We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, new, clean and value for money.”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
190 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Modern, new, clean and value for money.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed by Maria, the extremely-friendly and helpful receptionist who provided us with tips on sightseeing and food. We love the simple, lively environment with games and messages by hostelites from all over the world. The size of the room and bathroom is big. Love the jars of tea bags & sugar, the coffee-maker(though we did not use it), huge TV (32-inch probably), the colourful bottles of toiletries, the large number of power points and also the "roll-up" stickers on the toilet paper rolls, how the bathroom may was rolled up instead of folded...the list will go on and on ... We shall leave the rest for your own discovery. To sum it up, next trip to Edinburgh, we will definitely opt for STAY Central again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedai79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi Jedai79,

Thanks for the great review!!

It's great to hear you had such a fantastic time in Edinburgh and that you had such positive feedback about the hotel. I can't wait to show Maria your review - she will be flattered at the personal mention :-)

Hope to see you again next time you are in Scotland!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    442
    107
    56
    28
See reviews for
277
548
83
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had a great stay.

Great bits:
Very clean
Friendly and exceptionally helpful and accommodating staff
Best shower ever!
Brilliantly central

Not so great bits:
Joined on to a night club so gets noisy and very busy. Great for hen or stag nights
Bit of a strange lay out with steps (not so good if on crutches!)

Overall very very happy stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RoastMunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
MWHug,

Thank you for the great review; we really appreciate it!

It's great to hear such positive feedback about your recent stay with us, and I hope you will return again soon :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The rooms are very clean and comfortable with contempory decor. The bathrooms have a waterfall style walk in shower and there is an Ipod dock on the wall, Sky TV and a Nespresso machine! Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of cereals and full Scottish breakfast for just £6.95, which is a bargain. Do not think because it is relatively cheap that you are getting inferior rooms - you are definitely not!! Only downside is that there are no onsite parking facilities and the NCP is over £15 per day. However, if you fancy a 40 minute walk, park in zone B1 which is free (look a parking on 'West Saville Terrace')

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelthamTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi MelthamTerrier,

Thank you for the great review about your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

It's great to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, and that you enjoyed the breakfast next door in The Three Sisters.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon :-)

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Reminded me of thr Ace hotel chain. Hip and a little spartan. Good staff. Best for students. We had a room with a double bed and two bunkbed sets. Nice staff in lobby and good resturant. Some intersting options in other rooms. Spare style.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Tom!

Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay with us here in Edinburgh - we are flattered to be compared to Ace Hotels!

It's really fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our recently refurbished hotel, and I hope we can welcome you back again next time you are in Scotland :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a super cool hotel/hostel combo -- will certainly be back. For starters, location is ideal: within walking distance of Old City sights and New City shopping. Lobby is adorable -- nice area to sit, grab a coffee, talk, or plan the day out. Art and design of the place is absolutely fabulous! Staff is excellent - helpful, sweet, and accommodating. Rooms are super neat -- some have just one double bed, others have four beds, some have six. We were traveling with a group of students, so it was perfect and affordable. Best parts of room: totally comfortable, tea at the ready, chocolate/marshmellow candies, bottled water, iPod doc + speakers (even in bathroom!), and the bathroom (!). Shower was amazing as were lovely shampoo/soaps/etc. Super clean place. Would stay there again with large group of kids, by myself, with a sweetheart, or my family - it's that good.

My one beef is minor -- the bar attached to it (where you can get breakfast) is kind of gross - you know, soaked in beer, dirty, etc. BUT - the staff at the bar is lovely. Also, be prepared to hear some music late into the night, but it's not too bad. Not a noise level that would prevent me from staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Bridget,

Thank you so much for the lovely review - we really appreciate it :-)

It's great to hear such positive feedback about our hotel; it sounds like you had a fantastic trip to Edinburgh and I am so pleased we could play a wee part in that!

Please keep in touch and we will ensure you receive a fantastic returner rate on your next stay!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Received amazing service from everyone who worked there, the rooms were spotless, a good size and had a great bathroom. There was a bar below which also had good food which was not too expensive, and you couldn't hear any noise or music from there in the hotel either. Would rate 10/10, best place we stayed in while travelling.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Amy,

Thank you for the great review - it is awesome to hear you would recommend us to others :-)

It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed our recently refurbished rooms, and our fantastic staff!

Please keep in touch if you do return to Edinburgh and we will sort you out with a fantastic returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Overall great hotel, great location and great staff. The rooms were a reasonable size very clean and had a docking station and speakers built into the wall. Best shower i have ever had.

The very best thing to top it off were the staff, they were so friendly and helpful, always willing to help. The first thing a member of staff asked me when i arrived was "would you like some hot chocolate" :-)

loved it will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert_uk420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests :-)

It's great to hear you enjoyed the hotel, our fantastic showers (we love them!) and particularly our staff - they make us what we are!

Please keep in touch and we will ensure you receive a fantastic returner rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing