We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #47 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I've stayed in Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront last April. The location is somehow far fron Edinburgh center ,but the bus runs all day exactly out of the hotel and this really isn't an issue at all.The breakfast was great,included in the price and the staff was professional but friendly. Overall a great experience !!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stilvi6370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Dear stilvi6370,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

I’m glad that you found your stay to be a great experience and I’m glad that you found our staff to be professional but friendly. It is always nice to hear when someone enjoys their stay.

Regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel doesn't live up to my previous experiences with Holiday Inns (Express or otherwise). Staff was pleasant enough but our room was dirty, small, and smelly. The "water view" could only be seen by looking between two neighboring buildings (a set of apartments and the parking garage of the mall).

If you wanted power in your room (to turn on the lights, etc) you had to put your hotel key card in a slot by the front door. I found that rather annoying since I wanted to leave the heat on while we were out shopping and not have to re-heat the room when we got back.

The TV was only a 13-inch CRT-type in the corner of the room. There were no laundry facilities on site and the local laundrette closed at 5pm so we only had time to wash our clothes, go back to our dirty hotel room, and attempt to hang up all the wet items. We had some minor success with the hair dryer but it kept shutting off from overheating (not surprising, considering what we were using it for).

We wound up cancelling the rest of our 2-night stay (it was too late and we were too tired to bother moving hotels), ate breakfast the next morning (which was also underwhelming as you had to clean your own table and there wasn't much selection or variety of food), and left.

I wish we would have stayed somewhere else. Now we know better - the next time we're in Edinburgh: Avoid The Waterfront!!

Room Tip: Water-view rooms not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank OSUJillyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear OSUJillyBean,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront.

I am glad to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant but I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. I am sorry that you did not like your room and I hope that if you choose to visit us in future you will contact our staff who will do their best to relocate you to a room of your satisfaction.

The hotel is located in Leith the very popular Waterfront area of Edinburgh .If our guests make a special request for ‘Waterfront views’ we do our very best to accommodate these requests and allocate rooms with the best views that we have. We do not charge any extra for this and do not advertise ‘Waterview’ rooms.

The power in the rooms is connected with your keycard and this is a common feature in European hotels as it is a popular energy saving device. The air-conditioning systems in the rooms are programmed to maintain a comfortable temperature at all times but should guests wish to have the heating on whilst they are out the room the reception team are happy to provide an extra card to leave in the slot.

As a limited-service hotel we are focused on providing all the essentials for a great stay without unnecessary, expensive extras and whilst we do not have laundry facilities onsite we do offer an outsourced laundry and dry-cleaning service. As an alternative we will direct guests towards the nearest launderette. I am sorry that the local launderette closed before you were able to finish your washing.

I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast but disappointed to hear that you were left under whelmed. I am pleased to say that since your stay with us in June we have improved our breakfast offering and increased the variety of items on offer.

Thank you once again for your invaluable feedback and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Regards,

Fiona Scott
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Room was clean but carpet very dirty. Staff were very helpful, easy to catch the bus in and out of town. Easy walk to restaurants for dinner. A good place to sleep but that's about it,

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear KrisandAndy,

Many thanks for posting your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I'm glad that you found our staff to be very helpful and the cleanliness of the room to be good. I am sorry that you found the carpet in your room to be dirty and we will ensure that our housekeeping team pay more attention to this area in the future.

As you mentioned the hotel is ideally located close to local bus services to the city centre and within easy walking distance of the many and varied restaurants that the local area of Leith has to offer.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I stay here quite often, as the location is good for me. The rooms are fairly standard, but they have everything that you need. Self service buffet breakfast is quick and easy and included in the price, which is a bonus. Good parking and bus stop right outside hotel. Opposite Ocean Terminal, so good shopping available. Loads of really good restaurants within easy walk.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have stayed in two other Holiday Inn Express and found them a joy, so looked forward to staying in this one, I was very dissapointed as to the level of cleanliness, the lift had a very sticky mess on the floor which was still there until we left on Sunday morning, our room, I realise it is an exceptionally busy hotel but so was Inverness and Aberdeen,the linen not nice duvet cover was (grey) and should have been white and it was torn down the seam to show a grubby duvet. Looks as though hotel could be doing with an upgrade. Staff were excellent as was our breakfast, but for what we paid not good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Altens,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad to hear that you were pleased with your breakfast and our excellent staff. However, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the linen in the room. Our linen is outsourced and following your comments we shall be more vigilant in checking that all of the stock coming into the hotel is of the highest standard. We are also in the process of replacing our duvets as part of our ongoing improvements. I am also dismayed to hear that the lift floor was not cleaned by the Sunday morning. As you have already mentioned the hotel was very busy with the Edinburgh Festival but this is of course no excuse for letting standards slip.
Thank you once again for your invaluable feedback and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Kind Regards,
Fiona Scott
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

we were here as a large group for the tattoo. The hotel has plenty of free parking and as others have said the bus is right outside and frequent; there is also a night service that we used after the late show,at a cost of £3.00 fixed fare. The staff were very pleasnt and went out of their way to assist., and were also chirpy and happy without being over the top.As others hhave said close to Royal Yacht and small shopping centre. Plenty of good bars and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Durham Spartan,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront.

It is always a pleasure to receive good feedback from our guests and it really motivates the team to keep up the good work especially during the Tattoo which is our busiest time of year. We are very fortunate in our location with great bus services and top restaurants close at hand.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel and the area again.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here for the Militay Tattoo, easy access to town center by Number 22 or 35 bus about £1.30 single make sure you have correct change, the buses come every 10 minutes and stop right ourside the hotel. There is the ocean front shopping arcade across the road where the Royal Yacht Britannia is docked. There are some places around to eat and drink a walk into town is about one and three quarter miles. The rates for the hotel are good for Edinburgh and the breakfast is standard for a Holiday Inn Express. A couple of small moans, bar prices are high so go to a pub down the road and our room had a double glazing window that did not seal properly which made for a noisey night. However i am sure that the window will have been fixed now. Overall not a bad base for exploring Edinburgh without the prices of the city center especailly during the fringe or tattoo.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Whadders,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed by our location. We are very fortunate to be surrounded by so many top amenities and services and it’s great to hear that you were able to take advantage of them.
I’m sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed on this occasion and if you have any queries on any future stay please contact our team and we will do our very best to help.
As standard we offer 50ml measures at the bar but we also have 25ml measures available on request should you choose to visit our bar again.
Thank you once again for your review.
Best Regards,
Fiona Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,257 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,579 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing