We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but....”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Prestonfield House Hotel overnight 2nd/3rd October 2012 as a treat for my wife’s 40th birthday. The hotel is set in lovely well kept grounds and we received a warm welcome at the door. Check in was smooth and the receptionist showed us to our suite, the Allan Ramsay suite.

We had a bedroom with a four poster bed, a living room and two bathrooms. The décor was different and eccentric but very warm and welcoming with some nice decorative touches. The suite really was fantastic and our champagne was on ice in the living room upon our arrival. My only criticism was that the battery cover on the TV remote wouldn’t fit properly which was mildly irritating but no big deal.

After our champagne we went down for dinner but first had a drink in one of the several public rooms. I forget the name of the room we had our pre-dinner drink in but it was upstairs and sumptuously decorated. Dinner in the Rhubarb Restaurant was excellent: the food was superb and the service was slick and discrete. Those points coupled with atmosphere and ambiance of the restaurant made for a very pleasant dining experience.

We then had cocktails in the Yellow Room made for us by Brian who was chatty and welcoming. The cocktails were excellent and went down a treat.

Breakfast was where the hotel let itself down. The food was good but the service was lackadaisical to say the least. The two young chaps serving (possibly Ken and Gareth?) appeared to be out of their depth in an establishment such as this one. There were certainly some training issues which need to be addressed. I have to say though, the female on duty seemed more switched on and seemed to be doing her best to cover for the shortcomings of her male colleagues. Our hot breakfasts took a quite a while to arrive but as I’ve said, the food was of a decent standard and we both enjoyed what we had.

There was an older couple on a table near to us and one of them asked for a boiled egg which arrived rolling around in a ramekin! Rightly so, the lady requested an egg cup which the egg should have arrived in in the first place. The juice on the cold buffet also was allowed to run out and another guest asked that they be filled up. When one of the male waiters eventually arrived with full jugs of fruit juice, the guest was asked quite abruptly “what juice was it you were after?” Not the phrasing I would deem suitable in a hotel of this standard.

Lastly, I asked for a fresh jug of coffee. 10 – 15 minutes later when it hadn’t arrived I asked the waiter if it was coming whereupon it was quite obvious by his reaction, he had forgotten about my request.

I would have given the hotel 5/5 had it not been for the shoddy service at breakfast. As it is, the breakfast service took the shine off what was an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thebiggfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

What a lovely evening from the warm friendly greeting leading to the wow factor of the glamorous decor we were not disappointed. The food was utterly delicious served by Gareth who was wonderfully professional and attentive to our every need, faultless performance!
Our only tiny gripe was being sat next to jeans and trainer what a shame and the coffee was rather wishywashy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Have just returned from this lovely hotel. On arrival it was late afternoon and everywhere looked really welcoming (I'd hate to be the person who gets the daily job of lighting all the tea lights!). To be welcomed by handsome men in kilts certainly made it all feel very Scottish. The room was very nice, very tasteful, even Colefax & Fowler wallpaper on the ceiling (now that's extravagent!) through to lovely toiletries in the bathroom (use your finger to get the thick conditioner out, there's no other way!). The Hendricks G&T with cucumber (three to be precise!) felt very decadent. We ate at the Wardorf Astoria, but next time will try Rhubarb. The breakfast was huge and really nicely prepared. The young man on Saturday morning who greeted us, what a lovely chap, so friendly and professional. We walked in the grounds and saw the peacocks and Highland cattle. Its all very quiet, very relaxing and we didn't hear anyone banging doors or walking in corridors at night which suited us! . We would definitely stay again; fortunately my husband's company paid for this trip so a real treat. If I am nit picking I'd probably say the three things which are not 5 star are:- the toilet roll!! Sorry it's not Andrex, a bit too scratchy for my tender bottom!!! The hairdrier was rubbish, luckily I have short hair, otherwise it'd be nightmare if in a rush and the last thing, we loved the champagne, but the champagne glasses had thick rims which didn't quite go together, good quality champagne warrants good quality glasses really. So, all in all, a lovely break, lovely setting, a very very friendly hotel and highly recommended for a stay in this beautiful city. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legaljulie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We visited the Preston field hotel on the 9th of September with another couple who had stayed here before! We booked a suite which we found to be totally cluttered, once we took all the pillows off the bed you could not move around the room! And spent most of the time looking for my things! We left behind a Louis Vuitton coat hanger which was part of our luggage set! When we got home the next day we realised we had left it and phoned the hotel straight away, the staff were unhelpful,disinterested in our problem! We felt as though the staff were very attentive whilst we were spending lots of money!! So overall very dissatisfied with the after care customer service, Don't know What happened to the coat hanger??? I feel that there are better value for money hotels in the centre of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Think the suites are over priced!! So check out standard rooms and remember don't leave anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angela_kelly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I have eaten at Prestonfield many times over the years but never stayed here. Having to find somewhere for a last minute trip to Edinburgh, we booked a standard room at short notice for one night. Room was a good size with a large bed - very comfortable and good bedding. Very peaceful place and good nights sleep. Breakfast was plentiful although service by one member of the service staff was a bit amusing. He really was embracing the image of a dour scot! But the staff mainly are very friendly and helpful and will do anything to help you.

The hotel architecture is lovely but the decor is not really to my taste. Too theatrical, crushed red velvet and lovey for me. But based on comfort and location and nice staff - we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

After trying the afternoon tea experience in London, I wanted to repeat it in Edinburgh. So we booked our afternoon tea at Prestonfield... and we were left speechless! Prestonfield house is absolutely beautiful, both outside, with a large, polished garden (inhabited by a peacock), and inside, with its luxurious interiors. Every room we crossed was charming and made us feel like we were in a movie - just have a look at the ladies' room to know what I mean! The staff was super-attentive and made our experience memorable. Last but not least, of course, the tea itself - both the food and the tea were delicious and offered in large quantity - so much that we didn't need to have dinner afterwards! In conclusion, the afternoon tea experience in Edinburgh was not inferior at all to that in London... and it was even cheaper.
A wonderful experience: we felt like we were in a fairy tale - thanks Prestonfield!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank InItinere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had the most amazing wedding at Prestonfield on 29 September. The venue is so dramatic and luxurious, the staff welcoming and attentive but also discreet - giving us the freedom to have the relaxed and fun party we wanted. The food and wine were delicious too. Perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,878 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
635 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £180 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing