We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish & Fun - a real find!”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #45 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stylish & Fun - a real find!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We recently stayed at Stay Central for a Hen Weekend. Having found the place on-line we'll admit we were wondering if the place was too good to be true ... from the website it looked stylish, a great selection of rooms (singles, doubles, twins, bunk rooms), funky décor, GHD's in the rooms, and a 10% group discount ... well, shame on us, we shouldn't have doubted for a second. Stay Central was just perfect - and exceeded all our expectations. It's also in a great location too - a very short 5 minute walk from the Castle and Royal Mile.

The rooms appear freshly decorated and are spotless, they are spacious and light too, and the décor is brilliant - fun, modern, fresh - flat screen TV's, fluffy duvets, soft beds, walk-in showers, thoughtful touches like black out blinds, de-misting mirrors, herbal teas (as well as breakfast teas) and teacakes in the room! I've stayed in 5* establishments at much higher prices that have not been as good!

The Three Sisters Pub is attached to the hotel and offers cheap breakfasts £5pp - we didn't try them, but we did order some very tasty stone-baked pizzas, which they were more than happy to deliver to the room while we were enjoy a few games & glasses of bubbles. We also enjoyed a few sharing plates of food throughout the weekend sat in the very large courtyard (which was often crammed full of people (mostly men) watching the giant sports screens. The pub also offers a number of 'Hen Packages' and private spaces where you can enjoy them. They helped us organise a 'Butler in the Buff' in the bunk room we'd hired - who was brilliant fun, we definitely got more than we bargained for, and he was such a fun guy and helped get the weekend's activities in full swing!!

The staff at Stay Central are the other main reason this place is so great! Welcoming, friendly, super helpful, couldn't do more for you - a very relaxed and easy-going attitude, but completely on the ball, efficient and wanted us to have a great time. Perfect attitude.

We were a little worried the hotel would be wild and noisy (even though we were a Hen Party) However at night it was very quiet. Once the bar closes (2am) people vacate quickly and the place is completely silent. The pub next door is loud & full, which actually we felt created a great atmosphere, perfect for the kind of weekend we wanted. Don't be fooled into thinking this place is just for groups - there were a complete mix of guests, and next time I come to Edinburgh with my friends or hubby I'll not think twice about returning.

Great people, Great Rooms, Great Value for Money, Great Location. Great Atmosphere. Enjoy!
And THANK YOU to all the staff who made our weekend so much fun!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 307 & 305 - both looked over a car-park rather than the bar and were very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DillyDaudle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi DillyDaudle

Thank you so much for leaving such a fantastic review of your recent visit to the STAY Central, your kind comments really did make our day (along with the great photos of Craig and the ‘Butler in the Buff’!)

I will ensure that both the hotel and the adjoining Three Sisters staff see your wonderful comments. I am sure they will be as pleased as I was to hear that you enjoyed staying here as much as we enjoyed having you stay!

It was an absolute pleasure having you and ‘The Only Way Is Edinburgh’ hens celebrate with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh soon.

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    465
    117
    61
    30
See reviews for
300
582
87
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Me and my friends went here for my friends 21st birthday and the staff were all amazing in helping me surprise her, they offered to buy balloons and banners to decorate the room and when It turned out I already bought decorations they suggested that I send them directly to the hotel and on our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who all wished my friend a happy birthday. She was completely surprised when she entered our room and it had been decorated with balloons and banners and they had also taken the time to write out a birthday card and place chocolates in the room, it was a lovely touch. From there we were amazed by the standard of the room and the facilities, the docking station was a great aspect especially whilst getting ready for the night ahead! Furthermore the shower was amazing none of us wanted to leave it! Not to mention that the location was perfectly central and the decoration of the hotel was so original and contemporary, there were many small but memorable details all throughout the hotel.
Overall it was such a great party environment with a bar right at our door step which was also great, it's the perfect hotel for younger groups looking for a fun weekend with friends! We couldn't get over how amazing it was during our stay we had a fantastic night out which started off at the bar across the courtyard from the hotel! And the next day they were more than happy to help us find a good place to eat. We would recommend this hotel to anyone as the staff were all very helpful and friendly and the room actually amazing! My friend had a memorable birthday here and it's all thanks to the staff and experience we had here!
We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani-jay93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Dani,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay in Edinburgh with us; we really appreciate it :-)

I am so pleased that your friend had such a fabulous 21st birthday here in Edinburgh, and that we could play a small part in helping it run smoothly! It's sounds like you had a really great time and thoroughly enjoyed yourselves.

We aim to provide the best customer service to our guests, and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the whole team! We have recently undergone a full refurbishment and it is lovely to hear such positive feedback about the room design and amenities; I too love the showers, they are amazing!

I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Edinburgh,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Hotel is close to everything. Very close to the center of town, the historic Royal Mile, the Castle, the Grassmarket party area, the bars, the pubs, the shops and the tours. No view, but great location nonetheless!
The personnel is young, smiling and helpful.
The Hotel's design is fresh, new, fun and practical. Rooms are comfortable, clean and quite spacious by European standards. All you need is there. The beds and linen are comfy and perfect. The bathroom is large, design, clean and very modern.
Wifi is Free! The breakfasts are copious and excellent. The Hotel proposes lots of fun, hip activities. It is vibrant with life and with ingenious ideas. A great place to be! Almost a 5 rating.

BUT...

Located just over a big, very crowded bar, there is a lot of action: Hen parties, drunk young people, BoomBoom loud music and dancing going on outside. It IS fun... but quite noisy. And this keeps going late at night pretty much everyday. If you want (need) a full night sleep... Forget it (bring earplugs or ask for a quiet room!).

Room Tip: If it is sleep you seek, ask for a quiet room away from the front terrace of the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Misteur_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Misteur_Bill!

Wow, what a review! Thank you!

We like to think we offer a little bit of everything, suitable for all, be you a 'young, hip, party person' or not, and it's great to see that you enjoyed your stay so much with us - we aim to please!

Please let us know when you are back in Edinburgh and we will set you up with a great returner rate :-)

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice cosy room gives you feel of sanctuary.
Good location (walk distance from Waverley station and Royal Mile).
Hotel connected to very atmospheric pub (with good selection of drinks and courses) which may be a bit noisy at Friday/Saturday nights, but my room was quite enough for comfort sleeping.
Highly recommended for short stay in Edinburgh except families with children.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlGovorko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi AlGovorko,

Thanks for the fantastic review – we are so flattered!

It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, city centre location and your stay in
Edinburgh :-)

Keep in touch to ensure you receive the best returner rate on your next stay!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stay Central is a revelation. There's something to be said for a hotel that's full of originality and a sense of humour. From the minute we walked in the door there was much to admire - from the world map where you stick you luggage label saying where you're from to the lift with the amusing information on where to go with such options as "chippy" and "panda" for the zoo.
Rooms are attractive and graded according to size - they come in S, M, L, XL, XXL etc.My M room was comfortable and - joy of joys - actually had decent lighting and lovely little touches like chocolate teacakes.
Although not for us, I can imagine people would have loved the option to use skateboards or in-line skates. Everything about this place was great and we'd definitely return. Only small thing - we had to leave without breakfast as it wasn't served until 7.30am which is not good for business people but that's only a tiny point - great hotel for those who really want to experience something different and the service is fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - there's a lively bar out front which probably gets very busy at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi bamNorthEast,

Thanks for the great review – it was our pleasure having you stay as a guest, and we are so happy you enjoyed your time with us :-)

We try to do things a little differently around our place, and it’s fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our approach! I’m sorry you did not manage to fit breakfast in; let us know next time and we will arrange something for you.

I hope we will see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Best way to describe this hotel is like the fun of a hostel met with the advantages of a hotel. Very young and cool vibe to the whole hotel. The rooms are unique and are very new. All amenities are nice and though the room was a bit small, it was quite good value for what it was. Staff was very helpful and knowledgable of local area.
Only drawback is trying to find the hotel the first time. It's a bit hidden and tough to find if you haven't been there before. It does live up to its name though as it is very central in Edinburgh (once located).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinFromVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Colin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of your stay with us!

It’s lovely to hear such positive feedback about your stay, the staff and that you found us to be great value :-)

Thank you for your comments regarding our location; we are looking into new signage possibilities at the moment!

I hope we can welcome you back again in the future,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel in April time, me and husband and our 8 months old dauther. Happy with everything: staff, rooms, service, location (can't better), breakfast... I don't know why people complained about staying there with children...We were happy!! We definitely come back!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Tomy125,

Thanks for the fantastic review!

It’s great to hear you had such a nice stay with us and that you will be returning to stay again :-)

Please let us know when you are planning to return, and we will ensure you receive the best returner’s rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,173 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 149 in Edinburgh
332 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing