We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We tried this for the first time last week Oct 25th 2013, it is OK, the reception is bright and well staffed, we thought our room lacked something, the windows did not... and have never fitted properly, this made it pretty noisy through the night, also the heating fan system also made for a very unsettled night.
Biggest problem is getting a car parking space, even though I have a wheelchair there was no where to park after a visit to the theatre, you have to then go and park in the shopping mall across the road, NOT at all good.

Room Tip: Do not take a room onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakeal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Jakeal82,
Many thanks for posting your review of your recent visit to our hotel.
I'm sorry that you were unable to find a parking space on your return from the theatre. Our car park can be very busy, especially during the half-term holiday period. We do have bollards which we can use to reserve parking spaces, especially for those with accessibility needs and if you let us know in advance of your next visit we will ensure that a space is reserved for you.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    634
    201
    37
    9
See reviews for
269
628
30
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We originally booked through Priceline and were furious that we ended up here for a 'downtown' Edinburg hotel. Bus ride from the airport was 1.5hrs. There's a bus stop right out front of the hotel and a direct bus to the city centre. Not as bad as we thought. Location not ideal if you're only In Edinburg for a couple days but definitely reasonable. Free breakfast was nice, nothing overly glamorous but a decent start to the day. Had we had more time, would have liked to discover Leith as we passed by it going downtown and it seems quite charming. Good jogging route, head to musselberg!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Naomi B,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

It is located around 20 min with bus to center of the city (Princes street). Bus 21 and 11 stops in the front of hotel and drive to city center. Bus 35 also stops in front of hotel and take ca. 1 hour 20 min to air port. The hotel is very old fashioned with dirty old carpet on floors. The bathroom is very old as well. Breakfast is typical english breakfast with a bad tasting coffee (buffett breakfast). Staff are very kind and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Fershtet,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It’s great to hear that you found our staff to be kind and helpful as providing excellent customer service is very important to us.

I am sorry that you found your carpet to be dirty. I am pleased to be able to inform you that we are currently in the process of having all of our guest bedrooms and public area carpets cleaned following the busy summer season.

I hope that you will be back to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had a 3 night midweek break here last week. The hotel is in an excellent location with many fine eateries in the Leith area, just a short distance away (Don't miss Fisher's Bistro!). There are a few decent pubs in the area also. The local bus service into Edinburgh City Centre (costs only £3.50 for a day ticket!) leaves from Ocean Terminal just across the road and we never had to wait more than 2 minutes for a bus! The hotel is clean and comfortable, nothing luxurious but perfectly adequate. The only issue was with the 'free' breakfast. We had stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, West Nile Street, Glasgow 2 weeks before and the breakfast there was excellent. For some reason the breakfast at the Waterfront was a real letdown by comparison. The juices were out of a machine and were ridiculously strong and undrinkable, unlike Glasgow where the juices were served from glass containers and tasted good. The scrambled egg was tough and I couldn't eat it, again unlike Glasgow which was perfectly good. For some reason, the Waterfront has several 4 slice toasters which take an age to heat your toast, where Glasgow had proper large toasting machines where you feed the bread in at the top and comes out the bottom shortly after, nicely cooked. It seems strange that 2 hotels, providing what should be the same service, can produce such different breakfasts, even clearing of the tables was not up to the Glasgow standard - suggest someone from the Waterfront should go through to Glasgow and see how it should be done! That said, the breakfast was a minor issue, just something that could easily be improved on and this would not stop me returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeefyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear KeefyAberdeen,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I am glad that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and that you appreciated our great location.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed the breakfast. Our breakfast offering is constantly under review and we appreciate all feedback on how we can get this right. We will definitely be placing an emphasis on how the scrambled egg is prepared and also the clearing of tables as things that we can fix now. Some of the other hotels in our group are currently trialling new products and presentation and we hope to make some changes to our offering in the near future. We have looked into getting rotary toasters in the past but unfortunately we do not have an appropriate countertop that would allow for the safe use of these.
I really do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel reminds why you get so much more from paying extra to get a 4 or 5 star hotel. Rating from poor to average on breakfast, beds, location, noise etc. But then better go for a new Premier Inn..... actually, cheaper and often better than this place.

Room Tip: Had a lot of noise all night..... they might have rooms more quiet than the one I had..... ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vibegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Vibegro,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.


I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and we really appreciate all feedback so that we can continually improve the guest experience. If you do decide to stay with us again please just contact us when you make your reservation and we will do our very best to assign you a quiet room.

Thank you once again for your review.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is one of our favourite hotels and we have stayed here on several occasions. We have family and friends in the Edinburgh area but nowadays do not bring the car. However there is a great city bus service operated by Lothian Transport and buses pass the front door.
The hotel is beside the Ocean Terminal which is a shopping complex with many very good restaurants.
The hotel staff are extremely pleasant and very willing to ensure customer satisfaction. The management team spare no effort to give satisfaction. The provision of breakfast is a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwyn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Elwyn_12,

Thank you for writing this lovely review.

It is always great to hear from a returning guest and even better to find that we are one of your favourites.

Thank you for your kind comments and I hope that you will be back to visit your family and friends soon.

Kind Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Using Holiday Inn Express you are not looking for extra bells and whistles, they are the basic for Holiday Inn group. I have stayed in all the Holiday Inn Hotels of any brand in Edinburgh. This one is on the waterfront in Leith where the Royal Yacht Brittania is berthed. There are restaurants in walking distance and many more within a short trip. Shops at the Ocean terminal complex and close enough to downtown Edinburgh. Good reception, very friendly, the Hotel is clean tidy and well run. Could do with a bit more parking but in fairness there is parking close by as well. No complaints we were well looked after and it is quiet and easy to sleep there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing