We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #47 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We only stayed one night but found the hotel staff very friendly & helpful. The room was clean modern and adequate for what we needed. Breakfast was included in the price and the choice was quite extensive. Everything from croissants to full english. I was also impressed with the "self serve" area which consisted of a display fridge, microwave & ice machine. Food could be purchased from the fridge and heated in the microwave. Ideal for those getting in late at night. We had champagne with us so the free ice machine was a godsend!! The location is lovely. Stright across from Ocean Terminal which houses the Royal Yacht Britannia. 10 mins to the royal mile in a taxi.£7 or the bus stops outside the hotel(no 22) £2. There are lots of bars and restaurants on the waterfront if you don't need to go into the city. (Kings Wark is a good one)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emason55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    653
    203
    38
    9
See reviews for
271
638
32
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stay in this hotel whilst on a trip to Edinburgh. This hotel is nice and clean and suitable for my wife and I. There's buses running outside of the hotel to take you into the city centre and cinema, shopping complex over the road.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here for a business trip, room was spotless and nice and quiet. Breakfast was good, lots of choice. Not bad value for a capital.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bovril712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Bovril712,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us.

It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and really motivates us to maintain our high standards.

I hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Fiona Scott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Revisiting just within a year of my first visit. This time with a group of friends (4 guys, 2 rooms across from each other) for just one night.

What it boils down to: it's okay for a short stay, but it's nothing special.

Positive:
- helpful staff; despite official check-in from 2PM, we could already check in a little after 12.
- choice of two different pillows (harder or softer); it is great to have this choice; for me, a good pillow is 50% of a good night's sleep.

Could be improved:
- this time, things were indeed hectic and busy during breakfast. A bit of queueing, hard to find a table (ended up sitting on a couch with low table, not a regular breakfast table), staff doing their best to keep all breakfast items stocked.
- The English/Scottish breakfast could be better. Continental breakfast is OK, though. One more thing on the plus side: real Twinings Earl Grey tea for breakfast, not just your no-label black tea.

Discovered that one can walk to the centre of Edinburgh from this hotel. Takes maybe 40 minutes, but it is certainly not unpleasant.

I'd still recommend this if you're looking for a place to stay for a few nights. I myself will look for a different place to stay next time, just to keep things interesting, just to see another place next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crushert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens,Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I've stayed in Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront last April. The location is somehow far fron Edinburgh center ,but the bus runs all day exactly out of the hotel and this really isn't an issue at all.The breakfast was great,included in the price and the staff was professional but friendly. Overall a great experience !!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stilvi6370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear stilvi6370,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

I’m glad that you found your stay to be a great experience and I’m glad that you found our staff to be professional but friendly. It is always nice to hear when someone enjoys their stay.

Regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel doesn't live up to my previous experiences with Holiday Inns (Express or otherwise). Staff was pleasant enough but our room was dirty, small, and smelly. The "water view" could only be seen by looking between two neighboring buildings (a set of apartments and the parking garage of the mall).

If you wanted power in your room (to turn on the lights, etc) you had to put your hotel key card in a slot by the front door. I found that rather annoying since I wanted to leave the heat on while we were out shopping and not have to re-heat the room when we got back.

The TV was only a 13-inch CRT-type in the corner of the room. There were no laundry facilities on site and the local laundrette closed at 5pm so we only had time to wash our clothes, go back to our dirty hotel room, and attempt to hang up all the wet items. We had some minor success with the hair dryer but it kept shutting off from overheating (not surprising, considering what we were using it for).

We wound up cancelling the rest of our 2-night stay (it was too late and we were too tired to bother moving hotels), ate breakfast the next morning (which was also underwhelming as you had to clean your own table and there wasn't much selection or variety of food), and left.

I wish we would have stayed somewhere else. Now we know better - the next time we're in Edinburgh: Avoid The Waterfront!!

Room Tip: Water-view rooms not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OSUJillyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear OSUJillyBean,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront.

I am glad to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant but I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. I am sorry that you did not like your room and I hope that if you choose to visit us in future you will contact our staff who will do their best to relocate you to a room of your satisfaction.

The hotel is located in Leith the very popular Waterfront area of Edinburgh .If our guests make a special request for ‘Waterfront views’ we do our very best to accommodate these requests and allocate rooms with the best views that we have. We do not charge any extra for this and do not advertise ‘Waterview’ rooms.

The power in the rooms is connected with your keycard and this is a common feature in European hotels as it is a popular energy saving device. The air-conditioning systems in the rooms are programmed to maintain a comfortable temperature at all times but should guests wish to have the heating on whilst they are out the room the reception team are happy to provide an extra card to leave in the slot.

As a limited-service hotel we are focused on providing all the essentials for a great stay without unnecessary, expensive extras and whilst we do not have laundry facilities onsite we do offer an outsourced laundry and dry-cleaning service. As an alternative we will direct guests towards the nearest launderette. I am sorry that the local launderette closed before you were able to finish your washing.

I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast but disappointed to hear that you were left under whelmed. I am pleased to say that since your stay with us in June we have improved our breakfast offering and increased the variety of items on offer.

Thank you once again for your invaluable feedback and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Regards,

Fiona Scott
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Room was clean but carpet very dirty. Staff were very helpful, easy to catch the bus in and out of town. Easy walk to restaurants for dinner. A good place to sleep but that's about it,

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear KrisandAndy,

Many thanks for posting your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I'm glad that you found our staff to be very helpful and the cleanliness of the room to be good. I am sorry that you found the carpet in your room to be dirty and we will ensure that our housekeeping team pay more attention to this area in the future.

As you mentioned the hotel is ideally located close to local bus services to the city centre and within easy walking distance of the many and varied restaurants that the local area of Leith has to offer.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,912 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing