We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are a young, hip, Party person, this is the Hotel for you!”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #46 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you are a young, hip, Party person, this is the Hotel for you!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Hotel is close to everything. Very close to the center of town, the historic Royal Mile, the Castle, the Grassmarket party area, the bars, the pubs, the shops and the tours. No view, but great location nonetheless!
The personnel is young, smiling and helpful.
The Hotel's design is fresh, new, fun and practical. Rooms are comfortable, clean and quite spacious by European standards. All you need is there. The beds and linen are comfy and perfect. The bathroom is large, design, clean and very modern.
Wifi is Free! The breakfasts are copious and excellent. The Hotel proposes lots of fun, hip activities. It is vibrant with life and with ingenious ideas. A great place to be! Almost a 5 rating.

BUT...

Located just over a big, very crowded bar, there is a lot of action: Hen parties, drunk young people, BoomBoom loud music and dancing going on outside. It IS fun... but quite noisy. And this keeps going late at night pretty much everyday. If you want (need) a full night sleep... Forget it (bring earplugs or ask for a quiet room!).

Room Tip: If it is sleep you seek, ask for a quiet room away from the front terrace of the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Misteur_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Misteur_Bill!

Wow, what a review! Thank you!

We like to think we offer a little bit of everything, suitable for all, be you a 'young, hip, party person' or not, and it's great to see that you enjoyed your stay so much with us - we aim to please!

Please let us know when you are back in Edinburgh and we will set you up with a great returner rate :-)

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    459
    115
    59
    30
See reviews for
292
572
85
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice cosy room gives you feel of sanctuary.
Good location (walk distance from Waverley station and Royal Mile).
Hotel connected to very atmospheric pub (with good selection of drinks and courses) which may be a bit noisy at Friday/Saturday nights, but my room was quite enough for comfort sleeping.
Highly recommended for short stay in Edinburgh except families with children.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlGovorko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi AlGovorko,

Thanks for the fantastic review – we are so flattered!

It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, city centre location and your stay in
Edinburgh :-)

Keep in touch to ensure you receive the best returner rate on your next stay!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stay Central is a revelation. There's something to be said for a hotel that's full of originality and a sense of humour. From the minute we walked in the door there was much to admire - from the world map where you stick you luggage label saying where you're from to the lift with the amusing information on where to go with such options as "chippy" and "panda" for the zoo.
Rooms are attractive and graded according to size - they come in S, M, L, XL, XXL etc.My M room was comfortable and - joy of joys - actually had decent lighting and lovely little touches like chocolate teacakes.
Although not for us, I can imagine people would have loved the option to use skateboards or in-line skates. Everything about this place was great and we'd definitely return. Only small thing - we had to leave without breakfast as it wasn't served until 7.30am which is not good for business people but that's only a tiny point - great hotel for those who really want to experience something different and the service is fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - there's a lively bar out front which probably gets very busy at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi bamNorthEast,

Thanks for the great review – it was our pleasure having you stay as a guest, and we are so happy you enjoyed your time with us :-)

We try to do things a little differently around our place, and it’s fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our approach! I’m sorry you did not manage to fit breakfast in; let us know next time and we will arrange something for you.

I hope we will see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Best way to describe this hotel is like the fun of a hostel met with the advantages of a hotel. Very young and cool vibe to the whole hotel. The rooms are unique and are very new. All amenities are nice and though the room was a bit small, it was quite good value for what it was. Staff was very helpful and knowledgable of local area.
Only drawback is trying to find the hotel the first time. It's a bit hidden and tough to find if you haven't been there before. It does live up to its name though as it is very central in Edinburgh (once located).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinFromVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Colin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of your stay with us!

It’s lovely to hear such positive feedback about your stay, the staff and that you found us to be great value :-)

Thank you for your comments regarding our location; we are looking into new signage possibilities at the moment!

I hope we can welcome you back again in the future,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel in April time, me and husband and our 8 months old dauther. Happy with everything: staff, rooms, service, location (can't better), breakfast... I don't know why people complained about staying there with children...We were happy!! We definitely come back!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Tomy125,

Thanks for the fantastic review!

It’s great to hear you had such a nice stay with us and that you will be returning to stay again :-)

Please let us know when you are planning to return, and we will ensure you receive the best returner’s rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Thinks it is a boutique hotel, but our experience was more posh hostel. Initially the hotel looks inviting & quirky, but there are a number of issues - ROOMS, include mod cons but do not get the basics right. A small double bedroom only had space for 1 reading light, 1 table & a gap 12" along the side of the bed, making it awkward to get out of bed. Additionally the tv reception was very patchy. The main issue is noise - THIS IS A REALLY NOISY HOTEL. What is not stressed that the hotel is attached to a large bar / night club (Three Sisters). First night we returned to Club 18-30s style, stag / hen nights. The music could be heard in a room (which was at the back of the hotel & away from the bar), only muffled with ear plugs & went on until 'late'. The during the following day, loud music started again at lunch time. When I complained, I was told that Saturday night was the 'big' one, today was a food festival which would be finished by 8pm, the noise reduced & offered ear plugs. We returned at 10pm, it had not & continued until 'late'. A number of customers complained about the noise over the course of the weekend. On check out, the other receptionist was more sympathetic & would have moved us to a quieter room, had she been aware. The manager has since been in touch & refunded the cost of the breakfast to compensate. BREAKFAST - this was served in the bar, which smelt strongly of stale beer & bench / table surfaces were all stickly. Service was very disorganised, slow, delayed due to the unexpected large groups. Could not face breakfast on the second day. Dissapointed.

Room Tip: Check if pub has events planned
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookworm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi bookworm,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us; we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests.

Firstly, please let me apologise that your experience with us didn’t meet your expectations of the hotel. We aim to provide the highest level of service to every guest staying in our unique and exciting hotel, and I am sorry that this was not what you felt you received during your recent visit.
Due to the age of the building our rooms do vary in size, we categorise our rooms as S, M, L, XL, XXL & The Private Dorm to try and combat this issue. Having looked into your booking, I can see you had booked an ‘S’ room which is the smallest category available.

I am also sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise during your stay; we do advertise as being located above The 3 Sisters Bar and that some rooms are affected by noise. We do have quiet rooms that can be requested at the time of booking, and we try to meet all requests as best we can. Please let me know if you do return in the future and I will be sure to allocate you a quiet room away from the bar and courtyard.

I am disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced with breakfast next door in The Three Sisters. I have passed on your comments onto their management team, and we are working together to try and provide the best possible experience for our mutual guests.

Thank you again for your comments,

Rachel Duff

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Funky little hotel, if you want a laid back informal hotel, this is the place. Staff casual but efficient, friendly and helpfull , nothing too much trouble. Ideally situated for getting round the old town and just a short walk from the station, if up and down a hill.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter, imagine it could be noisy at weekend and during fringe, but wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi DavidP,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and willing to go the extra mile for you. I'll make sure that they all see your wonderful comment

Don’t be a stranger, let us know next time your returning to Edinburgh directly and we will be more than happy to help. It was a pleasure to have you stay.

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,138 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing