We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$488
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$439
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,524)
Filter reviews
1,524 results
Traveller rating
532
724
219
40
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
724
219
40
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean terminalthe royal yacht britanniahi expressbus stop right outside the hotelfree wifibus serviceday ticketthe sofa bedfrequent busesminute bus ridebreakfast was includedbudget hotelnumber busyogurtshort staytea and coffeebars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
833 - 838 of 1,524 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Friendly welcome, large room and good inclusive breakfast. A very good budget hotel. Very good location next to Ocean Terminal and very good public transport links to Edinburgh city centre. Heater/air conditioning unit in room was a bit noisy but didn't bother us too much.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

my partner and i had this trip bought as a gift from family, for our birthdays. and what a lovely location they chose. the area is quiet but still has access to shops and restaurants with the new shopping complex across the road . but should you want to venture into the city then the bus service is an efficient and low cost way of getting around edinburgh, with a stop right outside the holiday inns gate. our room was spacious and clean. the free breakfast service was fantastic,and ran like clockwork. but most of all , the staff were very helpful and welcoming. on the morning of our departure, the taxi to take us to the station did not arrive, but a member of the reception took it upon themselves to takes us in their own car so that we didn't miss our train. we will definitely return .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffinmamaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel because basically we were coming throught to Edinburgh to meet up with friends that where staying at this hotel. I have stayed with HIexpress before but in there Glasgow city hotel so new what to expect. But to be honest the room was huge in comparison to that one think perhaps this was a family room as their was a sofa bed in the room was pleased with the size of the room and the cleanliness. The only thing that really let them down was the huge big stain on the carpet in our room which I am assuming was coffee as it was near where the kettle and tea and coffee making facilites where kept not a huge problem just a little surprising for a brand such as HI express would let a room when a various obvious stain that was one of the first things you noticed as you entered the room couldnt exactly miss it due to the position or hide it. But otherwise the room was aboslutely fine. There was a flat screen tv in the room not sure what channel it had as only had it on bbc and only for about 10 minutes to watch the news. A kettle with complimentary tea and coffee. One more thing when I book a room for two people I expect two bath towels not one. Bed was comfy and there was lots of space to hang or put away clothes.

There is a large lounge and bar area down next to reception. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was adequate not full english or full scottish but it does not advertise itself as this either. There was scrambled eggs, sausages and beans. There was also fresh fruit, fruit juice and cereal as well as croissants, bread rolls and toast. I enjoyed my breakfast it was also buffet style so you could have as little or as much as you liked. All in all a good hotel in nice quiet area, with free parking next to a shopping centre and some nice restaurants away from the hussle and bussle of the city but still within easy reach of it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkieplug24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Whenever we go to Edinburgh and look at the views over to the left as you approach the castle on the esplanade you get a fabulous view of Leith, the Firth of Forth and Edinburgh’s coast line.
We booked the Holiday Iinn Eexpress Leith to explore the Leith area as we normally would stay in the centre of Edinburgh. Leith is lovely with lovely river walks. It’s a mix of old and new with lots of history and nice places to eat along the river. It was lovely to walk around in the evening as the boats that were restaurants were all lit up with twinkling lights and looked very inviting as did the other bistros and bars along the river’s edge.

A warm welcome awaited us from the friendly staff. The hotel allows pets but I emailed them in advance before I booked to see if was ok. (Not all Holiday Inn Express allow pets.) We were given a lovely room on the second floor with views over the Ocean Terminal where entrance is gained to the Royal yacht Britannia. The sofa bed was made up on arrival for our son and there were plenty of fluffy towels, tea’s & coffee’s etc. Free Wi-Fi, plenty of information in the hotel reception about the area. Crayons & colouring items for children, an ice machine for the adults to chill in room drinks.

The free breakfast was an added bonus, lovely and just right to set us up for the day. It included cereals, fruit, yoghurt, warm Danish pastries, cheese, toast, crusty bread buns, teas, coffees, hot chocolate, fruit juices, sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans though we didn't try it all!!

We managed to get a place in the car park so we just left it there for the duration. If we had arrived later in the day I don't think we would have got one, but there is plenty of free parking in the area. Also when the sofa bed was open in the room that we had it didn't leave much room to move around the room but it was clean comfy & cosy and we were out most of the time anyway.

The hotel was warm, clean and welcoming it was a pleasure to stay. We will definitely return. We had a lovely stay thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bunnywunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Free parking, quiet area and easy to find. Staff friendly. The room was clean and lots of white soft fluffy towels. Breakfast was good.....all you need to get you up and running. A gem of a budget hotel. No complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philld61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews