We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Prestonfield takes you back to Edwardian, Scotland and a Downtown Abbey like world of dinner parties and strolls on the lawn among peacocks. It is a lovely peaceful oasis away from the center of the city. Not the hotel, for you, if you want to be in the thick of things, but only a ten minute cab ride to the main attractions....so if you want to retreat it is a lovely option. There is a golf course for those who want to play and although, I wasn't able to sample it, one of the best restaurants in Edinburgh.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was incredibly helpful. When they were sold out and I wanted to extend my stay. They found a room at their sister hotel and did it with incredible grace and charm. I also loved chatting with the doorman as I learned the history of the hotels peacocks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenorenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

have stayed at prestonfield before and was just as impressed on our 2nd visit. Getting married here later this year so were visiting to choose our menu so thought we'd make the most of it and stay overnight. Food was excellent, as were all the wines and champagne we tried. Staff were very attentitive and friendly. Room was excellent in that ever so opulent Prestonfield way.

Both visits we had a bottle of champagne included in the price of room and neither time have we had this. I dont know if you have to request and they bring it to your room. On both occasions we were not bothered about it, particularly our recent stay as we had so much alcohol during our menu tasting meal!

Definitely recommend it. Hotel grounds are very nice but the hotel is some distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel is a wonderful treat, the staff were excellent and Jenny was lovely always had a smile and nothing was to much trouble, the rooms were beautiful and we met other family members there and we all had a lovely day, there was a great choice at breakfast and the staff looked after us very well, although I think William needed a medal when we arrived as our car gave him a challenge !!The gardens are wonderfu.l for pictures Thank you all for making our stay and our celebration a memorable one.

Room Tip: check out prices on their web and other sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeybee495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We enjoyed a couple of nights at the fabulous Prestonfield in between Christmas and NewYear. The hotel is a great hideaway in winter and we were thrilled to get back to the roaring fire and welcoming staff after a day visiting Edinburgh in the drizzle! the fact that the hotel is slightly out of town was not a problem and the Edinburgh taxi drivers are always an entertaining ride! We particularly enjoyed the Restaurant Rhubarb and the opulent decor throughout the hotel. Our corner room on the ground floor overlooking the golf course was spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelleEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Deliberated over where to spend my wedding night in Edinburgh and plumped for The Prestonfield as we had been for a birthday dinner and were treated exceptionally well. We booked a room with DB & B for £195 as this was a special occasion.We arrived at the hotel just after being married and although congratulated we were not made to feel at all special no-one offered us champagne or any sort of real welcome although the very young male receptionist made comment about my choice of wedding dress which I found was quite rude and pointless. We were shown to our room and we decided to enjoy a couple of drinks in the leather room which was pleasant in front of the roaring fire. The meal at Rhubarb was very nice we then had drinks in the Tapestry Room. Breakfast was very good but as we were flying out early we were The only guests in the dining room in the morning.We did enjoy our stay but we felt the staff missed out on huge selling opportunity we were there to celebrate our wedding day but were treated like any other guests.The staff are predominantly young males who although very keen are very inexperienced in social situations and etiquette some training is definitely required. I wish I had chosen Chester Residence over The Prestonfield but I will know better when celebrating our anniversary.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HGCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

From the second we arrived the staff were so friendly and helpful. We stayed in a suite which was stunning along with the rest of the hotel. We ate in the restaurant which again was fantastic. This is a great place for a get away and a treat, loved every second!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

When you book Prestonfield you know it is not cheap but even so the cost can be a real issue if the accommodation, staff or meals are not quite what they should be. Basically no one likes being taken for a ride. From the minute we arrived through to our departure two nights later we could not have asked for better quality in our room from the staff or in the meals and service. Do not expect a swimming pool or fitness facilities, it is not that type of hotel. Do expect, and you will receive total personal service, staff for whom nothing is too much and excellent food. It would be wrong to pick out any individual members of staff because they were all so good.
If you are looking for a quality, qiuet place where you are exceedingly well looked after then this could be for you.

Room Tip: Remember what this hotel provides and what it doesn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrySSway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,885 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £183 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing