We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I hope this doesn't come across as gushing, but I loved this hotel! A spur of the moment trip to Edinburgh, during an extended trip to Scotland for the Commonwealth Games, saw my boyfriend and I stumble on this hotel - what a find! The hotel is a short walk from all of the main attractions of Edinburgh. It has been refurbished in the last year and is modern, stylish and well maintained. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the shower was amazing and the rooms were huge (we booked a 'm' medium room). The staff were friendly and helpful and it was the added extras and small personal touches that made this hotel so special. The chocolate tea cake on arrival, the offer of an icecream, as it was so hot outside, the i-pod docking station built into the wall of the bedroom that pumped music into the bathroom, the stylish icons on the wall by the entrance to the room, the fun way of locating tourist attractions on the map - I could go on, but I won't. Do stay in Stay, you wont regret it!

Room Tip: A medium room is more than large enough for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londongirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi londongirl05,

Wow – thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to STAY. We are so flattered that you have ranked us so highly!

I am so pleased to hear you found the beds super comfortable and enjoyed all of our added extra touches such as Tunncoks TeaCakes and complimentary Ice Lolly on arrival; I have to agree this is just some of the things that make the STAY so unique and special.

We do hope to see you again soon; don’t forget about out great returners rates,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    448
    111
    56
    28
See reviews for
281
559
84
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located within walking distance to the Castle, Royal mile, Grassmarket and other attractions. However, there is no parking facilities nearby, the nearest car-park is about 900 metres away. Not so convenient if you are driving and have young children. The hotel is within the vicinity of a pub. We were allocated a corner room and the wifi connection is very weak. There is no electronic games in our room. The XL room is a good size for a family of four and having the game in these rooms can be a plus. The hotel is good if you want a different experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cheroiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi cheryl l,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit to STAY Central.
Please accept my apologies for the miscommunication with the parking. The car park we recommend and offer a discount on; around £10 for 24 hours (the cheapest in city centre), is around a 5 minute walk from the hotel. There is however staff on 24hours that are more than willing to collect your bags from the car if you pull up at the front gate before you park it.

With regards to the PS3 & x-boxes, these are in reception and can be hired out free of charge upon request.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future with our great returners discount,

Karen & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Cute room with lots of thoughtful extras, friendly efficient staff, great shower and quality coffee at reception. Good nights sleep without any noise. Only a short stroll from Grassmarket and Royal Mile. Check it out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Michael O,

Thank you for leaving such wonderful review of your recent visit to the STAY Central; we really appreciate it!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed found the room to be cute and enjoyed all of our quirky touches! I will also ensure all the staff see your kind praise, I am sure that it will make their day!

I do hope that you are able to come back to Edinburgh and see us again soon. Don’t forget about our great returners deals!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here overnight after a 5 day tour of Scotland. The facilities were lovely and the room equipped with much more than I needed. Beautifully designed rooms and lots of space. Great location and friendly staff, excellent atmosphere and great eating locations nearby. There was nothing to fault with my experience at the hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Great spot for families, couples and singles alike.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Kylie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

It’s great to hear such positive feedback about our recently refurbished hotel – we think the design is something special :-)

Please keep in touch to ensure you receive the best returner rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The rooms are basically within a pub/beer garden environment. It's really good if you want to party and have a good time. But it's not recommended if you want to have a good night's sleep. The noise from upstairs, where there is another bar area was unbearable and didn't stop until 3 am. Another big problem for me was that you couldn't open the windows as they were sealed. If you are claustrophic or want to breathe fresh air it's difficult.

On the other hand the rooms are very stylish and decorated with much care and detail. Everything was very new and super clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Overall it's nice, but be prepared to join the party crowd.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tiffy24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Tiffy24-7,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh; we really do appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the rooms and our fantastic staff :-)

I am sorry to hear you found your room noisy; due to our city centre location some of our rooms can be adversely affected by noise on the weekends. We do have quiet rooms that can be requested at the time of booking - we do our best to fulfill all guest requests.

I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Stay Central hotel was brilliant. We arrived very late in Edinburgh after 11 p.m. When we got in the hotel we realised that our reservation had previously been cancelled (some problem with booking.com). The receptionist made us feel still very welcome and very quickly prepared for us a room.

The room was great, with a very modern and thoughtful design, and most importantly very comfortable. The bathroom's very nicely done and the iPhone dock sound system was a great touch. In addition the room was replenished daily with water, a wide range of tea, and Tunnock's Teacakes! The hotel's location is simply first rate, with Edinburgh Castle, Calton Hill, Prince's Street, and Holyrood all within comfortable walking distance.

Breakfast was very good - we went for the most satisfactory Continental breakfast at about £4 per head.

In short, whether you're in Edinburgh for nightlife, hiking or sightseeing, this hotel will be a wonderful complement to your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatyana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Tatyana,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share you review with our future guests – we really appreciate it :-)

I am so pleased to hear that even with the issues you experienced through Booking.com we were still able to accommodate your booking, you were happy with the service you received and were made to feel very welcome by Ibon.

I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in the city!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few days while on our honeymoon. It was perfect for our needs... clean, comfortable, and very close to all of Edinburgh's amenities and tourist attractions. We could easily walk to the Royal Mile, Grassmarket, and Edinburgh Castle, as well as a series of great restaurants, cafes, and whiskey shops. All of these places were within 5-10 minutes walk! It was also about 10-15 minutes walk from Princes Street, George Street, and the train station. Fabulous location!

My one qualm was with the noise. There is a restaurant right next door with an outdoor, and at night, it can get a bit loud. It wasn't nearly as loud as I expected though! I was able to sleep through it fairly easily, and I am a very light sleeper.

The hotel seems to work well for a variety of travelers. We saw some couples, young families, and college-age singles. Everyone seemed quite happy and content! It was also very affordable. It was probably one of the deals we had hotel-wise while traveling Europe. It was a nice room for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahkelteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hi ahkelteke,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such an amazing review with all of our future guests! It sounds like you had a really fantastic honeymoon!

As you have noted due to our prime city center location next to the busy Three Sisters there can be a little extra noise however we do have quiet rooms available upon request. It is great to know that we were able to allocate you one of these and you received a great sleep!

It was a pleasure having you with us on such a special occasion. Keep in contact for great returners rates; it would be great to see you again on your anniversary!

Best of luck for the future,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,094 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing