We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous!”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Wonderful location and yet so near to the city centre. Wow factor from the moment you enter the gates. Cosy feeling with no pretentions. Excellent food and service. No guilt feelings because there is no swimming pool or spa or gym! Best hotel we have ever stayed in and that's coming from someone who was a hotelier!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at the Prestonfield for 5 days last August and returned for a week this year. The hotel is well situated only a short £5-10 taxi ride from the city centre.The driveway leads to a an impressive building set in beautiful grounds. There are peacocks on the lawn and Highland cows in an adjacent field with a golf course on one side and an impressive hill as a backdrop.

The staff are all pleasant, respectful and very helpful. The decor is opulent and has a calming effect. All furniture is very comfortable and well set out in the public rooms. The beds and pillows are wonderful. The bedrooms all have a large cabinet housing a TV, entertainment centre, air conditioning controls and a well stocked mini bar. Every day room service includes a bottle of exclusive Prestonfield Champagne.

The extensive breakfast menu offers a very wide choice and the cooked options are excellent. The food and service offered in the Rhubarb restaurant are superb.

We used the hotel as a base to visit the Fringe Festival . The hotel had a relaxing effect and we will definitely book again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRF785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My husband and i arrived to a welcome as warm as the lovely sunny day outside. We had our luggage taken from us and taken to our room and we were shown around by extremely knowledgeable staff, all equally knowledgeable about the history of the house and its contents.
We were shown to our beautiful room, which was actually a suite , where iced champagne , cookies , chocs and fruit awaited us. We enjoyed a fantastic afternoon tea, and a lovely evening meal and on all accounts, the staff couldnt have done more! We enjoyed lovely walks around the grounds including the summer house and was joined by the resident peacock ( peter) for a while.
Before we retired , our bed was turned down and slippers laid out (which you can keep).
The following morning after an amazing nights sleep, we enjoyed a hearty breakfast with an
extensive menu.
My only complaint, we couldnt stay longer!!!!!!!!
Thank you Prestonfield xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Only went for the High Tea, or the Afternoon Tea as it is called here. Well, if you haven't had a 4 o'clock tea here, you've never had a British tea! Brings you back to other times, long before online social networking times. And feels reallea good!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We went to Prestonfield House Hotel for Afternoon Tea. As we approached the hotel we were greeted by a peacock....yes a live one, preening itself in the garden! lol I loved the placed straight away.

The afternoon tea is a definite if you have a sweet tooth as the cakes and sweet treats are delightful. The only downfall is you do not get enough sandwiches. I felt like Marie Antoinette sipping on a goblet of Mai Tai and shouting "let them eat cake"! (this was just an inny thought)

The cocktails are amazing! Actually amazing! The flavours were wonderful and I was rather giddy!

The staff are pleasant and attentive and some of them were dressed in kilts which always adds a little something extra.

I could not recommend this place highly enough.

Beautiful....it's like having tea with the queen!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I visited Prestonfield on Saturday (28th) with my boyfriend and his family to celebrate his Grans birthday. We booked in advance, having wanted to take her somewhere extra special and. We were welcomed at the door by a very friendly and helpful staff member who kindly took our coats and our flowers and showed us upstairs - due to the typical 4-seasons-in-one-day Scottish weather were seated in the Tapestry room rather than in the garden. We were left to get comfortable and have a look at the menu, before our order was taken. The service was unhurried (a positive!) and very friendly. Our teas arrived and the afternoon tea shortly after - an absolutely beautiful selection of sandwiches, savouries, scones and cakes. We were sat on sofas, using a large leather pouffe - which made things a little tricky as there was not a great deal of space so we each had to take turns as server and be extra careful with our tea! However, the surroundings were beautiful - very opulent and cosy. We were right next to a fireplace which would be even more amazing in the winter months.

I had never visited Prestonfield before, nor had i heard of it before we booked. We initially looked at the Caley for tea but thank goodness it's under reservation or we never would have found this gem! At £18 per person the afternoon tea is very reasonable - particularly for the standard of service and the execution of the food on offer. A really enjoyable day - and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JAG312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We visited again recently and had an excellent lunch at this fantastic hotel. We were running late but this was not an issue for the extremely helpful and very attentive staff. We were given a good table in one of the 2 sections of the main restaurant. Really cosy decor and furniture that sets off The atmosphere really well. Good A La Carte and Table d'hôte menus with plenty of choice. We had a delicious set of starters that were well presented and in the right quantity. The range of breads on offer were good also. The main courses we chose were superb -perfectly cooked, well presented and served with plenty of fresh seasonal vegetables. The puddings were delicious also. A good wine list with plenty of choice of wine by the bottle, half-bottle and glass. Not inexpensive but well worth the costs for good service, delicious food, ambiance and overall a fantastic experience. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,918 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
655 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,416 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £185 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing