We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dougieb”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay the staff were very friendly and helpfull rooms nice and clean
Good location for a visit to the royal yacht which is just across the road from the hotel
Transport into city is just outside hotel very good bus service plus there is a night service for anyone wanting to stay in the city

Room Tip: We were on the forth floor and towards the rear so it was nice and quiet and we had no problems with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Doug B,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, found our team to be very friendly and helpful and your room to be nice and clean.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed our location with its easy access to the local amenities and also the city centre via the very frequent public bus service which runs from just outside the hotel.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    627
    201
    37
    9
See reviews for
267
616
30
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is the usual product from HIX with free parking, internet and breakfast. The rooms were small but well layed out and quiet. The hotel is a 10 minute bus trip from Edinburgh centre and a 5 minute walk from the Royal Yacht and shopping centre.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear J L,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay.
I'm so glad that you found your room to be well laid out and quiet and that you were able to take advantage of of our free parking and wi-fi.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location and I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. Nice, clean rooms, good temperature control, great breakfast, and convenient bus stop right outside the door. Close walking distance to Britannia, and some great restaurants nearby in the canal area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mike K,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is a no frills hotel. However with a big free car park, bus routes and a shopping and dining areas across the road it is a good alternative to city Center accommodation. One of the bonus points was the royal yacht Britannia only 3 mins walk away!!

The check in/ out is smooth. The breakfast is adequate, but not fine dining by any account!

The staff made up our room into a family room prior to arrival, they also provided us with Emergancy supply's of cotton, needle and button (small child accident).

The Indian across the road has been awarded the best in Scotland, I can see why, it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank extratowelsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Vicky J,
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay.
I'm delighted that you found your check in to be smooth, that your room had been made up as a family room prior to your arrival and that our team were able to provide you with assistance and a sewing kit.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location and also enjoyed your meal at one of the many local restaurants.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
516 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I haven't stayed often at the Holiday Inn chain, but decided on this one due to getting a reasonable midweek deal. This Holiday Inn is situated near the Ocean Terminal area,which boasts a large number of shops and the Royal Yacht Britannia. We arrived early, but it was nice to get early access to our room which was ready and were allocated room 401, which overlooks the rear car park of the premises. Check-in was good, quick and friendly. The girl on reception also informed us of a bus stop directly outside. which regularly runs a service to the City centre about 10 mins away. Cost £1.50 single. Our room was adequate if not overlay spacious. The biggest issue was a badly stained valance on the bed, however I was not in a position to raise this with the management or housekeeping due to having a prior appointment in the afternoon. The hot tap in the bathroom was also very difficult to turn off and on and my wife found it impossible to operate. The car park is pretty spacious and is free. We got a good nights sleep and no noise was heard to disturb us either from other guests or from outside. Our breakfast which is built into the cost, is not any better than basic and pretty uninspiring. Like another previous reviewer, it would appear that the Holiday Inn do not offer bacon, with the main items on offer for the cooked breakfast being one type of sausage, scrambled eggs and tomato. The quality of the orange juice was pretty poor and ours was undrinkable, but I think that was down to the dispenser appearing to be nearly empty leaving the taste being very bland. Overall, decent location, service was good at reception but I would always insist on a clean room, with the basics like fixtures and fittings, being in decent working order

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear BordersRover,
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us and for providing us with valuable feedback on your stay.
I’m so sorry that the valance on your bed was stained and that your wife found the hot tap difficult to operate. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness that we offer in our guest rooms and I’m sorry that our high standards were not present in your room. Whilst I understand that you were unable to bring these concerns to our attention during your stay I am sure that had you done so our team would have done their utmost to resolve them to your satisfaction.
As we do not have a room 401 in the hotel I have sent you a personal message so that you may provide me with further details of your stay.
I’m glad to hear that our front desk team were able to allocate you a room on your early arrival, that you found the service offered by our reception team to be good and that you enjoyed our location and I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed a week in Holiday Inn Express. It was very cosy and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is very good. There are number of buses going to the city centre so transportation is easy and cheap.
All in all,we enjoyed our trip in Edinburgh and we loved our hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arzubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Aruzubal,
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us.
I'm delighted that you found our hotel to be cosy and clean, found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our location.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh and that you loved our hotel.
I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is situated quite a way from the city centre, which makes things easier if you are driving. However, there are plenty of shops and restaurants in the nearby Ocean Terminal complex. It has the comfortable, airy and well-equipped rooms you expect from a relatively modern hotel. Breakfast is included and it helps to have sharp elbows when using the self-service buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMexpressedinburgh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear John H,
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay.
I'm delighted that you found our rooms to be comfortable, airy well equipped.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed our location and we do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Andrew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Address: Britannia Way, Ocean Drive | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6JJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront offering free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, great value rates with an inclusive buffet breakfast. Enjoy free parking at the hotel and its superb location, which is ideal for exploring this charming and fascinating city. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront is located next to Ocean Terminal, Edinburgh's newest leisure and shopping destination, the Scottish Executive, the Royal Yacht Britannia & close to all major business areas. The old port area of Edinburgh-Leith has many atmospheric bars, bistros and boutiques & is only 1.5 miles from the city centre. Alternatively you can relax and unwind in our cosy lounge bar. The Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Waterfront has good parking with 60 spaces available at the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis and there is also ample additional parking available at Ocean Terminal, opposite. There is a frequent public bus service from the front door making it an ideal location for visiting all of Edinburgh's famous attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Royal Mile, Princes Street, national museums and galleries. We are delighted to unveil our brand new bedrooms which feature a whole new look. You can enjoy modern décor, irons and ironing boards and brand new hairdryers so that you look your best. Additionally our bedrooms are now packed with even more facilities including a comfy sofa (in family rooms) with a movable table, a wall-mounted TV, USB ports and power sockets next to your bed, nifty reading lights and full-width curtains which will make the rooms even cosier. The en suite shower rooms have also been spruced up with cool, fresh decor. We can't wait for your to experience our cool new look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Leith
Leith Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing