We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have stayed here every year now for about eight years,it's consistently of the same high quality,the staff are friendly and welcoming nothing is too much trouble for them,it's a good spot for some very fine restaurants in leith,Brittania is just across the road and is worth a visit,also you can catch a bus to various places from just outside.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the back,as the road outside is quite busy
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear 32jenny,
Welcome back and many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you have received the same high standard of quality throughout the many years that you have stayed with us and I’m so glad that you feel that our team are friendly and welcoming.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for many more years to come.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed for one night and from walking through the door to leaving next day everything was excellent

Definitely would recommend here if you are visiting Auld Reekie

Well done everyone you all looked after us so well nothing was any trouble to you all

We will be back to see you all when we visit Edinburgh

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MintcakeKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear MintcakeKendal,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you are in Edinburgh.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Arrived on Friday 28th Feb afternoon, check in fast and informative. Rooms clean and well presented. Everything you could possibly want within the room. Breakfast times ideal with a good window of time to suit everyone. Staff very helpful Gemma on reception very informative regarding bus tours, buses and how to get into town. Had nice meal at the Britannia Spice restaurant voucher courtesy of hotel with a discount of 15 per cent. Breakfast considering provided as a courtesy free was very good with something for everyone fruit yoghurts cereals pastries toast jams marmalade preserves butter scrambled eggs sausage and baked beans croissants . Orange juice and hot drinks. The ability to order a take away to be delivered and the very helpful Charlene on reception who couldn't have been anymore helpful to us what a lovely member if staff who even printed off our boarding passes for our flight home. Then when our take away arrived rang us to advise and provided us with plates cutlery and serviiettes and a tray , where else would you get that especially when the hotel sells pizzas too . we accidentally spilt coke on beds upon opening which fizzed everywhere . Charlene to the rescue again brought to our door a fresh duvet. Charlene also advised we can store our luggage on check out until we need to leave the area to get back to the airport and they will arrange a taxi for us. Really impressed with the hotel and the staff made very welcome and nothing too much trouble would definetely come again thanks very much holiday inn

Room Tip: We stayed in room 103 twin bedded with a large shower . No real view didn't see any other room...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyKHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear KirstyKHT,
Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review of your recent stay with us..
I’m delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and have provided a comprehensive review of the services that we offer to all of our guests.
Gemma and Charlene will be delighted to have been mentioned in such a positive light and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Don't be misled by the title of this review, this is an excellent hotel with very friendly staff the only little problems are really niggles, it's impossible to keep the shower curtain inside as it is just a touch too short, there is no where to put your soap and shampoo if you do not wish to use the free body wash supplied, the window was a very bad fit making for a noisier than usual night with a cool draught blowing through and the excellent complimentary breakfast was lacking the orange segments offered on the menu.
This is not our first visit and it won't be our last, this was excellent value for money and the friendly welcome on arrival was a nice prelude to a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakesholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Lakesholly,
Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you felt that we are an excellent hotel with very friendly staff and that you had a great stay..
I apologise for the niggles that you encountered during your stay and I’m delighted that these will not put you off visiting us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My husbands and I stayed here for 3 nights in February of 2014. It was very clean and nice, the staff was awesome and very helpful. The breakfast was good, loved the coffee machine. There is a bus stop on the sidewalk RIGHT in front of the hotel entrance. The neighborhood is safe and there is a shopping center a block away. The only complaint is that the hotel itself is plain with no character, but that is what you expect with Holiday Inn so I really cannot complain.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EMcBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear EMcBee,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our hotel to be clean, felt that our staff were awesome and very friendly and enjoyed our free Express Start hot buffet breakfast.
I’m glad that you enjoyed our location with it’s easy access to the local amenities and the very frequent public bus service which leaves to the city centre from directly outside the hotel entrance.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time that you are in Edinburgh.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Holiday Inn Waterfront and again it was a comfortable pleasant stay. The staff are very helpful, the bed was really comfy and the facilities were great. The added breakfast is a lovely touch and I don't see how anyone can complain about it - sausage, egg and beans is plentiful and there is also toast, pastries, fruit etc. The service with clearing the tables at breakfast was a bit slow and we had to settle for sitting at a table which was covered in sticky juice and debris - but it was busy while we were there....there was also a bit of a delay in re-stocking the bread etc and people were waiting around to make toast - none of this spoilt our stay though. At reception there are bottled soft drinks, chocolate, snacks and crisps which you can buy and then just take your money to reception - this was a nice addition. There was also an ice maker which was nice.

The maid kept our room lovely and on the one day when we didn't want to get up early, she still left a bag outside our door with spare towels, coffee etc and toilet roll. Although we didn't need the items it was a lovely touch to ensure people have all they need. There is a nice ambience to this hotel and everyone seems happy in their job. The showers are great, and the room was really comfy, warm and had everything you would need.

I have no complaints about this hotel at all and would happily stay here again. The location is great as the bus stops right outside the hotel and takes you into town for a couple of pound - they also come very regularly. Reception were very helpful with giving us a taxi number also. The Ocean Terminal is just across the road with lovely eateries and a Vue cinema which we went to one night. Am already looking to book for another stay later in the year - the only reason I have given this review a 4 and not a 5 is that there are a few areas for improvement. The bathroom door on our room was tricky to close properly, the service at breakfast was hit and miss and the room was worn in some areas e.g. the sofa bed had seen better days. Still a great place to stay though and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneLizzy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear JaneLizzie29,
Welcome back to our hotel and many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found your most recent stay to be comfortable, found are staff helpful and pleasant, your bed to be comfortable and found our facilities to be great.
I’m glad that you enjoyed our free Express Start hot buffet breakfast though I apologise that you found the cleaning of tables at breakfast slow. It can get very busy at peak times during breakfast (it is sometimes hard for us to know when these peak times will occur as we allow guests to eat at their leisure) and our staff do try their utmost to ensure that all tables are cleared as soon as they are vacated.
I’m glad that you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and felt that our team were happy in their jobs, as I know that that they are :)
I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Right near the waterfront where the royal yacht is docked,,very clean rooms and public areas . room cleaned daily,,the staff are very polite and helpful.,Buses from City centre to right outside,,,no.22 Ocean Terminal,,£1-50. Great base for sightseeing...kudos x

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Karen B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I’m delighted that you found our staff to be polite and helpful and found your room and the public areas very clean.
We are ideally situated for both the local amenities and attractions (such as the Royal Yacht Britannia) and the very frequent public service which runs from just outside the hotel gives quick and efficient access to the city centre.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,556 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing