We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #46 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst on a Scottish tour. Check in was efficient, and staff were very patient with our questions, and made every effort to find the information needed. The location is excellent, with the royal yacht Britannia, and Ocean Terminal only 5 minuits walk away and a good bus service just outside the hotel. There is also a HUGE and varied number of restaurants within 10 mins walk.
The hotel itself is basic, modern, but very well designed, so although the rooms are simple, they are very comfortable and spacious, and clean. As breakfast is "free", we weren't expecting much, but were very pleasantly surprised by the variety and quality, ranging from fresh fruit to cooked food with lots of cereals,breads etc. It was self-service, so the full range of appetites was catered for!! We would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 312Bondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    653
    203
    38
    9
See reviews for
271
638
32
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bexley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

we stayed for just one night as we wanted to visit Edingburgh this an ideal place to do so especially as Edingburgh is under major roadworks tram lines being installed

We left the car at the hotel and right outside you can get two bus that take you to Princess street for the shops

Opposite the hotel is the Ocean Terminal were there are loads of restaurants and shops a cinema open till late

The hotel was clean comfortable nice shower not a lot of hanging space and I agree with one of the other reviews the tv was a bit out dated but. Still watchable ,the bathroom door was used for the bathroom and toilet a great idea there was only a shower cutrtain but really no problem
We asked for a quiet room and we got a quiet room position wise the unfortunate thing was it was very cold and windy and could hear the wind through the windows all night

The room was very cold and no matter how we tried still chilly in the end I turned the thermostat off perfect it worked nice andv warm then

The bed was comfortable pillows a bit smelly but I find this most places and normally take my own

The breakfast was good muffins, croissants ,toast jams,cereals, egg sausage beans fruit yogurts
And any drink you like via a machine all help your self
The staff were excellent they were so informative and couldn't b mor helpful oe of the most helpful receptions I've ad to deal with
If I lived nearer I'd sty again I'm notsure at £90 per night is cheap butvi found mostplaces when searching in Edingburgh expensive

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bexley_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
299 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Checkin was fast and efficient and two room key cards provided without being requested.
Two lifts available to take you to your floor.
The room was fairly well proportioned and although we were only staying 3 nights, would easily provide enough room and closet space if you were staying on a longer break.
A large work surface for a laptop and one double electric socket at desk height. Which meant if you needed to recharge two phones and two iPads you had to hunt for a free socket elsewhere in the room.
Tea/coffee making facility in the room, and just enough coat hangers to get all our clothes hung.
A real disappointment in the room was the old fashioned portable TV. Although it worked, you get used to most hotels providing larger flat screen TVs for  improved sound and vision quality.
One door led to the bathroom and when swung round (on 180 deg hinges) also doubled up as the door to the separate toilet.  Seems to work quite well.  The shower was reasonably powerful but used a shower curtain which you had to make sure was inside the shower tray, otherwise your floor was flooded as I found out on the first shower.
A liquid soap dispenser was available inside the shower and another beside the wash hand basin. I do miss soap bars nowadays.
Even though it was July, the weather was miserable and on the first night we were absolutely frozen. I visited reception and told them the room was very cold, so they manually reset the heating in the room and this worked in heating the room within 40-50 minutes, but later the thermostat went back to automatic and only cold air was being thrown around the room.  It was the same on all three nights, however, on night three we requested a small heater just so we could control the temperature.
If this was a problem, I just didn't understand why a repair could not be made. Instead, guests need to have conversations with reception for temperature control.
There are no evening meals offered but that is not an issue as there as so many restaurants within minutes walk of the hotel.  However, you could opt for a Pizza which was could be eaten in the bar or restaurant area.
There was a small 'honesty' shop selling waters, juices and snacks.  A microwave and an ice machine near reception.
Breakfast was included in all room rates.  There was scrambled eggs, sausages & beans and the sausages were excellent, really tasty.  Hot fresh croissants or bread rolls.  White and brown bread for toast, two toasters.  Two fresh ground coffee machines that dispenses americano, capuchino and other types of coffees.  The coffee was excellent quality.  There was plenty of fruit selection, cheese and yogurts and muffins.  Not a bad selection overall.
Breakfast was served through till 1030 each morning and 1100 on saturday and sundays. So really sensible breakfast times when on holiday.
The bar backs onto the reception, so no problem getting service and a drink from the well stocked bar. Some really good wines available and I appreciated it when we ordered two large glasses of red wine the receptionist advised us to take a bottle for an extra few quid rather than buy by the glass.
The location of the hotel is perfect near Ocean Terminal or Leith Waters. Big car park and buses run into the centre every few minutes.  We walked to the end of Princes Street and it took us around 30 minutes at a casual relaxed pace.
As mentioned the only negative point was the failure to resolve the heating problem from day 1 of our stay.  
The staff were all courteous and professional and helped us with advice when requested so definitely 10 out of 10 to the staff.

Room Tip: Back of hotel gives best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here for three nights to attend a conference. Room was fine, typical modern, clean HI Express. Wireless Internet in the room costs, but free access available in he lobby.

Friendly welcome and attentive staff throughout my stay.

The HI Express is ok - ample cereal, toast, croissants. The cooked breakfast is meagre - but it's free!

Without a car, and working in the City Centre, maybe consider a more central location to stay.
However, this hotel is right beside Leith docks, including good shopping centre - best cinema screen I've ever seen - so a great value option for a break.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Easy to find hotel, parking on site and/or close by.
Speedy efficient check-in, pleasant welcome.
Good room, slept well.
Nice room for breakfast, which for the price is very good, well apart from the coffee which is cheap.
Hotel is across the road from a shopping mall, through which you gain access to the Royal yacht Britannia.
All the usual restaurant chains can be found nearby, plus a few independents.
Buses run from outside the Ocean Terminal Shopping centre into Edinburgh at around 10 minute intervals, a day ticket is £3.50.
No issues, would readily use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iggi_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Arrived here in the early morning of 1st Jan 2012 after having a nightmare night with some Guest House. Although it was too early to check in, the lady at the reception was very friendly and invited us to have breakfast for free. This was the best way to start 2012.
The views around the hotel are amazing.....there's a shopping mall 3 minutes walk away and lots of Chinese take aways nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Seemed a brand new hotel in the North of town tight next to the shopping mall with very good restaurants and a cinema too.
Cheap travel by bus into town center from here or by taxi too.
Staff were a little non friendly but the hotel itself was nice, clean and a fantastic free breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank top_kella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,912 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing