We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,586 results
Traveller rating
556
751
227
43
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
751
227
43
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean terminalthe royal yacht britanniahi expressbus stop right outside the hotelbus servicefree wifiday ticketthe sofa bedfrequent busesbudget hotelbreakfast was includednumber busminute bus rideyogurtshort staytea and coffeebars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 1,586 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights in April, on our first trip to Edinburgh. Hotel is great location opposite the Ocean Terminal shopping centre and Royal Yacht Britannia. Transport into Edinburgh city centre was easy on the local bus, as the bus stop is right outside the hotel, and takes only 15 minutes into the city. We had a double room, which had everything you might want, from Free WiFi to tea and coffee making facilities. Bed was only double size and a little hard. The free breakfast buffet was good, and had both hot and cold items. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and helped make our stay more enjoyable. We drove to Edinburgh so free parking on site was a bonus for us. We found it a great base for exploring Edinburgh. Over all, it was a good value hotel in a great location, with very helpful friendly staff, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Norpet,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Our team will be delighted to hear that they helped make your stay enjoyable. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back again.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Negatives: cleanliness of room awful. Also decor very very tired
Put shower on, all bathroom lights went off, told reception, not particularly interested, made nighttime trip,to the loo hazardous.

Positives: location, accessibility into city centre by bus fabulous, handy for Britannia. Breakfast very good. Got a good rate through trip adviser therefore didn't feel like complaining too loudly about the negatives.

Won't be back though.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear James W,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I am really dismayed to read your comments as customer care and room cleanliness are our two top priorities. Generally we receive a lot of good feedback for these areas and I am disappointed that we let you down on this occasion.

I am glad that you enjoyed some positives to your stay and I hope you will accept my apologies for any problems you encountered. I do hope that you will give us another chance and that you will make a return visit. If you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me at deputy@expressedinburgh.co.uk.

Thank you,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here with our children for 3 nights. The hotel was clean, the staff very friendly and the location great for exploring Edinburgh and surrounding area. Free parking too!

First time using a Holiday Inn but would definitely stay here again and recommend for others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Emma T,

Thank you for this great review about your recent stay.

Quality and service are two of our highest priorities so I am very pleased to hear you compliment the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. Our team will definitely appreciate your comments.

It’s great to hear that you will be back and even better that you would recommend us. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a family room.The room was very clean but the sofa bed was too small for 2 16 yr olds to share.There were only 2 sockets in the room.Neither close enough to the mirror to use hair straighteners.Ladies take note.The free Wi-Fi for 48hrs was good.Breakfast is buffet style.The breakfast area can get busy at times with very little staff cleaning up.Plenty to chose from on the continental side but only sausage and scrambled egg on the "full English" side.The hotel is on a bus route to the city.Easily reached in 15mins.A quiet,clean hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear jpc15,
Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay.
I’m delighted that that you found your room to be very clean though I apologise that the double sofa bed provided in our family rooms was too small for your children.
I’m glad that you were able to take advantage of our free wi-fi access which is available throughout the hotel.
There are times when our breakfast area does become extremely busy and our staff do try their utmost to ensure that tables are cleared and cleaned so that waiting guests can access these as soon as possible.
I’m glad that you enjoyed our location and I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stopped here for 2 nights for our 1st trip to Edinburgh. This Hotel is in a great location, right opposite the Ocean Terminal (shopping centre), which has a good selection of shops, but is more importantly where the Royal Yacht Britannia is based (worth a trip-v interesting!).
The hotel has a free car park-great, as you will not want to use the car when youre here!! The bus stop is right outside the hotel & takes you straight into the City - very good value at £3.50 for an all day pass.
The hotel room was clean & spacious (there were only the 2 of us), with everything you could want - a hairdryer, kettle, tea & coffee The free breakfast was very good - plenty of sausages, scrambled eggs & beans. You make your own toast, and there is a good choice of cereal & the normal continental breakfast. The staff were very friendly.
The hotel is in a pretty quiet location, which we were thankful of, but there are plenty of restaurants in the shopping centre opposite if you didn't want to go into the city in the evening. However, our room was right next to the lift - which we could hear everytime it was used. If we went again, I would ask to be away from the lift! Also - our room was a little tired - the sink basin was cracked in the bathroom - the taps made a loud noise if you turned them on too much & the furniture in the room was worn in places. However, this wouldn't put us off stopping there again, due to its location. All in all, this is a good value hotel in a great location, that is very easy to find

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from a lift
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear 2011Debs,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found your room to be clean and spacious and that it contained everything that you could want for your stay.
I’m glad that you found our staff to be friendly, were able to take advantage of our free parking and enjoyed our free Express Start hot buffet breakfast.
I’m sorry that you were allocated a room close to the lift and we will ensure that you are given a quieter room on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews