We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Seven ladies celebrating a sixtieth birthday weekend stay. We found the hotel very clean and comfortable the breakfasts were lovely, but the staff really enhanced our stay they were pleasant and helpful recommending a lovely Italian. restaurant with a 20% discount voucher, nothing was too much trouble for them from chilling our own bottles of champagne for us and providing a large table for a private breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonnehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Yvonnehannah,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our hotel to be very clean and comfortable and am so happy that you felt that our staff really enhanced you stay with their pleasant and helpful service.
I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for an overnight 06-04-2014. Staff could not have been more helpful dealing with minor issues. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast a nice extra. Would stay here again when in or near Edinburgh. Good value if pre-booked early.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Andrew Q,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you felt that our staff could not have been more helpful, that you were able to take advantage of our free wi-fi access available throughout the hotel and found our free Express Start breakfast to be a nice extra.
I’m so glad that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and while we were there a member of our party became ill and had to be taken to hospital. The staff at the hotel were absolutely excellent, they made space for us during a very busy time and were helpful and compassionate at all times. In my opinion there is no place else to stay in Edinburgh.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Catherine M,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
I’m so glad that our staff were able to offer help, assistance and compassion during what was a very worrying time for you.
We all wish your mother a very speedy recovery and we look forward to welcoming you back in the winter.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Back again! We stay here every time we come to the Capital City. It's so friendly and convenient. Thanks to Gosia and Nicola for sorting out our muddled booking with no fuss, and to Gosia for just remembering me.
Only gripe: some guests park in the accessible parking spaces without a blue badge - AAAAGGHHH. Sorry Nicola for giving you a hard time about that and thank you for listening; I know it's not the fault of you or the staff. I'm all for making a public announcement of their registration numbers and then putting them in the (metaphorical) stocks for this act of selfish and inconsiderate boorishness.
We'll be back and we love it.

Room Tip: Smile and be polite; all the rooms seem good to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConsultantNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear ConsultantNomad,
Welcome back and thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us!
I’m delighted that you stay with us every time that you visit Edinburgh and that you found our hotel to be so friendly and convenient.
Gosia is delighted that you have mentioned her as she does epitomise the friendly manner with which all of our staff deal with all of our guests.
Nicola is also delighted that you have remembered the manner in which she dealt with your gripe about some guests ‘illegally’ parking in accessible spaces. There is of course no reason for you to apologise as we know how frustrating this can be for some guests.
We do try to keep a note of the car registration numbers of all guest cars in case we need to ask them to move to other spaces but there are occasions when a guest does not give the required information on check-in.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

a very good hotel there is a bus stop by the hotel so if you want to park car its easy to get around edinburgh. there is a shopping mall across the road and nearby restaurants which are very good especially at the shore which is a short walk away. the bedrooms are clean and spacious. staff are very helpful and friendly. the breakfast was lovely and plenty choices. you also can have a free newspaper at reception. what is not to like ?

Room Tip: the rooms are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotlandmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear scotlandmargo,
Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our bedrooms to be clean and spacious, our staff very helpful and friendly and enjoyed our free Express Start hot buffet breakfast.
I’m glad that you were able to take advantage of our free parking so that you were able to leave your car at the hotel and use the very frequent public bus service to explore the city.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in the Hotel for two nights and the location of the Hotel is very good, very near to Sea shore and just in front of Britannia. The ambiance was classic and the bedding was warm and comfortable and so are the bathroom and bath tub. The breakfast does not have vast menu options, but good enough. Being a vegetarian I did not have much options to cheer about.
You can just get a day pass for Lothian buses (which costs 3.50£) and get into 35 number bus from Airport, and get down just in front of the Hotel. Royal Mile, City center and princess street are just 20 mins away on the bus ( bus no 25 - day pass will work here ).

Will recommend it if you are on budget and want to have a pleasant stay

Room Tip: As for the room with a view to the streets. You can watch sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anilsoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear anilsoma,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m so glad that you enjoyed our location with it’s easy access to the local amenities such as the Royal Yacht Britannia.
I’m delighted that felt that the ambience of the hotel was classic and that you found our bedding as well as our bathrooms to be warm and comfortable.
We do offer a wide range of items on our free Express Start breakfast buffet and I’m sory that you did not feel that we offered enough choice for vegetarians.
I’m so glad that you would recommend us to others and I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for the past 2 nights, and it's pretty nice. We took a taxi from EDI (roughly £35), though it looks like you could also take the #35 bus as well. Rooms have been refurbished in the past few years, so they're in decent shape. I couldn't tell a difference between the soft and firm pillows; both were a bit harder than I like! Decent linens, and the towels are bath sheets...which are greatly appreciated! The free breakfast was good, with a variety of yogurts, breads, cereals and some hot items like eggs and sausage. Oh, there is an ice machine in the lobby too.

The Ocean Terminal across the street has some good restaurant options (Wagamama, Frankie and Benny's, Zizzi, Pizza Express, etc.), lots of shops and a M&S grocery store.

The staff was great and were very helpful. You can catch a city centre bus into Edinburgh right in front of the hotel. The #22 bus will drop you by Palace of Holyroods.

Good hotel, and I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAUgrad2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear NAUgrad2005,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay.

I am pleased that you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay. We are in the process of replacing all the pillows in our guest rooms and I am sorry that we didn't get to your room prior to your stay.

You are quite right in thinking that you can take the 35 bus all the way from the airport to the hotel and whilst it might take a fair bit longer than a taxi it is certainly a very affordable option.
Thank you again for your review and I hope that you will choose to stay here again if you are ever back in the area.

Best Regards,
Fiona
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Address: Ocean Drive | Britannia Way, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Reception, bar and Great Room lounge are undergoing a fabulous transformation from January to early February 2018. During this time, there will be no food available and guests will receive a continental Grab & Go breakfast. We can't wait to unveil our cool new look! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, cool and convenient bedrooms and great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking (limited spaces) at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing