We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stay Central Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Inn Place(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Inn on the Mile(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,683)
Filter reviews
1,683 results
Traveller rating
939
513
128
66
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
939
513
128
66
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree sistersxl roomroyal miletunnocks tea cakesipod dockrainfall showerquiet roomlittle touchesbreakfast is servedgreat showeramazing hotelbottled waterwould definitely stay here againbathroom doorgrass marketgreat roomfringe festival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,271 - 1,276 of 1,683 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked for 3 nights. The first two nights we were booked in room 310 at the 3rd floor. The air condition system had constant problem. The room felt too warm and only blowing warm air from the fan, we tried opening the only two small windows, which to our surprise where purposely locked and completely sealed, so there was no way for opening them. Giving a claustrophobic feeling, since the ceilings of the room are so low (2.10 mts) the room gets really warm, combining NO air condition and NO fresh air was horrible. (probably the temperature was over +25 centigrade, warmer than outside).
We talked with the staff and their temporary solution was to bring a huge fan from the bar, which occupied all the space in the small room and made a lot of noise. So of course we had to ask if they could change us to another room, which was not a possible thing since they were completely booked. So they had to reset their entire system and it got a little better (+23 centigrade).
Then last night they changed us to another room, made us pack move room to the first floor, room 109… Yes the room was cold only for some hours and in the middle of the night again, completely broken the Air Conditioning. On top of this the shower drain was clogged so the water did not drain when you showered.
Very disappointed, since I did read the reviews before booking and looked at the nice pictures of the hotel, but there is no breakfast area, it is inside a building that holds a huge bar and parties ant the central patio, called Three Sisters… So please find another place for same price, with a prepared staff that can handle in a proper way a simple problem of controlling the air conditioning without answering “they have never had a complain about that issue!!!!”… even they reseat 3 times the air and brought two different type of fans all of this in 3 nights… Please!!!!
DO NOT STAY HERE….
The staff is not qualified to solve a simple situation.

Room Tip: Do not book here, you will find many better deals and location for the price. Zero natural ventilation, bad air conditioning system.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnjaFauske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi AnjaFauske,

I am saddened to see that you have chosen to leave such a negative review about your visit in Edinburgh.

Unfortunately on the first night of your stay it did appear that there was an issue with one of our Air-Conditioning units. We immediately reset the unit and gave you a fan to ensure that your room was cool for the rest of the night while the system restarted and offered you a discount on your room which you accepted.

The next morning you choose to still move rooms and were given a new room that was serviced from a new unit that unfortunately you then felt failed early in the morning. None of the other hotel guests have complained and we have since had our Air-Con engineer out to check all of our units and he has never found a fault.

Again I would like to apologise for this inconvenience,

Karen & The STAY Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stay Central came highly recommended by some friends and it easily passed all expectations. Clean accommodation, helpful, friendly staff, comfortable and safe rooms, lots of added extras. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it in a heartbeat to anyone travelling to Edinburgh, great location too!!! Book it now, you won't regret it!! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ann-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi Ann-Marie,

Thank you for your great review; we are flattered!

It's lovely to hear you came to us on recommendation and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us :-) It's great to hear that you found us to be helpful & friendly, and that the rooms were clean and comfortable - I too love all the wee touches dotted about.

Please keep in touch to ensure you receive an excellent returner rate on your next stay :-)

I hope we will see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had 2 XXL rooms. One with 6 single beds and 1 with 4 singles and a bunk bed.

Everything was great! Rooms were ideal for us- very nicely decorated, awesome facilities and the tea cakes/ tea n coffee making things were great. Staff were all very helpful. Everywhere was clean and tidy.

Only issue was our breakfast which we pre ordered for 10am. We ordered 11 breakfasts. 1 came at half 10 and the rest came at 11am. Half of the cooked breakfasts had an item missing e.g no potato bread or mushrooms. However the staff at stay kindly took this off our bill and we didn't have to pay for it.

Overall a brilliant spot for a party weekend away- would not be a place for a romantic or quiet weekend!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JoyD1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi Joy,

Thank you so much for your excellent review - it sounds like you all had a lovely hen party here in Edinburgh!

It's great to hear such positive feedback from our guests about so many aspects of their stay; and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff.

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast next door at The Three Sisters - I am disappointed to hear of the service you received, and I have passed on all your comments to the management team next door who are hosting a new training session for all their staff on breakfast service later this week.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we can welcome you back again soon :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Nice and lovely stuff, modern design, situated in the center of Edinburgh, really lovely atmosfere. Good equipment of the room. Stuff ready to help at any time and to solve of kind of probems. Totally advice this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi Denis K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of your recent stay with us in Edinburgh. It gives me great pleasure to read that you would recommend us to future guests.

I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and found the room well equipped for all of your needs.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed with our 3 children. We had 4 singles and a set of bunk beds. One room- great for family bonding. Close to Everything we wanted to do. Great bar out front (our kids are teens) with huge TV showing the World cup. Our room was quiet-- but I wonder about rooms closer to the bar. Only complaint-- the bathroom door is not a full door- it is made of frosted glass and is only a partial door (does not go all the way to the top.) In a room with 5 people a bit more privacy for the toilet would have been nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Liz D,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a terrific review about your recent stay with us at STAY Central Hotel! I am so pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your family in one of our multi bedded rooms so you could all be together.

Rooms closer to the bar as noted can be affected by noise however quiet rooms can be allocated upon request.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews