We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here on two non-concurrent nights over the Easter bank holiday weekend. Rooms were clean, spacious and well appointed. Staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. A problem with my second booking had effectively left me without a room over the busy weekend however the duty manager had the issue fixed and room assigned in mere moments with a smile. Whilst there is no restaurant attached to the hotel there are plenty of dining options available locally; La Favorita on Leith Walk is a favourite of mine and only a couple minutes away by car.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Captain Bork,

Thank you for this great review following your recent stay.

I am really pleased to hear that your room was clean and the staff was friendly. I am sorry that you encountered a problem with your second reservation but delighted that they were able to resolve this to your satisfaction.

I hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon so you can sample more of the fabulous restaurants in the area.

Best Regards,

Fiona
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    662
    205
    38
    9
See reviews for
278
649
32
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Seven ladies celebrating a sixtieth birthday weekend stay. We found the hotel very clean and comfortable the breakfasts were lovely, but the staff really enhanced our stay they were pleasant and helpful recommending a lovely Italian. restaurant with a 20% discount voucher, nothing was too much trouble for them from chilling our own bottles of champagne for us and providing a large table for a private breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonnehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Yvonnehannah,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our hotel to be very clean and comfortable and am so happy that you felt that our staff really enhanced you stay with their pleasant and helpful service.
I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for an overnight 06-04-2014. Staff could not have been more helpful dealing with minor issues. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast a nice extra. Would stay here again when in or near Edinburgh. Good value if pre-booked early.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Andrew Q,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you felt that our staff could not have been more helpful, that you were able to take advantage of our free wi-fi access available throughout the hotel and found our free Express Start breakfast to be a nice extra.
I’m so glad that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel and while we were there a member of our party became ill and had to be taken to hospital. The staff at the hotel were absolutely excellent, they made space for us during a very busy time and were helpful and compassionate at all times. In my opinion there is no place else to stay in Edinburgh.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Catherine M,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
I’m so glad that our staff were able to offer help, assistance and compassion during what was a very worrying time for you.
We all wish your mother a very speedy recovery and we look forward to welcoming you back in the winter.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Back again! We stay here every time we come to the Capital City. It's so friendly and convenient. Thanks to Gosia and Nicola for sorting out our muddled booking with no fuss, and to Gosia for just remembering me.
Only gripe: some guests park in the accessible parking spaces without a blue badge - AAAAGGHHH. Sorry Nicola for giving you a hard time about that and thank you for listening; I know it's not the fault of you or the staff. I'm all for making a public announcement of their registration numbers and then putting them in the (metaphorical) stocks for this act of selfish and inconsiderate boorishness.
We'll be back and we love it.

Room Tip: Smile and be polite; all the rooms seem good to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConsultantNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear ConsultantNomad,
Welcome back and thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us!
I’m delighted that you stay with us every time that you visit Edinburgh and that you found our hotel to be so friendly and convenient.
Gosia is delighted that you have mentioned her as she does epitomise the friendly manner with which all of our staff deal with all of our guests.
Nicola is also delighted that you have remembered the manner in which she dealt with your gripe about some guests ‘illegally’ parking in accessible spaces. There is of course no reason for you to apologise as we know how frustrating this can be for some guests.
We do try to keep a note of the car registration numbers of all guest cars in case we need to ask them to move to other spaces but there are occasions when a guest does not give the required information on check-in.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

a very good hotel there is a bus stop by the hotel so if you want to park car its easy to get around edinburgh. there is a shopping mall across the road and nearby restaurants which are very good especially at the shore which is a short walk away. the bedrooms are clean and spacious. staff are very helpful and friendly. the breakfast was lovely and plenty choices. you also can have a free newspaper at reception. what is not to like ?

Room Tip: the rooms are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotlandmargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear scotlandmargo,
Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted that you found our bedrooms to be clean and spacious, our staff very helpful and friendly and enjoyed our free Express Start hot buffet breakfast.
I’m glad that you were able to take advantage of our free parking so that you were able to leave your car at the hotel and use the very frequent public bus service to explore the city.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in the Hotel for two nights and the location of the Hotel is very good, very near to Sea shore and just in front of Britannia. The ambiance was classic and the bedding was warm and comfortable and so are the bathroom and bath tub. The breakfast does not have vast menu options, but good enough. Being a vegetarian I did not have much options to cheer about.
You can just get a day pass for Lothian buses (which costs 3.50£) and get into 35 number bus from Airport, and get down just in front of the Hotel. Royal Mile, City center and princess street are just 20 mins away on the bus ( bus no 25 - day pass will work here ).

Will recommend it if you are on budget and want to have a pleasant stay

Room Tip: As for the room with a view to the streets. You can watch sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anilsoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear anilsoma,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I’m so glad that you enjoyed our location with it’s easy access to the local amenities such as the Royal Yacht Britannia.
I’m delighted that felt that the ambience of the hotel was classic and that you found our bedding as well as our bathrooms to be warm and comfortable.
We do offer a wide range of items on our free Express Start breakfast buffet and I’m sory that you did not feel that we offered enough choice for vegetarians.
I’m so glad that you would recommend us to others and I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,502 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing