We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury like it used to be”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Luxury like it used to be”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

A lovely hotel within lovely grounds, however you do pay for it! This hotel accommodated our wedding group along with I believe 2 other weddings at the same time and you would not even have known anyone else was there! We had some allocated staff for the evening and they were on hand the whole time, really great service. The welcome on arrival at the desk was also first class and they were in general really helpful for our whole stay.

The only downsides for us were - on arrival, we parked quite a way from the hotel, and had to wander over to reception - there didn't seem to be somewhere we could leave the car for a few minutes anywhere closer, he Sunday morning breakfast staff were no-where near as attentive as all the others we had come across. Also no gym (or anywhere for a massage!) - just a track around the grounds you could follow if you wanted a run (but as a fair weather runner - I didn't fancy it!) as it was pouring.

The rooms are all unique - really lovely looking, old fashioned (= character) but lighting wasn't brilliant in the few rooms of ours or friends we saw, sadly, so I did have to crouch by the window to do make-up. The fab touch of a bottle of champagne each morning was lovely, however a shame we didnt get a refresh on the home made biccies (which got demolished in about two seconds flat on our arrival!).

Would recommend the hotel most certainly - just have to save up to visit as it's not cheap!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have bathtubs, so make sure you say you want one if you do. We had a double shower in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzy360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    121
    39
    20
    13
See reviews for
185
634
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Fabulous location a stones throw from the centre of Edinburgh. You could easily imagine you are in the Scottish countryside with spacious grounds complete with resident Heiland coos and peacocks. The house is sumptuous inside with every room like a lavish theatre set. Take your camera. The high tea is on a par with the more expensive Balmoral Hotel. The location has the edge for me buts thats my personal choice. Both tasty delights and both recomended. This is my new favourit place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudgesmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Prestonfield takes you back to Edwardian, Scotland and a Downtown Abbey like world of dinner parties and strolls on the lawn among peacocks. It is a lovely peaceful oasis away from the center of the city. Not the hotel, for you, if you want to be in the thick of things, but only a ten minute cab ride to the main attractions....so if you want to retreat it is a lovely option. There is a golf course for those who want to play and although, I wasn't able to sample it, one of the best restaurants in Edinburgh.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was incredibly helpful. When they were sold out and I wanted to extend my stay. They found a room at their sister hotel and did it with incredible grace and charm. I also loved chatting with the doorman as I learned the history of the hotels peacocks.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenorenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

have stayed at prestonfield before and was just as impressed on our 2nd visit. Getting married here later this year so were visiting to choose our menu so thought we'd make the most of it and stay overnight. Food was excellent, as were all the wines and champagne we tried. Staff were very attentitive and friendly. Room was excellent in that ever so opulent Prestonfield way.

Both visits we had a bottle of champagne included in the price of room and neither time have we had this. I dont know if you have to request and they bring it to your room. On both occasions we were not bothered about it, particularly our recent stay as we had so much alcohol during our menu tasting meal!

Definitely recommend it. Hotel grounds are very nice but the hotel is some distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel is a wonderful treat, the staff were excellent and Jenny was lovely always had a smile and nothing was to much trouble, the rooms were beautiful and we met other family members there and we all had a lovely day, there was a great choice at breakfast and the staff looked after us very well, although I think William needed a medal when we arrived as our car gave him a challenge !!The gardens are wonderfu.l for pictures Thank you all for making our stay and our celebration a memorable one.

Room Tip: check out prices on their web and other sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybee495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We enjoyed a couple of nights at the fabulous Prestonfield in between Christmas and NewYear. The hotel is a great hideaway in winter and we were thrilled to get back to the roaring fire and welcoming staff after a day visiting Edinburgh in the drizzle! the fact that the hotel is slightly out of town was not a problem and the Edinburgh taxi drivers are always an entertaining ride! We particularly enjoyed the Restaurant Rhubarb and the opulent decor throughout the hotel. Our corner room on the ground floor overlooking the golf course was spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelleEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Deliberated over where to spend my wedding night in Edinburgh and plumped for The Prestonfield as we had been for a birthday dinner and were treated exceptionally well. We booked a room with DB & B for £195 as this was a special occasion.We arrived at the hotel just after being married and although congratulated we were not made to feel at all special no-one offered us champagne or any sort of real welcome although the very young male receptionist made comment about my choice of wedding dress which I found was quite rude and pointless. We were shown to our room and we decided to enjoy a couple of drinks in the leather room which was pleasant in front of the roaring fire. The meal at Rhubarb was very nice we then had drinks in the Tapestry Room. Breakfast was very good but as we were flying out early we were The only guests in the dining room in the morning.We did enjoy our stay but we felt the staff missed out on huge selling opportunity we were there to celebrate our wedding day but were treated like any other guests.The staff are predominantly young males who although very keen are very inexperienced in social situations and etiquette some training is definitely required. I wish I had chosen Chester Residence over The Prestonfield but I will know better when celebrating our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HGCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
965 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 148 in Edinburgh
573 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing