We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with an identity crisis?”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Thinks it is a boutique hotel, but our experience was more posh hostel. Initially the hotel looks inviting & quirky, but there are a number of issues - ROOMS, include mod cons but do not get the basics right. A small double bedroom only had space for 1 reading light, 1 table & a gap 12" along the side of the bed, making it awkward to get out of bed. Additionally the tv reception was very patchy. The main issue is noise - THIS IS A REALLY NOISY HOTEL. What is not stressed that the hotel is attached to a large bar / night club (Three Sisters). First night we returned to Club 18-30s style, stag / hen nights. The music could be heard in a room (which was at the back of the hotel & away from the bar), only muffled with ear plugs & went on until 'late'. The during the following day, loud music started again at lunch time. When I complained, I was told that Saturday night was the 'big' one, today was a food festival which would be finished by 8pm, the noise reduced & offered ear plugs. We returned at 10pm, it had not & continued until 'late'. A number of customers complained about the noise over the course of the weekend. On check out, the other receptionist was more sympathetic & would have moved us to a quieter room, had she been aware. The manager has since been in touch & refunded the cost of the breakfast to compensate. BREAKFAST - this was served in the bar, which smelt strongly of stale beer & bench / table surfaces were all stickly. Service was very disorganised, slow, delayed due to the unexpected large groups. Could not face breakfast on the second day. Dissapointed.

Room Tip: Check if pub has events planned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookworm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi bookworm,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us; we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests.

Firstly, please let me apologise that your experience with us didn’t meet your expectations of the hotel. We aim to provide the highest level of service to every guest staying in our unique and exciting hotel, and I am sorry that this was not what you felt you received during your recent visit.
Due to the age of the building our rooms do vary in size, we categorise our rooms as S, M, L, XL, XXL & The Private Dorm to try and combat this issue. Having looked into your booking, I can see you had booked an ‘S’ room which is the smallest category available.

I am also sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise during your stay; we do advertise as being located above The 3 Sisters Bar and that some rooms are affected by noise. We do have quiet rooms that can be requested at the time of booking, and we try to meet all requests as best we can. Please let me know if you do return in the future and I will be sure to allocate you a quiet room away from the bar and courtyard.

I am disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced with breakfast next door in The Three Sisters. I have passed on your comments onto their management team, and we are working together to try and provide the best possible experience for our mutual guests.

Thank you again for your comments,

Rachel Duff

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Funky little hotel, if you want a laid back informal hotel, this is the place. Staff casual but efficient, friendly and helpfull , nothing too much trouble. Ideally situated for getting round the old town and just a short walk from the station, if up and down a hill.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter, imagine it could be noisy at weekend and during fringe, but wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi DavidP,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and willing to go the extra mile for you. I'll make sure that they all see your wonderful comment

Don’t be a stranger, let us know next time your returning to Edinburgh directly and we will be more than happy to help. It was a pleasure to have you stay.

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night and we are extremely happy with our stay. It is extremely central, but the front entrance is a little sneaky as it is behind a beer garden. We were a little worried about noise levels but we could not hear a thing outside our room. Reception was very friendly and our room was a medium and it was huge compared to European standards. The bathroom was the best of our week long stay in Scotland and the whole hotel was very clean. Great bar and restaurant attached to the hotel. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi AmberM,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our STAY Central Hotel..

I am glad to hear that we managed to accommodate your request for a quiet room and you made the most of our central location.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very clean, modern and hip! My husband and I had a great time at this hotel. Staff was helpful especially the girl at the reception who said she was from Valencia, Spain (sorry, forgot to ask her name!) We arrived very early in the morning and they let us leave our luggage. And they also made extra efforts to prepare our rooms for an early check-in. Wish we stayed here longer!

Loved the extra touches too! We were asked if we were celebrating anything special and we said that we were in fact celebrating our anniversary. Upon arrival, we were surprised with a box of chocolates and a sweet note! Love the quirky designs and decor all around the hotel.

Location was also good (we took the Royal Edinburgh 48 hours hop on hop off ticket and we always asked to be dropped off at Grassmarket area and from there, the hotel is just a short walk).

Had the breakfast at The Three Sisters and it was alright. Nothing amazing, but it was good enough. :) We tried both the Continental and the Scottish Breakfast and I would recommend the Scottish breakfast more because the Continental one is just cereals, milk, etc. (the usual).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheenaLovesSunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi Sheena G,

I am so pleased to read such a wonderful review and we really appreciate that you choose to share that with all of our future guests.

It's great to hear that you choose to share such a special occasion with us here at STAY Central, I am so glad we got to play a part in that :-)

I’ll make sure that Maria sees your wonderful comment, I am sure it will make her day!

Please keep in touch to receive the best returner rate on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was very surprised about the rooms. This hotel have really original rooms and a lot of humour. The staff is always smiling and here for you. The only bad point is that the breakfast takes place in the pub "The Three Sisters" where the tables were dirty and it smelt of alcohol due to the previous evening's party.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi Akyana,

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it's fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our newly refurbished rooms & staff :-)

We have passed on your comments about breakfast to the Three Sisters management team and are working closely together to improve our guest's experience at breakfast.

Hopefully see you again soon,

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a very nice stay! It's perfectly located in the very centre of Edinburgh. The three sisters pub is part of the hotel, which makes it possible to have a drink after visiting the city and then go to your room without going outside. We didn't had any noise from the bar, so we slept well.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the outside of the building, the innerside can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Irma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hi Irma,

Thank you so much for the great review – it sounds like you had a lovely stay in Edinburgh!

It’s great to hear you enjoyed our city centre location, the neighbouring bar and that we were able to accommodate you in a quiet room :-)

I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in the city…

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Really good hotel! Best beds ever. Coffee! Rainfallshower. Nice products. Husband wants a better paperbasket :-) Agree. No carpets - love that. Hope breakfast gets better... much better. Stay at Stay :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ingela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Ingela D,

Wow – thanks for the superb review! We are so flattered!

It is really lovely to get such fantastic feedback from our guests about our brand new hotel – you will be pleased to know we are currently working on rolling out a new breakfast menu and extra staff training in conjunction with The Three Sisters management team.

I hope we will see you again next time you are in Edinburgh :-)

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £67 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing