We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calcutta cup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #47 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Calcutta cup”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

stayed 2 nights friday and saturday, friendly, clean well organised hotel, a little way out so need to use taxi's or bus but quite easy, across the way from Ocean park shopping centre with food court. Only a 5 min walk to Brittania- well worth a visit.
Breakfast well stocked up and it was very busy

Room Tip: Oersonal choice would not have a ground floor room, ours was on 3rd floor and quiet, but not in a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Nerissa W,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our hotel to be friendly, clean and well organised. Though we are a little way out of the city centre, as you say access is simple either by taxi or the very frequent public bus service which runs from just outside the hotel.
Breakfast can be very busy, especially at weekend and I’m glad that you found our breakfast offering well stocked up.
I hope that you enjoyed the rugby (some of us didn’t!) and I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    662
    206
    38
    9
See reviews for
278
650
32
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have some complain just about some distance to downtown ( 20 minute with buss ) You go with bus number 22 or 35 ( this go to airport but i ll make 85 minute ) .
Breakfast was very poor , no ham just same cheese and same sausage , then juice was ok , the croissant was ok too .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanBineata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Dandinamo,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.
Although we are located a little out of the city centre there is a very frequent bus service which runs from just outside the hotel. Also for those with plenty of time the number 35 bus runs directly to the airport, though this does take in the region of 85 minutes.
I’m sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast. The Holiday Inn Express standard does not include ham though there are plenty of other choices available on our buffet to suit most tastes.
I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel some time in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our second stay ay HI Express Leith, and it is truly hard to beat for location and value. It's really hard to get free parking at hotels in Edinburgh, so for a £1.50 bus journey into town folks, why not try here? The hotel is also right across the road from Ocean Terminal shopping mall which has restaurants and a cinema - excellent when Edinburgh is a wee bit "dreich" and the thought of schlepping down Princes Street or the Royal Mile in the cold and damp just isn't what you fancy! But if you do want to go into the city, the bus stops right outside the hotel and costs £1.50 per journey. The hotel itself is clean, the rooms are very comfortable, breakfast in the morning is good and the staff are friendly and helpful. There was a fire alarm at 6am when we stayed but all was very well organised and staff couldn't have been more apologetic in the morning when we came down for breakfast. There were also signs up in the lifts and public areas explaining what the cause of the false alarm was. Highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Edinburgh and we will be back to stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meeklymilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Meeklymilli,
Many thanks for posting such a positive review of your recent stay with us and I’m glad that you had returned for your second stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, our rooms to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed our location with it’s easy access to the local amenities that Leith has to offer and the very frequent public bus service which runs into the city centre from just outside the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed here on Friday and Saturday nightjust gone, for a work course I was on at a nearby gym.
Check in was easy no fuss, as we arrives around 8pm, first room was very clean but very cold, we stuck the heater on via the air con unit, then went across to ocean terminal, which is a 2min walk, for some food. Arrived back, got ready for bed, and were awoken at 2.30am to watch can only be described as 1000s of bees stuck in the window. It was in fact the wind whistling through the drafty gaps in the window, and it was very noisy! We rang down to reception to see if they had ear plus (I always forget to pack mine) he said, no, but will look for some cotton wool??? Whilst I know he was trying to be helpful it wasn't a great option. He didn't have any and suggested my partner come and view a different room, which was around the side of the building and much quieter. We hopped into that bed and moved our stuff then next morning.

Apart from that, the hotel was very quiet even though looking at the car park, it looked like a pretty full weekend. Bed was comfy, pillows were comfy, shower was amazing.
Breakfast was just enough for being complimentary, I ate at 7.30am both mornings so it was a pretty quiet experience for me.

Its a good location for restaurants, a bit out of the way of this city, and good value fo £89 for 2 nights. However if I were to pay the rack rate of £189.99 and get the first room we have, I wouldn't be happy.

But maybe some of that dosh could go to sealing their windows properly.

Room Tip: Even number rooms are the best, don't get put in room 341!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186394Jo_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear 186394Jo_J0,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I’m glad that you found your bed and pillows comfortable and enjoyed the power shower. I’m also glad that you found your room to be clean were able to take advantage of our free breakfast.
I’m sorry that you had issues with the window in your first room. We have recently had a survey completed on all of our windows and repair issues were highlighted and attended to by external contractors. It would appear though that the window on room 341 was missed during the survey and we will ensure that the repairs are carried out as soon as possible.
Thank you once again for your review and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Welcoming staff and good value for money with parking and breakfast included. (Especially if working to a budget) Rooms clean and as expected for this chain of hotel.
Would stay again for a stop over but bare in mind it's a bus or taxi ride from leith into town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hlkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear HIKite,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our staff welcoming, our rooms clean, enjoyed our free breakfast and that you were able to take advantage of our free parking.
We are located a couple of miles from the city centre but there is a very frequent bus service which runs from the entrance of the hotel into the centre of Edinburgh.
I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed on a busy Saturday and overall was good value for money. Room was big enough and clean although had a bit of a musty smell. Breakfast was a bit shambolic with queues all over the place and although choice was limited it was decent enough. Summing up, you get what you pay for and at 50 quid a night b & b it is pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear borlo 1,
Many thanks for your review.
I’m delighted that you found your room to be clean and spacious though sorry for the musty smell.
At weekends we offer our free breakfast from 7.00am until 11.00am to try to minimise queues and also to allow our guests to eat at their leisure. Unfortunately there are times when the breakfast area can become very busy and we try our utmost to cater for everyone by opening up our meeting room for extra seating.
I’m glad that you found your stay to be good value for money and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We arrived a few hours before check in and the staff were very accommodating and managed to find rooms which had already been serviced so that we could check in early. This was done free of charge and with absolutely no fuss.

The hotel itself is around 2 miles outside of the Edinburgh city centre, and whilst serviced by a regular bus, the bus takes around 35 minutes to make the journey to the centre so we found it was just as convenient to walk or get a taxi (costing around £8/9).

The rooms were clean, with good internet service and a limited range of television channels. The shower was brilliant! Breakfast had a wide range of options on offer and even though we arrived quite late, still well stocked. The only thing that let the hotel down for me were the pillows, which despite being marked firm and soft, were all rock hard and might need replacing. I appreciate it's a trivial thing, but it definitely impacted on the sleep I got.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Leanne C,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay here.
I’m delighted that we were able to offer you a room on your early arrival and I’m also delighted that you found your room to be clean and that you were able to take advantage of our free wi-fi access.
I’m glad that you enjoyed the power shower in your room and also that you found that our free breakfast offered a wide options to suit all tastes.
I apologise for the pillows on your room. We have recently had a delivery of new pillows and will hopefully have all of our pillows replaced over the next few months.
Many thanks once again for your review. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,175 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing