed, others have four beds, some have six. We were traveling with a group of students, so it was perfect and affordable. Best parts of room: totally comfortable, tea at the ready, chocolate/marshmellow candies, bottled water, iPod doc + speakers (even in bathroom!), and the bathroom (!). Shower was amazing as were lovely shampoo/soaps/etc. Super clean place. Would stay there again with large group of kids, by myself, with a sweetheart, or my family - it's that good.

My one beef is minor -- the bar attached to it (where you can get breakfast) is kind of gross - you know, soaked in beer, dirty, etc. BUT - the staff at the bar is lovely. Also, be prepared to hear some music late into the night, but it's not too bad. Not a noise level that would prevent me from staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi Bridget,

Thank you so much for the lovely review - we really appreciate it :-)

It's great to hear such positive feedback about our hotel; it sounds like you had a fantastic trip to Edinburgh and I am so pleased we could play a wee part in that!

Please keep in touch and we will ensure you receive a fantastic returner rate on your next stay!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Received amazing service from everyone who worked there, the rooms were spotless, a good size and had a great bathroom. There was a bar below which also had good food which was not too expensive, and you couldn't hear any noise or music from there in the hotel either. Would rate 10/10, best place we stayed in while travelling.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi Amy,

Thank you for the great review - it is awesome to hear you would recommend us to others :-)

It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed our recently refurbished rooms, and our fantastic staff!

Please keep in touch if you do return to Edinburgh and we will sort you out with a fantastic returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Overall great hotel, great location and great staff. The rooms were a reasonable size very clean and had a docking station and speakers built into the wall. Best shower i have ever had.

The very best thing to top it off were the staff, they were so friendly and helpful, always willing to help. The first thing a member of staff asked me when i arrived was "would you like some hot chocolate" :-)

loved it will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert_uk420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests :-)

It's great to hear you enjoyed the hotel, our fantastic showers (we love them!) and particularly our staff - they make us what we are!

Please keep in touch and we will ensure you receive a fantastic returner rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Was at a friends wedding and Stay Central was 2 streets away from the ceremony and the reception so perfect location.
Excellent room with great facilities, immaculately clean, iPod Dock that played in the shower was a nice touch as were the Tunnocks tea cakes - very welcome at 3am after the wedding. Definitely use again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowWeddingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi David,

Thanks for the perfect review - we are flattered!

It sounds like you had a great trip to Edinburgh for the wedding; it's great that we could play a wee part in that for you and teacakes helped to round off the night!

Let us know if you do return and we will ensure you receive a great returners rate :-)

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The location is great! Small and nice hotel, very informal and good for groups of friends. The hotel is located right above a bar and that means a lot of noise during the night. Also the cleaning service is not the best one. The staff is very friendly and supportive. I would recommend this hotel for young couples or a group of friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mariainesdinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi Mariainesdinis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh - it sounds like you had a great trip!

I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Edinburgh.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked 2 of the 6 bedded rooms for my friend's hen party and we loved it. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are wonderful ( although I agree with some reviews about no privacy with the bathroom door).
It was well placed for plenty of bars and I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It was noisy at night due to the busy bar and bottles being tipped into the bins at 2-3 am but I don't see how that can be avoided.
We did have an issue with the room being hot but I turned the heating unit off for the second night and it wasn't as bad.
All in all for what we paid we loved it, but it is for the younger crowd!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalky_balls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi chalky_balls,

Thank you for the great review!!

It sounds like you had a wonderful trip to Edinburgh for the Hen Party - I am so glad that you loved it and we could play a small part in that :-)

It's great to hear such positive feedback about your stay - the staff will be delighted to hear your kind comments about them. Thank you for bringing the issue with your air conditioning to my attention - I will ensure the maintenance team look into this.

Hope to see you again soon!

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#52 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,312 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,757 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing