We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow-factor”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Fantastic small (18 rooms) hotel, tucked away near Hollyrood Park. The decor is opulent, very barok but with the best of taste.
The staff is very welcoming and helpfull.
The restaurant serves great food and wonderful breakfasts.
Not cheap but for a special occasion, worth every penny.
We will go back, can't wait!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leroy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Perhaps it's because we were there on a Sunday; the fact is that the staff were absent in general and slow to serve in particular. Oh yes, friendly enough, when they were around; and yet, in the corridor, lots of them talking or doing not much. Clearly more around for themselves than for the guests.
Checking in and checking out took about 20 minutes.
Also the hotel colour is..BLACK. You can't see a thing in the evening, and the the candles are reminiscent of a funeral home.
Poky, dark, violently expensive tiny room.
Our best memroy was the highland cattle in the field outside.

Room Tip: Fork out lots and lots of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gillebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed recently at Prestonfield- we were looked after exceedingly well from the moment we set foot over the front door until we left. All staff were very friendly and efficient. Had a wonderful meal in the ruhbarb restaurant. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with excellent views. Well worth the experience offering fantastic value for money if visiting Edinburgh

Dianne and George McCran

Room Tip: Explain to Prestonfield staff what you are looking for when booking- we found them most helpful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here for Burns weekend 2012 with a few couples from work. Staff cannot do enough for you and each room deserves plenty of investigating. Would return and definitely recommend.
If your looking to treat someone this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4wardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We visited to celebrate our anniversary and booked a stay in the Churchill Suite. We had high expectations as we paid a lot of money for one night and we wanted the full-on romantic experience. In general I would say that Prestonfield met our expectations, but in just a few areas it did slightly disappoint.

The suite was beautiful, with a lounge, bedroom and 2 bathrooms, even 2 televisions! The design was very opulent, with lots of dark velvet, although I did feel that the soft furnishings were a little flat and lumpy, not plump and soft. There were a few marks on the velvet, and I did feel that some of the cushions, throws and the bedspread looked a bit dusty and shabby.

The bathrooms were very clean and nicely decorated but not especially luxurious for the price we paid. The toiletries were very nice and it was nice to have 2 separate spaces. My main issue with our room is that there is a cleaners cupboard practically in the room, the front door is right next to it, and there was a lot of banging and people coming and going which disturbed us. There were some nice touches in the room like the welcome chocolates, champagne and biscuits.

We did not eat in the restaurant at night but the breakfast was excellent. The restaurant room is probably the most beautiful space in the hotel and there was a very good selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts, pastries, muffins, etc as well as a cooked breakfast.

In terms of facilities, we used the mini golf area, had a walk around the grounds and a few drinks in the lounge , all of which we enjoyed.

The staff were varied; the staff at the door were very welcoming and polite and although the staff at reception were polite we did feel the service was quite cold and matter of fact. We had booked and stated in our emails that we were visiting for our 10th anniversary but nobody really welcomed us when we checked in or said congratulations. We weren't expecting a fuss but we did think a simple congratulations would be nice. We noticed on the check-in sheet that there were lots of 'VIP' bookings and I did notice the reception staff treating certain guests differently to others. The reception was also left unstaffed at times and we had to hunt for staff then wait 10 minutes for someone to come when we wanted to check out. There was also a large coach group visiting the building on the hotel grounds and the staff seemed pre-occupied with this group.

Overall I would say that we did enjoy our stay but the hotel did slightly lack the personal touch that you would expect at this level. We would possibly return if there was a special offer on the rooms, but not at the full price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank space4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed for one night on Saturday 3rd December. The room was beautifully furnished with a lovely big bathroom and views of the grounds.
The meal was delicious with excellent service throughout.
We couldn't fault anything and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sc2001a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Spent one night here between Christmas & New Year. Rooms are very ornate, padded fabric walls, heavy curtains, lots of dark paintwork. Staff pleasant, waiters & doormen in full kilt outfit.Food was delicious, had gone for the DBB deal so did not try a la carte. Full scottish breakfast with plenty of choice. Would return again, will look out for deals as it can be expensive.

Room Tip: Sure all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puffingirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,003 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £164 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing