We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My girlfriend and I have just had a couple of days at the Prestonfield, and were immensely impressed. We've been fortunate enough to stay in the best reviewed hotels in London, York and Paris (none of which are the Ritz as the mad old fuddy duddy below seems to think) and this ranked comfortably alongside them!

The staff were wonderful, answering all of our requests happily. I even asked to borrow and hdmi cable to plug my laptop into the TV, and we returned to our room to find one. Real 5 star hotel staff definitely don't need luggage carts.

The hotel is beautiful too; a real treat for fans of boutique stays like my girlfriend. Needless to say, the Prestonfield is highly recommended in our books.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PervySage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    120
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
184
629
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Firstly be aware that this review if for the hotel and not for the Rhubarb restaurant, which is of significant quality.
We decided to stay at this hotel having attended a gala ball and found it the most disappointing experience. I could only advise that if you are looking for a truly remarkable hotel in Edinburgh, save yourself the heartsink and stay at a proper 5 star hotel, book The Balmoral.
The staff were not approachable and appeared simply pretentious.
There was nobody to receive our car on arrival and we had to actually request help with our bags, otherwise they were happy to let us trail all the way down to the reception at the end of a long corridor by ourselves.
When dearest husband commented to the staff member carrying the bags that he could do with a hotel trolley, we were met with a scowl and a belittling comment stating that "proper 5 star hotels would never use trolleys!". Obviously the young and inexperienced man has never worked (and never mind stayed) in the likes of the Ritz London or the Cipriani in Venice (where I have seen birdcage trolleys about).
The room was small and badly illuminated. No space to walk around at all. The only redeeming feature was the wonderful view of the beautiful grounds.
We had requested a feather-free room and the request was not fulfilled, we had to insist on a change of bedding on arrival.
The toiletries were from "Essentiel Elements" and frankly the smell was overpowering. Having a frank distaste for minty smell and being an allergic dermatitis sufferer I asked for an alternative having explained my allergies. The receptionist told me that "unfortunately they could not offer me any alternative and I would have to use the toiletries offered" in the most unsympathetic manner (thank Goodness for my emergency Jo Malone kit!).
The bathroom was also small and nothing out of this world, no separate shower and a very plain bath.
Breakfast in bed was nice and the duck Eggs Benedict were nicely prepared.
Please also note that if you are not travelling by car this hotel is not exactly close to the city centre or other attractions.
The hotel pretends to be lavish and is decorated in a grand fashion but unfortunately they are in dire need of a lesson in hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CCP1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East .UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and could happily have stayed longer . Great location , very peaceful and quiet after the buzz of Edinburgh centre during the festival .Our suite was very elegant and very comfortable , especially sipping the champagne and feasting on the homemade biscuits and truffles . The staff were extremely helpful and friendly . The food was fantastic both at breakfast and in the restaurant " Rhubarb " . We had dinner one evening in the beautiful and romantic opera box type room , just made for two and it was lovely .This must go to the top of your list of special places to stay , we will deffinately return .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarratt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was fortunate to be invited to a lavish wedding ceremony at Prestonfield House and a very polished affair it was too. The Hotel is a 17th century building and former home of the Lord Provost. It lies a 15 mins taxi ride from central Edinburgh, is embedded in a golf course and with more recent additions it is now a 23-bedroom "boutique" (their word not mine!) 5* luxury, spa-free hotel. And while the grounds, the staff and the ambiance are delightfully Scottish Country House and ooze comfort our stay was punctuated by a poor dinner at their Rhubarb restaurant (fully and gracefully reimbursed I should add) which was all that could deny it a 5-stars rating.
The Stables - a kind of big-top in a rotunda, housed the wedding reception swallowing 265 guests with ease and they too scored very highly on all fronts.
Likes: cosiness, endless whisky varieties, well-stocked wine list, multiple bars and hidden drinkeries, friendly staff, my eggs benedict breakfast at Rhubarb
Dislikes: dark rooms, price, my lamb dinner at Rhubarb

Room Tip: Suites are expensive and the two rooms are small - our deluxe room was larger and ample at a lower p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Went with my wife and friends to Rhubarb for Sunday/Birthday Lunch. Was looking forward to Chateaubriand but they had sold out ! Roast dinner was excellent as was service and ambience. The freshly made tart for dessert was awesome. Highly recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blancolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at Prestonfield for a few nights last Christmas. The positive points were the general friendliness of the staff, especially the local ones. The quirkiness of the bedrooms. The quality of the food, especially some of the best venison I have ever eaten. The general appearance and ambience of the hotel and the lovely sitting rooms and fires.
However there were a couple of problems that for this quality hotel and the price paid, should not occur.
After dinner drinks were served in lovely rooms by friendly East European staff, who were really slow in bringing the drinks and on every night got my drink wrong. At least I hope it was an error and not by design to bring a small whiskey, when each night I ordered a large one.
Also Christmas lunch was a major disappointment. Roast turkey ? No, I am afraid it was boil in the bag, or as modern chefs like to say 'waterbath', same thing to me and producing a grey tasteless piece of meat. I did mention this the next day to the very pleasant young lady at the main reception desk, who in turn passed my comment on to the chef. The answer was that if he had more ovens he would roast the turkey, probably quite true but one for the proprietor to consider. It is only these 2 points that do not allow me to give the hotel the 'excellent' rating that everything else deserved.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandria, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Delicious place to spend few days close to the heart of Edimburgh but far from the traffic.

The atmosphere you inspire is surreal. The charm and the elegant ambients are idea for a romantic escape.

The purple tissue and the low light, are perfect for a whisky in front of the chimney.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giacomo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing