We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service, very nice and modern atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #45 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent service, very nice and modern atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stay Central is located in the heart of Edinburgh. It's a modern and young hotel. The service is great, rooms are very tidy and well sizeed, shower is great. There is no quiet outside area, where you can smoke or take a breath, because it's coupled with a big party area of the pub three sisters. (party till 3 a.m.) For young people who wants to discover Edinburgh it is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi Romy789,

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review on your recent visit to the STAY Central; I am glad you enjoyed the great atmosphere of the hotel.

I am so pleased to hear that you found the staff to be fantastic and the rooms to be well sized and modern; I also have to agree with you that the showers are amazing, they really are a treat!

We look forward to seeing you again soon, don’t forget about our returners deals!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    435
    106
    54
    26
See reviews for
274
539
81
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here instead of the Radisson because the choice of room sizes was ideal for my husband , myself and our 2 adult daughters. Initially I was worried because of the close proximity to The Three Sisters pub but although it was certainly 'buzzing outside' inside the rooms were spacious, clean and quiet! The first morning we had an excellent breakfast, each of us chose different meals all were hot and served together, the second morning we had a completely different experience with an abysmal meal, each item served cold and at different times,( definitely not the same chef cooking!) However on bringing the problem to the managers attention the cost of the whole meal was refunded without query and with many apologies from not only the manager but all members of staff we spoke to. All in all a great hotel in a great location with really friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank millertower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi millertower,

Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review of your recent visit to the STAY Central; it was a pleasure having your family staying with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you found our rooms quiet and suited your family perfectly. I will also ensure that your kind comments about the staff are passed along; I am sure that it will make their day!

Over the festival we have been working closely with the Three Sisters management team with regards to breakfast and I am sure by the time you next stay with us you will see a vast improvement!

We look forward to welcoming you back next year; ensure you apply you returners code!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I picked Stay Central due to its location and after seeing other favourable reviews.

When booking I didn't realise that it was conjoined with the Three Sisters pub (which becomes the Free Sisters Fringe venue). After asking for a quiet room away from the noisy courtyard the pub was mostly a positive thing. The full Scottish breakfast was great (both in the bar, and when brought up to the room), and we checked out a number of the shows on offer. The only real snag was negotiating the courtyard at busy times to get to reception.

The room was trendy and comfortable. The staff were friendly. The location was perfect (almost - it's an uphill slog to pretty much everywhere). The WiFi worked (well). There was even a nice card and box of chocolates as we were there for my wife's birthday.

So why 'very good' rather than 'excellent'? Just a few silly little things:

* I was able to dial reception for room service (on my Three mobile), but there isn't an option on the automated voice system aimed at people already staying at the hotel.
* The room would really benefit from some coat hooks (and hotel umbrellas would also be nice touch given typical Edinburgh weather).
* The fit and finish doesn't look like it will last (one of the towel hooks was already dangling, and water found its way into the bathroom after a heavy storm).
* TV signal could be iffy, causing programmes to drop out.
* There was a temperature control, but it didn't seem to do anything (and it did get a little cold some evenings).
* Dirty plates from room service weren't removed (the room was cleaned twice and they were just left).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheStateOfMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi TheStateOfMe,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to the STAY Central; it is fantastic to know that you choose to stay with us on such a special occasion and I am pleased that you enjoyed our small gift.

I have to agree that the Edinburgh Festival really is one of the best times to visit the Capital, it really does have a fantastic atmosphere and our location is superb right in the heart of it all!

I also would like to thank you for your feedback on the housekeepers and maintenance; we have a team meeting every week and I will ensure that your comments are brought up and actions implemented.

We do hope to see you again soon at STAY with our great returners rates,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is refreshing in that it's unique, has a nice decor, quirky touches such as design elements, slogans on walls and coffee at the reception desk. Our room was very well sized as well, especially for a hotel room in the centre of town. The staff are also very willing to help. Having said that there are various issues that detract from what could otherwise be a fantastic experience:
*Bathroom towels are very small.
*There is no phone in the room to call reception and we couldn't get cell phone signal on O2 nor Vodafone. We had to walk to reception when we needed something.
*The in room information leaflet states that there is 24hr room service. When we ordered room service at 20:30 our order was accepted but a few minutes later a knock on our door informed us that the kitchen was only open till 20:00. A bit strange.
*Wifi signal to the room was not strong enough to give a reliable connection on our iPhones. iPads and laptop worked ok.
*There is provision to hookup your iPod or iPhone for music wired to speakers in the room, but only the old connectors are supported.
*Whilst the entrance to the room provides a nice area to leave bags it would benefit greatly by having hooks on the walls to hang coats or rucksacks.

Lastly visitors should expect the hotel to be noisy during the festival period by virtue of having the 3 sisters bar collocated with it, as well as serving as a festival fringe venue. I think this comes with the benefit of being located so centrally, but for a family with kids it may not be the ideal venue.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Andreas C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback on your recent visit to the STAY Central; it is fantastic to for us to hear what we are doing right and also some of the things that we may need to tweak slightly to earn that extra star!

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the great atmosphere that the Edinburgh festival brings to the capital, quirky design of the hotel and have complimented the staff on how willing they are to help at all times.

Please accept my apologies that the wifi signal in your room was not very strong, this was not a problem that we had been made aware of and the IT department have now been made aware to do extra tests.

With regards to the speakers in the room they are connected with the old software however we do have cables that will work as a connector to newer models/ different brands.

We do hope to be seeing you again in the future on our great returners rate,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Despite the funky rooms and friendly staff the location in the same building as the Three Sisters pub/nightclub turns this into a student/stag environment. Don't bother with breakfast unless you like a greasy fry up in a beer sodden bar. Overall not worth the inflated price.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi swean,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent visit to the STAY Central Hotel.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our quirky room designs and found the staff to all be friendly and helpful; I will ensure that they all see your kind comments, I know they will really appreciate the compliment.

As you have noted we are located next to the lively Three Sisters bar and we are working hard to improve the breakfast that they serve to our guests so hopefully you will see a marked improvement next time you visit.

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just spent weekend enjoying the Fringe. Decided to try "Stay" instead of Radisson this time.
Friendly helpful staff - at all times of the day and night. Never saw any scowls just cheerful smiling faces. As we were 3 couples we opted for a large comfortable room with 3 double beds, with excellent shower room. We all liked the Tunnocks tea cake left with the with morning tea/coffee!
Excellent location , great fun having the Fringe on site, will try and and book it again next time.

Room Tip: Tell them you party size, trust them to advise the best room. We had a room on the 4th floor which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Duncan G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on your recent visit to the STAY Central. The festival really is the best time to visit this beautiful city so I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time and even managed to catch a few shows in the Free Sisters.

I will ensure that all the team see you kind comments about the service you received; I am sure they will appreciate you mentioning how happy how cheerful you found them all.

We look forward to seeing you again next year; remember to book early and ensure you take full advantage of our great returners rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the Ed Fringe and while the location is good (although it's in one of the 'dips' so you need good knees to cope with the steep roads & stairs), rooms comfortable (great walk in shower & comfy bed), friendly & helpful staff, it's let down by breakfast which is served in the pub next door.
So if you like the smell of stale beer, blaring TV showing sport & poor quality food (overcoooked boiled eggs, anaemic 'toast', greasy fry up), you will love it. Best bet is not to take breakfast with room option & go to one of the numerous good coffee shops nearby. And do ask for a quiet room not facing the courtyard as music ends around 3am.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Marina S,

Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review on your recent visit to the STAY Central; the atmosphere in the city really is amazing during the Edinburgh Fringe so it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed it!

We are currently placing a lot of focus to breakfast with the new Three Sisters management team so we really appreciate your feedback to help us develop and can assure you that this will improve quickly.

It was a pleasure you have you as our guests, come back and visit us again soon…

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing