We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Original, comfortable and very well located”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Original, comfortable and very well located”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel has been renewed recently with a 100% original style. Each room has its own personality. It's very modern and fun.
The plus is the plug and speakers for iPhones in every room.
Congratulations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Nicolas,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of your stay with us!

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our recently refurbished hotel – we like to think the rooms have their own personality too :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    442
    107
    56
    28
See reviews for
276
548
83
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Stay Central Hotel with my partner for a weekend away. We were very pleased with the location of the hotel, bang in the middle of Edinburgh, close to all local shops and amenities and some pretty spectacular pubs and clubs. We liked the fact there was a lovely (and lively...) little bar on the courtyard. The staff at the hotel were so friendly, helpful and professional too. There was a nice girl at reception think her name was Ali. She was so pleasant and attentive asking myself and my partner if there was anything we needed and wishing a nice time. The rooms were bright and refreshing and the beds so comfy. We had traveled from London and were tired the night we arrived so a comfy bed was just what the Dr ordered! The finishing touches and decor were nice and modern and we liked that there were docking stations in the rooms. We had a lovely stay and will be sure to stay again should we ever venture back up to Edinburgh. Keep up the great work guys!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi nb1989,

Thank you for the fantastic review!

It is so lovely to hear such positive feedback about your stay with us, and that you had a great visit with your partner :-)

Ally will be so pleased to hear you have taken the time to mention her by name – we are proud of all our staff and their passion for great customer service.

Don’t stay away too long!

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First time visit to Edinburgh with three friends and this hotel was without doubt one of the best hotels I have stayed in. We were greeted by friendly staff, Maria checked us in and went above and beyond for us all, especially the birthday girl with chocolates and a card and ice cream for all the guests because of the hot weather. The room was spacious, clean, had everything we needed including a/c, modern with a large TV and speakers in the ceiling with two aux outputs one for the bedroom and one in the bathroom. The hotel is joined onto the Three sisters pub and Matty and Daniel the manager literally couldn't have done anymore for us. Breakfast for £5 was amazing. The nightlife at the pub is great and the room is still quiet if you want a quiet night in, but if like us you want to experience the nightlife this hotel is central to many great places. Literally had the best weekend here and we will definitely be back. This is THE place to stay. Couldn't thank the staff enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Hannah,

Wow – thanks for the top mark review – we are flattered!

It’s great to hear such positive feedback about your birthday trip; I am so pleased you all had such a fantastic weekend and that Maria, Matty and Daniel all played a part in it :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I travelled to Edinburgh from Staffordshire with three of my friends for my 20th birthday. I couldn't have stayed in a better place. Everything was perfect. Fantastic service from the hotel, very friendly, helpful and prompt. When I arrived there was Prosecco, chocolates and a birthday card awaiting my arrival. It made my day. Everything about our room, from twin sinks to speakers in the ceiling enabled us to have a fun filled weekend even when we were getting ready!! The Three Sisters Pub next door was a huge bonus, for people of my age especially, it was booming on Friday night and everyone was SO friendly. Breakfast for a fiver each in the morning and they didn't skimp out on anything. Our waiter Matty and the manager Daniel were consistent both mornings and were very helpful. Even if we did eat all of Matty's Nutella ;) sorry Matty. They not only served us, but made the time to become friends with us and we had such a laugh with them. I genuinely have nothing bad to say about this place. Get yourselves there because it has hands down been the best hotel experience I have ever had!!!! :D

Laura Richardson, birthday girl :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura-Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hi Laura-Richardson,

Thank you so much for such amazing review on your recent birthday visit to the STAY Central. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we are so glad to have played a small part in your celebrations!

I will ensure that all the staff see your kind comments, I know that Matty and Daniel are both so flattered that you took the time to name them personally.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon; Matty will stock up on Nutella! Don’t forget about our great returners discounts!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hotel wonderfully located between the Royal Mile and the National Museum of Scotland. The rooms are very nice and clean. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The pub below has very good food, with a reasonably priced continental breakfast. I really want to come back some time!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hiccup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi hiccup1,

We are delighted to read such a lovely review about your visit to Edinburgh; thank you for taking the time to share it with all our future guests.

I will ensure all the staff see you kind comments about them being friendly and helpful, I am sure that it will make their day :-).

We look forward to seeing you again soon; don’t forget about our great returners discount!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My friend and I are studying abroad in London and came to Edinburgh for the weekend. We booked last minute and wanted something pretty cheap but not a hostel. The hotel was very cute and in a great location. Central to everywhere you would want to go! The room was nice and the shower was great. It was during the world cup and the bar connected to the hotel (Three Sisters) was packed with people. Luckily we couldn't even hear them. The staff was very nice as well!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Carley H,

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to know that you rate your experience with us so highly.

It sounds like you really made the most of our excellent location right in the heart of the city with so many famous attractions within walking distance!

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future, I promise there will be lots more to see!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were lucky and got a room for 2 nights booked very last minute. It was World Cup Game Nights and we even had a view on the big Screen in the crowded Courtyard from our room. The noise did not bother us, we slept well as we were tired after much touring and sightseeing. Bed and sheets are very comfortable, the bathroom is quite spacious and the Rainshower just great. Safe in room. Elevator to floors. Built-in iPod-Dock with good sound system. Great, central location short walk to Royal Mile. Housekeeping should be more dedicated. Great stay, recommend it!

Room Tip: no window-to-courtyard room if you have a light sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank streetrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi streetrebel,

WOW - Thank you for taking the time to leave a top notch review. It is fantastic to hear that you would recommend us to others!

I am so pleased that you enjoyed all of our great design features such as built in iPod docks, comfy beds and Rainfall showers; I have to agree, they are amazing!!

Come back and visit again soon! Don’t forget to get in contact for our great returners rate,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing