We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a room with sealed windows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Get a room with sealed windows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed here on Friday and Saturday nightjust gone, for a work course I was on at a nearby gym.
Check in was easy no fuss, as we arrives around 8pm, first room was very clean but very cold, we stuck the heater on via the air con unit, then went across to ocean terminal, which is a 2min walk, for some food. Arrived back, got ready for bed, and were awoken at 2.30am to watch can only be described as 1000s of bees stuck in the window. It was in fact the wind whistling through the drafty gaps in the window, and it was very noisy! We rang down to reception to see if they had ear plus (I always forget to pack mine) he said, no, but will look for some cotton wool??? Whilst I know he was trying to be helpful it wasn't a great option. He didn't have any and suggested my partner come and view a different room, which was around the side of the building and much quieter. We hopped into that bed and moved our stuff then next morning.

Apart from that, the hotel was very quiet even though looking at the car park, it looked like a pretty full weekend. Bed was comfy, pillows were comfy, shower was amazing.
Breakfast was just enough for being complimentary, I ate at 7.30am both mornings so it was a pretty quiet experience for me.

Its a good location for restaurants, a bit out of the way of this city, and good value fo £89 for 2 nights. However if I were to pay the rack rate of £189.99 and get the first room we have, I wouldn't be happy.

But maybe some of that dosh could go to sealing their windows properly.

Room Tip: Even number rooms are the best, don't get put in room 341!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186394Jo_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear 186394Jo_J0,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I’m glad that you found your bed and pillows comfortable and enjoyed the power shower. I’m also glad that you found your room to be clean were able to take advantage of our free breakfast.
I’m sorry that you had issues with the window in your first room. We have recently had a survey completed on all of our windows and repair issues were highlighted and attended to by external contractors. It would appear though that the window on room 341 was missed during the survey and we will ensure that the repairs are carried out as soon as possible.
Thank you once again for your review and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    634
    201
    37
    9
See reviews for
269
628
30
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Welcoming staff and good value for money with parking and breakfast included. (Especially if working to a budget) Rooms clean and as expected for this chain of hotel.
Would stay again for a stop over but bare in mind it's a bus or taxi ride from leith into town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hlkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear HIKite,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our staff welcoming, our rooms clean, enjoyed our free breakfast and that you were able to take advantage of our free parking.
We are located a couple of miles from the city centre but there is a very frequent bus service which runs from the entrance of the hotel into the centre of Edinburgh.
I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed on a busy Saturday and overall was good value for money. Room was big enough and clean although had a bit of a musty smell. Breakfast was a bit shambolic with queues all over the place and although choice was limited it was decent enough. Summing up, you get what you pay for and at 50 quid a night b & b it is pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear borlo 1,
Many thanks for your review.
I’m delighted that you found your room to be clean and spacious though sorry for the musty smell.
At weekends we offer our free breakfast from 7.00am until 11.00am to try to minimise queues and also to allow our guests to eat at their leisure. Unfortunately there are times when the breakfast area can become very busy and we try our utmost to cater for everyone by opening up our meeting room for extra seating.
I’m glad that you found your stay to be good value for money and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We arrived a few hours before check in and the staff were very accommodating and managed to find rooms which had already been serviced so that we could check in early. This was done free of charge and with absolutely no fuss.

The hotel itself is around 2 miles outside of the Edinburgh city centre, and whilst serviced by a regular bus, the bus takes around 35 minutes to make the journey to the centre so we found it was just as convenient to walk or get a taxi (costing around £8/9).

The rooms were clean, with good internet service and a limited range of television channels. The shower was brilliant! Breakfast had a wide range of options on offer and even though we arrived quite late, still well stocked. The only thing that let the hotel down for me were the pillows, which despite being marked firm and soft, were all rock hard and might need replacing. I appreciate it's a trivial thing, but it definitely impacted on the sleep I got.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Leanne C,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay here.
I’m delighted that we were able to offer you a room on your early arrival and I’m also delighted that you found your room to be clean and that you were able to take advantage of our free wi-fi access.
I’m glad that you enjoyed the power shower in your room and also that you found that our free breakfast offered a wide options to suit all tastes.
I apologise for the pillows on your room. We have recently had a delivery of new pillows and will hopefully have all of our pillows replaced over the next few months.
Many thanks once again for your review. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very comfortable beds, we slept very well. Just a two night stay but we will return. Great location and spotless. Special mention to Jamie who worked nights. He is a star. Polite, friendly, nothing too much trouble. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank month06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear month06,
Many thanks for posting such a positive review of your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
Jamie will be delighted that you have given him a special mention as our nights team seldom get the recognition that they deserve from our guests.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very comfortable and clean. Settee in room as well as bed, large TV, view of waterfront and just across from Ocean Terminal shopping centre which houses the entrance to the Royal Yacht Britiannia and several restaurants. Breakfast great loads of choice of hot and cold food and available until 11 00. Checkout 12 00. Staff very friendly. Brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Val21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Friendly welcome, large room and good inclusive breakfast. A very good budget hotel. Very good location next to Ocean Terminal and very good public transport links to Edinburgh city centre. Heater/air conditioning unit in room was a bit noisy but didn't bother us too much.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing