We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little place!”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hotel wonderfully located between the Royal Mile and the National Museum of Scotland. The rooms are very nice and clean. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The pub below has very good food, with a reasonably priced continental breakfast. I really want to come back some time!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank hiccup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi hiccup1,

We are delighted to read such a lovely review about your visit to Edinburgh; thank you for taking the time to share it with all our future guests.

I will ensure all the staff see you kind comments about them being friendly and helpful, I am sure that it will make their day :-).

We look forward to seeing you again soon; don’t forget about our great returners discount!

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

My friend and I are studying abroad in London and came to Edinburgh for the weekend. We booked last minute and wanted something pretty cheap but not a hostel. The hotel was very cute and in a great location. Central to everywhere you would want to go! The room was nice and the shower was great. It was during the world cup and the bar connected to the hotel (Three Sisters) was packed with people. Luckily we couldn't even hear them. The staff was very nice as well!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Carley H,

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to know that you rate your experience with us so highly.

It sounds like you really made the most of our excellent location right in the heart of the city with so many famous attractions within walking distance!

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future, I promise there will be lots more to see!

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were lucky and got a room for 2 nights booked very last minute. It was World Cup Game Nights and we even had a view on the big Screen in the crowded Courtyard from our room. The noise did not bother us, we slept well as we were tired after much touring and sightseeing. Bed and sheets are very comfortable, the bathroom is quite spacious and the Rainshower just great. Safe in room. Elevator to floors. Built-in iPod-Dock with good sound system. Great, central location short walk to Royal Mile. Housekeeping should be more dedicated. Great stay, recommend it!

Room Tip: no window-to-courtyard room if you have a light sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank streetrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi streetrebel,

WOW - Thank you for taking the time to leave a top notch review. It is fantastic to hear that you would recommend us to others!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed all of our great design features such as built in iPod docks, comfy beds and Rainfall showers; I have to agree, they are amazing!!

Come back and visit again soon! Don’t forget to get in contact for our great returners rate,

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

First off, really nice and warm staff. Always a great first impression will leave a guest with an overall positive feel.
The design of the hotel and rooms was very rustic and very warm.
The location was great and the price was not so bad. Everyone was very helpful in giving me advice on getting to the airport the next day. I will love to stay here again on my next visit Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi James W,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. It has made our day to hear such terrific feedback of your visit to Edinburgh.

I will ensure that all the staff see your kind comments. They will really appreciate that you took the time to mention how welcomed you felt and that you found them to be so helpful.

Ensure you stay in contact and book direct next time you are in town, we will ensure you receive our fantastic returner rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights as we were attending a festival in Edinburgh. We booked last minute and we were really lucky to get such a good room!

We got a room at the back away from the busy pub courtyard, if you don't know this already this hotel is part of the Three Sisters bar, a very popular haunt for stag and hen parties and renowned for being a cracking raucous night out!! :)

Our room as I said was at the back, so it was perfect really and not noisy at all, the room was really nice and had a brilliant sound system with built in iPod Dock! Clean and comfortable, although the bathroom ceiling needs looked at..!

There was a hen party in the hotel on Sat night, they were pretty loud but we managed to block it out.

Breakfast was ok..

All in all it was a good stay! We'd come again! :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KatieKateWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi KatieKateWilson,

Thank you so much for leaving a fantastic review of your recent visit to our STAY Central Hotel, it is terrific to hear such amazing feedback of your time with us! I personally remember you and your partner; you were attending the magic festival just up the road!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the built in iPod docks and found the room to be quiet, clean and comfortable.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests, I do hope that you come back and visit soon; don’t forget about our great returners rate when you book direct!

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stay Central is a gem in the centre of Edinburgh! It is one street from by the Royal Mile and everything is walking distance from the hotel. The hotel reception is manned 24 hours and the staff are very happy and willing to assist with your needs and direction requests.

The rooms are as advertised (we booked through Expedia and got the actual room we saw online). The room is spacious, clean and has a new, fresh feel about it - because the hotel is so central it is an easing stopping point during the day for a quick refresh, drop things back etc. we would recommend Stay Central to all travellers and have been thoroughly impressed during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NVN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi NVN001,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our STAY Central Hotel, we are so flattered that you have named us as a ‘gem in the centre of Edinburgh’.

We are so pleased that you found our rooms to be stylish and you appreciate our location right in the heart of the city centre.

It is such a compliment to know that you would recommend us to all travellers and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Such a great hotel, loved the easy going vibe of the staff, the room was well appointed and comfortable. Location was awesome for nightlife and walkability around Edinburgh.

Only point of feedback was that we requested a 5:45am wake up call which we never received...good thing we set our alarm!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Priscilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi Priscilla R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us, it is fantastic to hear that you rate us so highly.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the vibe within the hotel and found the rooms to be well equipped and comfortable.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your wake up call was missed by the night porters. I appreciate you bringing this matter to my attention and have launched an investigation to ensure that this does not happen again.

I do hope that you are able to come back to Edinburgh and see us again soon.

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,716 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#51 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,730 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £53 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing