We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh backpackers place”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Posh backpackers place”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We are young late fourties!! Picked this hotel on our first trip to Edinburgh...the hotels staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful...we asked for a quiet room, got it...great trendy decor, very clean, extra warm touches in the room,tunnocks...mmmm, plenty of tea, coffee. Rain shower excellent, iPod Dock too,great place....BUT...the area where it is, is a tad dingy! Wouldn't like to be alone at night there..very close to the royal mile, but not in a nice place...I know it's right next to the pub...but noise wasn't a problem for us. We would stay here again. THANKYOU!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireQueenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi LancashireQueenbee,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on STAY Central. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first trip to Edinburgh so much and really hope you do stay again soon.

It is fantastic to read that we were able to accommodate you in a quiet room and that you appreciated our unique design features such as iPod docks that play in both the bedroom and bathroom; amazing for a good sing song in the wonderful RainFall showers!!

Remember to make use of our great returners rates next time you book!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    448
    111
    57
    28
See reviews for
281
560
84
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

-the dj's bedtime. Lack of planning on our part, but we booked on the day of our errr... stay, so guessing we got lumbered with the last room, on the First Floor. This being the last weekend of the Fringe, and the Hotel's courtyard being one of the venues, we should have prepared ourselves for not getting any sleep until 3am, to be woken not long after by the crash of bottle bins being emptied. Not entirely sure if the sound source was the activity outside (and therefore am irrelevance outwith the Fringe) or whether it stemmed from the bar, at which point it will be a permanent factor.
A real shame as the room itself was very good, the staff were very friendly and efficient. Reception area was quite quirky, but common areas wearing prematurely. The breakfast room (that bar again) in particular looks really tired, and perhaps not the cleanest in the world, but this is yet to enjoy the much needed refurb.
-Very much a marmite place; go in with the appropriate mindset and you'll have a ball, if not then you'll get a better night's sleep with the ghosties next door.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Michael T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our STAY Central Hotel; we really appreciate all feedback we receive to help us know what we are getting right and what is left to tweak.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the unique design of our rooms and found all the staff to be efficient and friendly.

As you have noted we are located next to the famous Three Sisters bar that lend parts of their venue to the Fringe Festival. We do however have quiet rooms located at the back of the building that do not hear anything from the Fringe shows.

Hopefully we will see you again soon; remember to add a request for a quiet room and use your returners rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel is a brilliant base within the city, close to many of the cities attractions. The staff were incredibly welcoming and were more than happy to look after our luggage whist we went to explore the city. Upon arrival back to the hotel to check in, we were impressed that the woman on reception was going to ring us to let us know the room was ready which was a very nice personal touch! The room we had booked was a 'M' however we were given an 'XXL' room which was a lovely surprise. The facilities were excellent, in particular the rainfall shower and the sound system, and the decor of the room was brilliant and finished to a high standard. Small touches such as the paper with a pencil and sharpener and the Tunnocks tea cakes were also appreciated! The only slight criticism was the air conditioning in the room was quite cool at times and we couldn't turn it up past 21 degrees, however, with the blankets provided this was not too much of a problem, and at times the WiFi signal was weak but again, this was not that much of a problem. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to explore the city!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi BeckyL,

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it's fantastic to hear such positive feedback about your time with us in Edinburgh and it is such a compliment to know that you would recommend us to others :-)!

I am so pleased that you appreciated the wee perks such as complimentary luggage storage and arranged an early arrival for you on check in giving you the freedom to go off and explore the city.

We look forward to seeing you again soon on our great returners rate,

Karen & The STAY Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Can't fault the hotel itself, the room was clean and had everything we needed for the two days we stayed, would describe as shabby chic, but the noise from the Three Sisters during the Festival was not something we expected. Music until 5am every day, not good when you have to get up at 6am to get to airport for flight home. The pub was very crowded, both inside and out. Outside was also dirty and spillage from drinks on the ground, although the rain helped to wash some of this away. However, we were out and about during the daytime. Be warned, the hill up to the Royal Mile is steep and it would be hard work if you were towing a suitcase.

Having said that, the girls in the bar made sure that we could have breakfast as soon as they opened on our last morning, and the girls in reception were helpful and arranged our taxi pick-up which arrived dead on time - so pats on the back for them.

Would we stay again? Yes, but not during the Fringe.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi Dennis G,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our STAY Central Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you found us to have everything you needed for your visit to Edinburgh,.

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed our unique design and found our staff to be fantastic throughout your stay, always on hand to help with any plans you were looking to make; I will ensure they all get a pat on the back!

As you have noted we are located next to the Three Sisters bar that also doubles up as a venue during the Fringe Festival; however we do have quiet rooms that are located away from the action so ensure you add a request next time you book.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Remember about your returners rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

So impressed by this hotel. It was clean and also trendy. The staff were very friendly. Water and biscuits were left in the room at night and free wifi. It was also in a great location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyhotelGuest1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi PickyhotelGuest1212,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review on your recent visit to the STAY Central; it is great to know we impressed and you would recommend us to others!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our trendy rooms and quirky touches such as Tunnocks Teacake bedtime treats and complimentary wifi.

We do hope you come visit again soon and make the most of our returner’s deals,

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Wonderful hotel, nice beds, nice people, good food (from the pub next door) little bit like a posh backpacker place. There's no iron in the room and unsure if they had it downstairs (no phones to call reception). Lucky to have a back bedroom so no noise from the Fringe.

Definitely will use again, although not on a business basis.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Kevin S,

What a great review – it’s fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our STAY Central Hotel :-). I am so pleased that we were able to accommodate you in one of our quiet rooms away from the Three Sisters courtyard that can be lively with lots of festival goers.

It is also great that you enjoyed our super comfy beds and found all the reception team to be helpful and friendly. We do have irons and ironing boards available upon request; ensure that you make a request on your next booking with us and we will ensure that there is one waiting in the room for you.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back to Edinburgh soon - don’t forget to make the most of our great returners rate!

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The positive is the location, it is smack bang in the City centre about 5 minutes from the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. The rooms on first impression looked nice but then turned out to be cold and to have a towel rail that doesn't work. The cleaners didn't bother to remove some glasses from the night before and didn't replace the toiletries. The big downside is that it is linked to the 3 Sisters pub, a haven for stag and hen nights and seems to be open late. The noise from the pub is too much then followed by the noise of cleaning up after 3am is way too much. The reception staff were great and the taxi company they work with are very prompt. In summary a promising start but a disappointing noisy experience.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301, too noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amwathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi amwathome,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us in Edinburgh; we really appreciate all your comments.

It sounds like you really made the most of our city centre location seeing all the famous attractions that are right on our doorstep; we know how lucky we are to be located right in the heart of such a historic city.

As you have noted, we are located next to The Three Sisters which can get busy on the weekends – however, we do have rooms that are not affected by noise and these can be requested at the time of booking :-).

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future, don’t forget to enquire about out returners deals.

Karen & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,096 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing