We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great boutique hotel in a great location. We had 3 rooms for a total of 8 guests. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms were clean and new. We were able to charge our iphone (4's) in the dock and there was a blow dryer. The staff was great and the front desk clerk (girl from Spain - I forgot her name) was extremely helpul and courteous. We would definately stay there again. If you are traveling with friends - book the xl or xxl rooms and bunk together

Room Tip: The hotel is inside the courtyard for the Three Sisters Pub so some of the rooms can be very loud fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank janicem61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi janicem61,

Thank you kindly for reviewing our STAY Central Hotel we really appreciate you leaving such fantastic comments and for all of our future guests to see!

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed all of our great design features such as built in iPod docks and the room extras such as hairdryers – we also have GHD straighters in reception so next time you can leave them at home too!

Maria will be so flattered that you took the time to mention how helpful and courteous you found her, I will ensure that she sees your kind comments.

Keep in touch and don’t forget about out great returners rate net time you book!

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

All in an excellent stay. 6 of us booked the dorm which was clean and tidy. Fridge was fully stocked and the courtyard had a great atmosphere. Only negative was that the menu states food is available 24/7 but after a night out we were told this was incorrect. If the menu was changed to reflect actual serving times it would have been all 5s

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sboyd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi sboyd19,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our STAY Central Hotel.

I have to agree that the Dorm Room really does make for an excellent stay! Fully stocked bar, dart board, PS3 and ping pong table what more could you need for a weekend of fun!

Please accept my apologies that a full menu was not available 24/7, this is something that we are working on so should be up and running the next time you come to town.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future with our great returners rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a great little hotel! We really enjoyed our stay here in July. Highly recommend. Hotel is newly remodeled and the rooms are wonderful. Staff helpful and friendly. First time for us to Edinburgh and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the outdoor patio if you'd like a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trigger623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Trigger,

Wow, thank you for the fantastic review!

It's great to hear such positive feedback from our guests - I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us :-)

Please keep in touch to ensure you receive the best returner rate on your next visit.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel has been renewed recently with a 100% original style. Each room has its own personality. It's very modern and fun.
The plus is the plug and speakers for iPhones in every room.
Congratulations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Nicolas,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of your stay with us!

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our recently refurbished hotel – we like to think the rooms have their own personality too :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Stay Central Hotel with my partner for a weekend away. We were very pleased with the location of the hotel, bang in the middle of Edinburgh, close to all local shops and amenities and some pretty spectacular pubs and clubs. We liked the fact there was a lovely (and lively...) little bar on the courtyard. The staff at the hotel were so friendly, helpful and professional too. There was a nice girl at reception think her name was Ali. She was so pleasant and attentive asking myself and my partner if there was anything we needed and wishing a nice time. The rooms were bright and refreshing and the beds so comfy. We had traveled from London and were tired the night we arrived so a comfy bed was just what the Dr ordered! The finishing touches and decor were nice and modern and we liked that there were docking stations in the rooms. We had a lovely stay and will be sure to stay again should we ever venture back up to Edinburgh. Keep up the great work guys!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi nb1989,

Thank you for the fantastic review!

It is so lovely to hear such positive feedback about your stay with us, and that you had a great visit with your partner :-)

Ally will be so pleased to hear you have taken the time to mention her by name – we are proud of all our staff and their passion for great customer service.

Don’t stay away too long!

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First time visit to Edinburgh with three friends and this hotel was without doubt one of the best hotels I have stayed in. We were greeted by friendly staff, Maria checked us in and went above and beyond for us all, especially the birthday girl with chocolates and a card and ice cream for all the guests because of the hot weather. The room was spacious, clean, had everything we needed including a/c, modern with a large TV and speakers in the ceiling with two aux outputs one for the bedroom and one in the bathroom. The hotel is joined onto the Three sisters pub and Matty and Daniel the manager literally couldn't have done anymore for us. Breakfast for £5 was amazing. The nightlife at the pub is great and the room is still quiet if you want a quiet night in, but if like us you want to experience the nightlife this hotel is central to many great places. Literally had the best weekend here and we will definitely be back. This is THE place to stay. Couldn't thank the staff enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Hannah,

Wow – thanks for the top mark review – we are flattered!

It’s great to hear such positive feedback about your birthday trip; I am so pleased you all had such a fantastic weekend and that Maria, Matty and Daniel all played a part in it :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I travelled to Edinburgh from Staffordshire with three of my friends for my 20th birthday. I couldn't have stayed in a better place. Everything was perfect. Fantastic service from the hotel, very friendly, helpful and prompt. When I arrived there was Prosecco, chocolates and a birthday card awaiting my arrival. It made my day. Everything about our room, from twin sinks to speakers in the ceiling enabled us to have a fun filled weekend even when we were getting ready!! The Three Sisters Pub next door was a huge bonus, for people of my age especially, it was booming on Friday night and everyone was SO friendly. Breakfast for a fiver each in the morning and they didn't skimp out on anything. Our waiter Matty and the manager Daniel were consistent both mornings and were very helpful. Even if we did eat all of Matty's Nutella ;) sorry Matty. They not only served us, but made the time to become friends with us and we had such a laugh with them. I genuinely have nothing bad to say about this place. Get yourselves there because it has hands down been the best hotel experience I have ever had!!!! :D

Laura Richardson, birthday girl :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura-Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hi Laura-Richardson,

Thank you so much for such amazing review on your recent birthday visit to the STAY Central. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we are so glad to have played a small part in your celebrations!

I will ensure that all the staff see your kind comments, I know that Matty and Daniel are both so flattered that you took the time to name them personally.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon; Matty will stock up on Nutella! Don’t forget about our great returners discounts!

Karen & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#51 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,315 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,758 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £56 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing