We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and Central hotel. Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern and Central hotel. Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nice and modern hotel close to centre of town. Pub maybe noisy but ask for a quiet room. Well suited for the budget traveller and young couples. Short distance walk to the castle and central Edinburgh. Well recommended, staff friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the pub down stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Peter S,

Thank you so much for leaving such a great review on your recent visit to the STAY Central. Its fantastic to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and our location ideal for all the famous attractions in the city.

As you have pointed out we are located next door to the Three Sisters and are more than happy to allocate our quiet rooms upon request.

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    436
    106
    54
    26
See reviews for
274
541
82
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My spouse and I stayed at Stay Central for two nights in late May 2014. The location is great--you can walk anywhere in downtown Edinburgh. We were very impressed with the room design and amenities. The hotel clean, comfortable and easy. The decor is more hipster than old-school and we enjoyed that. All the details were impeccable. The staff was helpful and kind. The only drawback is the Three Sisters Pub that is part of the complex. It's party central for "stag" and "hen" parties that can go on all night, so you have to maneuver through them to get into the hotel. Not a deal-breaker, though.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms farthest from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Tracy E,

Thank you for taking the time you leave a review on your recent visit to the STAY Central. I am so pleased to hear that you found our new room design impressive, we really have tried to create something special.

Although the hotel does accommodate multi bedded rooms for groups we do have quiet rooms that are located away from these and the Three Sisters that can be allocated upon request.

I am glad to hear that this is not a deal breaker and you will be back to visit soon. Remember to use our great returners rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our time at Stay Central was great. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The bath was large compared to other baths we experienced during our UK vacation. The hotel personnel were friendly, helpful and willing to help us find the best tour options and called us a taxi, even going as far as to confirm the price of the taxi service so that we were not over charged. I would recommend this to others. The only shortcoming was the food at Three Sisters. The eggs were not to our liking as they were very under cooked for American standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 630Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi 630Karen,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the staff to be friendly and willing to go the extra mile for you. I'll make sure that they all see your wonderful comments.

Your feedback on breakfast is much appreciated and I will pass on your comments regarding the eggs to the head chef next door at The Three Sisters to discuss with his team.

We will hopefully be welcoming you back in the near future; don’t forget about our great returners rate.

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Really enjoyed staying here with my significant other. Manicured, clean rooms. I loved having an i-pod dock built into the wall so that I could feel right at home blasting my music of choice through the ceiling speakers. Points the quality of the hairdryer, the in-room coffees, the double blinds for extra darkness, and the large waterfall shower. The bar in the entrance courtyard was packed full of sports fans, and was quite noisy, however take this with a grain of salt as I was staying there on a Saturday night. Would come back again, but likely only if I got a deal on last minute dot com (or some equivalent) as I did this time. Would definitely recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The 'size small' room was more than big enough for a couple (two people who share a bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gooder_Taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Gooder_Taste,

Great to hear you like our new look STAY Central Hotel along with all the little touches we include like iPod players, quality hairdryers and Rainfall Showers – I have to admit, the showers in the rooms are one of my favourite features!

No need to wait for a last minute deal we have fantastic returners rates available all year round!! Let us know when you fancy another adventure and we will be sure to sort you out with the best available rate directly.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Karen & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, a few steps away from the royal mile and around the corner from grass market. Rooms and large for the cost, very clean, speakers you can play your own music to, and a decent flat screen. If you happen to get stuck in edinburgh when it's too rainy to go outside, you can ask for a ps3 or an Xbox for some entertainment.(if you're into that sort of thing). Oh also, lovely free hot chocolate on check in!! Gluck gluck gluck gluck, sound, thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Jack H,

It's fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our STAY Central Hotel; and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your visit.

It sounds like you really made the most of our excellent location right in the heart of the city with so many famous attractions within walking distance. I can only apologise for the Great British weather letting you down, though I am glad that the hot chocolate and games consoles kept you entertained until the sun came out again!

It was a pleasure you have you as our guests. Come back and visit us again soon…

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belem, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a cool hotel. The bedroom has a clean/ modern style, the people working there were very friendly and it has a very nice location, close to a lot of touristic sites downtown. Very good option and I'd stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cesar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Cesar V,

It gives me great pleasure to read your lovely review following your recent visit to STAY Central. I am pleased to hear we lived up to your expectations and you would choose to stay here again.

Please keep in contact and let us know when you are next planning your visit to Edinburgh and we will sort you out with our great returners rate.

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Pros: Convenient location, good price
Cons: "Are we sleeping at a frat?" (-My husband), wifi wasn't great

Overall, the room was nice, but nothing exceptional. The immediate area around the hotel was a little dingy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Angela B,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your feedback on our hotel. This really means a lot to us as we need to know what we are doing well and what we need to tweak to provide our guests the best experience possible.

The WIFI was not an issue that we were aware of and our IT department have been looking into the comments that you made about it not being great to ensure there are no internal issues.

Again Angela, thanks for your honest feedback. If you’re ever returning to Edinburgh please let us know directly.

Karen Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing