We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt Rotten to Stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spoilt Rotten to Stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stay Central came highly recommended by some friends and it easily passed all expectations. Clean accommodation, helpful, friendly staff, comfortable and safe rooms, lots of added extras. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it in a heartbeat to anyone travelling to Edinburgh, great location too!!! Book it now, you won't regret it!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Ann-Marie,

Thank you for your great review; we are flattered!

It's lovely to hear you came to us on recommendation and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us :-) It's great to hear that you found us to be helpful & friendly, and that the rooms were clean and comfortable - I too love all the wee touches dotted about.

Please keep in touch to ensure you receive an excellent returner rate on your next stay :-)

I hope we will see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    429
    104
    53
    25
See reviews for
265
532
79
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had 2 XXL rooms. One with 6 single beds and 1 with 4 singles and a bunk bed.

Everything was great! Rooms were ideal for us- very nicely decorated, awesome facilities and the tea cakes/ tea n coffee making things were great. Staff were all very helpful. Everywhere was clean and tidy.

Only issue was our breakfast which we pre ordered for 10am. We ordered 11 breakfasts. 1 came at half 10 and the rest came at 11am. Half of the cooked breakfasts had an item missing e.g no potato bread or mushrooms. However the staff at stay kindly took this off our bill and we didn't have to pay for it.

Overall a brilliant spot for a party weekend away- would not be a place for a romantic or quiet weekend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyD1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Joy,

Thank you so much for your excellent review - it sounds like you all had a lovely hen party here in Edinburgh!

It's great to hear such positive feedback from our guests about so many aspects of their stay; and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast next door at The Three Sisters - I am disappointed to hear of the service you received, and I have passed on all your comments to the management team next door who are hosting a new training session for all their staff on breakfast service later this week.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we can welcome you back again soon :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Nice and lovely stuff, modern design, situated in the center of Edinburgh, really lovely atmosfere. Good equipment of the room. Stuff ready to help at any time and to solve of kind of probems. Totally advice this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Denis K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of your recent stay with us in Edinburgh. It gives me great pleasure to read that you would recommend us to future guests.

I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and found the room well equipped for all of your needs.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed with our 3 children. We had 4 singles and a set of bunk beds. One room- great for family bonding. Close to Everything we wanted to do. Great bar out front (our kids are teens) with huge TV showing the World cup. Our room was quiet-- but I wonder about rooms closer to the bar. Only complaint-- the bathroom door is not a full door- it is made of frosted glass and is only a partial door (does not go all the way to the top.) In a room with 5 people a bit more privacy for the toilet would have been nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Liz D,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a terrific review about your recent stay with us at STAY Central Hotel! I am so pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your family in one of our multi bedded rooms so you could all be together.

Rooms closer to the bar as noted can be affected by noise however quiet rooms can be allocated upon request.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at Stay Central in June 2014. Helpful staff, good location. Our room cost around 160 Euro per night, which we found a bit expensive for what we got. Sure, the hotel is new, clean and central. One of our room was very small and EUR 160 seemed a bit overpriced. All in all still a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 374andreash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi Andreas,

I am delighted to read such a fantastic review on our STAY Central Hotel. It sounds like you had a great visit to Edinburgh and I am glad that you made the most of our central location.

Rates do vary depending on what events are taking place in the city. Ensure you contact us directly and make the most of our incredible returner rate next time you visit!

See you soon,

Karen & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland, Europe
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent stay here in June of this year.

Hotel was surprisingly well kitted out in a trendy quirky type of way.

Nice clean modern rooms and staff were helpful and friendly.

I can understand some people might be put off by noise from the Court yare but it dodnt bother us in the slightest.

Will definitely be booking this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRJB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello JRJB1981,

Thanks so much for the great review of your recent stay with us!

It is always wonderful to hear such fantastic feedback about our new hotel, I am so pleased you enjoyed the rooms and have such kind comments about our staff - we work hard to ensure our guests have the best time :-)

Let us know when you are returning, and we will be sure to sort you out with a great returner's rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here with my family in the end of May for one night .
We had booked the room for four and were not dissapointed in fact the kids loved the bunk beds.
The hotel is pretty centrally located and is a few minutes walk from the Royal Mile or Grassmarket. There is a pub in front of the hotel but was empty the night we were there so there was no noise.The hotels decor is very different from any hotel I have stayed in and I quite liked it.
We enjoyed our stay here .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kolbenring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Kolbenring,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay!

It's lovely to hear you enjoyed the stay - we find kids of all ages do enjoy the bunk beds in the larger rooms, especially with the TVs built in!

I hope we will see you again next time you are in Edinburgh :-)

Thank you again for your comments,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing