We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five star PLUS”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Fantastic. Suite was wonderful. Staff could not have been better. Quiet. Great location. I might come back to Edinburgh just to stay here. A/C!!!! Wonderful breakfast. Duck eggs benedict.
Compared to other top hotel is a bargain

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We found this to be a great hotel, just outside Edinburgh in a beautiful location. The service was excellent and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. We enjoyed walking in the grounds, the excellent meal in Rhubarb and the first class cream teas and bar food. A great way to visit Edinburgh only a 10 minute drive from the centre but with all the tranqility that the inner city lacks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The bedroom was a decent size with an eclectic mix of furniture. Bose sound system and large television. Bathroom has an overbath shower. The bath was fairly tall so not the easiest to get in and out of the bath for a shower. Good selection of toiletries.

We stayed 2 nights, we only had dinner in the hotel on the second night.

I had the cooked breakfast on the first morning (excluding the fruit pudding and Portobello mushrooms). I have to say that the breakfast appears to go for quantity rather than quality – why have black pudding, fruit pudding and haggis along with the rest of a traditional Scottish breakfast. The sausage has to be one of the worst I have tasted – very soapy. The scrambled eggs that were on the firm side.

The dinner was a disappointment; food was underseasoned and cold.

Second morning asked for soft scrambled egg and bacon. Again the same hard scrambled egg but this time very over seasoned.

Generally the staff were very attentive, the only exception being the receptionist. When trying to book a table for dinner on the second night she left us waiting while she went off with another member of staff. We had to go looking for someone else to book a time for dinner.

The score would have been a 4 if not for the food.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kritikos-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Prestonfield for our 30th Wedding Anniversary and when we arrived we were upgraded to the Benjamin Franklin Suite with a complimentary bottle of Champagne which was a real surprise. The staff were exceptional especially Jenny.
The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast.

Already saving for our return visit in 30 years time!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed a week at Prestonfield House during the first week in August. We booked two rooms for us and for my daughter and her husband. It was a welcomed relief to leave the city just minutes away and retire to the elegant surrounding of Prestonfield House. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were elegantly decorated so you felt you were truly in Scotland at a Country Manor house. The dining was excellent with a great variety of very fresh fruits and vegetables. They even had gluten free bread. The staff were knowledgable, competent and accommodating. They assisted me for at least a month prior to our visit with information and planning of the trip We were able to make the best of our short visit with their assistance. They recommended Rabbies Tours, which was an excellent choice, as well as restaurants and best times to scale Arthur's Seat. I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor that looked out at Arthur's seat on one side and the golf cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasexpatDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

After walking around the streets of Edinburgh literally all day-this is a Haven! What an exceptional treat - wake-up to a magnificent breakfast with a renovated Stable in the background and gorgeous peacocks strutting trough the manicured gardens. The suites are actually quite large for European standards, especially being in a Late 1600's Scottish Manor; decorated like an elegant bawdy boudoir; 4 poster bed and red velvet; indeed, surprising- tastefully done. If you are looking for a respite from a hectic day-or a romantic hideaway this is THE answer! Simply a magnificent boutique - Best choice in town. Beats the Balmoral hands down!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing towards the golf grounds in the rear of the house addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A beautiful location - you feel away from the whirl of Edinburgh in a green oasis but actually you are a 10 minute and £10 taxi drive away from the heart of the city. Beautiful grounds - wedding parties seem to love it. Interior is completely over the top - quite wonderful and quirky - but a few signs of aging and hoping they maintain things/ replace times that are looking well used. LOTS of staff - helpful - if you ask question and they don't know they find out and come back to you - just very welcoming and it seems genuine. Breakfast excellent. Good storage in bedrooms and room size is generous. A few niggles that could easily be rectified - few hangers for 2 people. Bathroom design poor. Very deep roll top bath - you have to step over the deep sides to use bath or over shower - not easy and no hand rail. Where are the Scottish made toiletries - instead something truly disgusting from San Francisco - the body lotion I removed as it reeked of medicinal herbs - overpowering for either gender and more to the point not promoting local products. Went down for a drink before ordering dinner and this threw staff into confusion - the idea of a pre dinner drink and ordering meal whilst doing so just isn't something they seemed geared to offer or cope with well. We had to chase drinks and gulp down as they wanted us at our table - didn't bother night 2. Evening meal first night at 8.30pm - butter a solid hard lump and Table D'hôte mixed quality - desserts poor. Next night ate early and different all round and good value at £33 for 3 courses on Table D'hôte. But all that said would without doubt highly recommend the hotel and the experience you have - you feel special and very relaxed but with every opportunity to take advantage of all the bustle Edinburgh has to offer especially during the Festival/ Fringe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,888 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,400 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £182 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing