We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #3 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
livingston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“luxury”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here for anniversary and it was 5 star luxury from pulling up in the car to leaving. Rhubarb restaurant for a meal is first class. Rooms are wonderful and staff are very helpful and friendly. Lovely lounge for enjoying cocktails before and after dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linlin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    121
    39
    20
    13
See reviews for
185
635
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I absolutely adore Prestonfield House and everything about it from the picturesque grounds to the stunningly beautiful suites and rooms to the mouth watering food and exceptional high service the staff and team display. It is my idea of heaven at the most beautiful boutique hotel in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We chose the Prestonfield Hotel for my wife's birthday celebration.
We were not disappointed!
From the minute we walked through the door, we were cared for in meticulous fashion.
Our waiter for the night was Gareth who had an excellent balance of politeness and humour.
This hotel is the best Edinburgh has to offer and we have been to many.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Prestonfield on 8th Oct to celebrate our anniversary and we were thrilled with this hotel and the service the staff provided! We could not fault one single thing, and feel this hotel most certainly deserves to be the top hotel in Edinburgh! Our room....17.....was at the back of the hotel and had the most fantastic views up to Arthur's Seat, and out over the golf course. The room was beautiful with sumptuous furnishings and a nice bottle of champagne on ice awaited our arrival. The staff were outstanding....Ian, the Manager, was brilliant, and gave us a guided tour of the hotel, and Brian was fab when we asked him to help us chose some wine to go with our meal. He was spot on with his recommendation!! The food was wonderful....both the evening meal in Rhubarb, and our full-Scottish in the morning! We had the most wonderful time, and have just booked to go back in December! Cannot wait!

Room Tip: Room 17 at the back of the hotel was nice and quiet, and with double aspect windows, had the most be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnetteTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

One word to describe this hotel fabulous !!!!!! The staff especially Jenny and Stuart were very helpful we had a lovely relaxing time........ Just what we needed sadly Cinderella has to go back to reality now...... We will return and I can't wait.....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KissingDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

A friend of mine told us about Prestonfield House. It was extremely friendly from the arrival to departure. The room was interestingly appointed and the grounds were beautiful. The staff, including the diningroom, did everything they could to meet our needs. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Edinburgh. It is the real Scottish experience for Americans.

Room Tip: With only 23 rooms (and we got the last one) they all have to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Prestonfield House Hotel overnight 2nd/3rd October 2012 as a treat for my wife’s 40th birthday. The hotel is set in lovely well kept grounds and we received a warm welcome at the door. Check in was smooth and the receptionist showed us to our suite, the Allan Ramsay suite.

We had a bedroom with a four poster bed, a living room and two bathrooms. The décor was different and eccentric but very warm and welcoming with some nice decorative touches. The suite really was fantastic and our champagne was on ice in the living room upon our arrival. My only criticism was that the battery cover on the TV remote wouldn’t fit properly which was mildly irritating but no big deal.

After our champagne we went down for dinner but first had a drink in one of the several public rooms. I forget the name of the room we had our pre-dinner drink in but it was upstairs and sumptuously decorated. Dinner in the Rhubarb Restaurant was excellent: the food was superb and the service was slick and discrete. Those points coupled with atmosphere and ambiance of the restaurant made for a very pleasant dining experience.

We then had cocktails in the Yellow Room made for us by Brian who was chatty and welcoming. The cocktails were excellent and went down a treat.

Breakfast was where the hotel let itself down. The food was good but the service was lackadaisical to say the least. The two young chaps serving (possibly Ken and Gareth?) appeared to be out of their depth in an establishment such as this one. There were certainly some training issues which need to be addressed. I have to say though, the female on duty seemed more switched on and seemed to be doing her best to cover for the shortcomings of her male colleagues. Our hot breakfasts took a quite a while to arrive but as I’ve said, the food was of a decent standard and we both enjoyed what we had.

There was an older couple on a table near to us and one of them asked for a boiled egg which arrived rolling around in a ramekin! Rightly so, the lady requested an egg cup which the egg should have arrived in in the first place. The juice on the cold buffet also was allowed to run out and another guest asked that they be filled up. When one of the male waiters eventually arrived with full jugs of fruit juice, the guest was asked quite abruptly “what juice was it you were after?” Not the phrasing I would deem suitable in a hotel of this standard.

Lastly, I asked for a fresh jug of coffee. 10 – 15 minutes later when it hadn’t arrived I asked the waiter if it was coming whereupon it was quite obvious by his reaction, he had forgotten about my request.

I would have given the hotel 5/5 had it not been for the shoddy service at breakfast. As it is, the breakfast service took the shine off what was an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebiggfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 148 in Edinburgh
575 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing