We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Show, did not stay at the Inn”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very nice Show, did not stay at the Inn”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We went on a bus tour in 9-13 and one of the optional tours was The Best Show in Scotland at the Prestonfield inn. There is a separate hall, from the Inn, but still on the lovely grounds. We were welcomed by a bagpiper. The show included soup (delicious), superb lamb dinner and a decadent dessert. Mom had chicken, also delicious. The show was about 3 hours, with a short intermission. Lots of wonderful singing and dancing. They also had a tribute to the Haggis and then everyone could enjoy a taste of Haggis. I actually enjoyed it, despite knowing what is was and ate both mine and Moms. It reminded me of the Black Pudding that you get in Ireland and Scotland. Tables were a little cramped, but there were a few empty tables so you were able to move around and take pictures. The hall was not at all elegant, like the Inn is - I looked at pictures here on Tripadvisor, but your really not there for the ambiance. The staff were very hardworking. I got the impression that a number of them were foreigners. Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dad414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    120
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
184
629
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed six nights at Prestonfield House while visiting Edinburgh and surrounding areas. Our first floor corner room was large, sumptuous and very comfortable. One receives a complimentary bottle of champagne, bottled water, nightly cookies and chocolates. The staff was very congenial. Breakfast in the Rhubarb restaurant offered wonderful choices of local produce. All the public rooms are decorated with interesting furniture and art. Our dinner one evening in a small private dining room was delicious. The outside of the house features some gardens, large trees and peacocks. The reception of the free wifi is a bit problematic. Because the hotel is about a 10 minute taxi ride from the center of town, it is a little out of the way if one does not have transportation readily available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at Prestonfield for our wedding anniversary, and had a fabulous time. Our double room was upgraded to a suite, which wasn't huge but was gorgeous and wonderfully decorated, we had a bottle of champagne, apples, and cookies in our room, and nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff. They helped us with arranging a special food delivery, with getting our luggage from the hotel to town so we could walk there, finding the items we left behind and getting them to us.. The breakfast was delicious (they even have vegetarian haggis available) and served in the room for no extra charge, generally no hidden extras, beautiful building and grounds, great service, would definitely recommend for a lovely treat

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over Europe
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Prestonfield while attending the Tattoo and were both awestruck and impressed with it. It is not a decor for everyone's taste - staying in the 'owner's suite' is basically like stepping in a time machine and going back in time 200 years - velvet curtains, four poster tub, dark humungous pieces of furniture, back and white pictures and little letters of invitation from the queen to different members of the family. Best described as Harry Potter meets Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Jonny Depp style). The service is good, though not what you would expect for the price of hotel - small things such as having to ask for the bill during the afternoon tea several times, rather impersonal as well. Location is also fair, but not great - it is a 25-30 minute walk into town which is good for a leg stretch but not exactly convenient if you just want to zip out. We would certainly stay here again, but would try one of the regular rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTestDummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My girlfriend and I have just had a couple of days at the Prestonfield, and were immensely impressed. We've been fortunate enough to stay in the best reviewed hotels in London, York and Paris (none of which are the Ritz as the mad old fuddy duddy below seems to think) and this ranked comfortably alongside them!

The staff were wonderful, answering all of our requests happily. I even asked to borrow and hdmi cable to plug my laptop into the TV, and we returned to our room to find one. Real 5 star hotel staff definitely don't need luggage carts.

The hotel is beautiful too; a real treat for fans of boutique stays like my girlfriend. Needless to say, the Prestonfield is highly recommended in our books.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PervySage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Firstly be aware that this review if for the hotel and not for the Rhubarb restaurant, which is of significant quality.
We decided to stay at this hotel having attended a gala ball and found it the most disappointing experience. I could only advise that if you are looking for a truly remarkable hotel in Edinburgh, save yourself the heartsink and stay at a proper 5 star hotel, book The Balmoral.
The staff were not approachable and appeared simply pretentious.
There was nobody to receive our car on arrival and we had to actually request help with our bags, otherwise they were happy to let us trail all the way down to the reception at the end of a long corridor by ourselves.
When dearest husband commented to the staff member carrying the bags that he could do with a hotel trolley, we were met with a scowl and a belittling comment stating that "proper 5 star hotels would never use trolleys!". Obviously the young and inexperienced man has never worked (and never mind stayed) in the likes of the Ritz London or the Cipriani in Venice (where I have seen birdcage trolleys about).
The room was small and badly illuminated. No space to walk around at all. The only redeeming feature was the wonderful view of the beautiful grounds.
We had requested a feather-free room and the request was not fulfilled, we had to insist on a change of bedding on arrival.
The toiletries were from "Essentiel Elements" and frankly the smell was overpowering. Having a frank distaste for minty smell and being an allergic dermatitis sufferer I asked for an alternative having explained my allergies. The receptionist told me that "unfortunately they could not offer me any alternative and I would have to use the toiletries offered" in the most unsympathetic manner (thank Goodness for my emergency Jo Malone kit!).
The bathroom was also small and nothing out of this world, no separate shower and a very plain bath.
Breakfast in bed was nice and the duck Eggs Benedict were nicely prepared.
Please also note that if you are not travelling by car this hotel is not exactly close to the city centre or other attractions.
The hotel pretends to be lavish and is decorated in a grand fashion but unfortunately they are in dire need of a lesson in hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CCP1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East .UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and could happily have stayed longer . Great location , very peaceful and quiet after the buzz of Edinburgh centre during the festival .Our suite was very elegant and very comfortable , especially sipping the champagne and feasting on the homemade biscuits and truffles . The staff were extremely helpful and friendly . The food was fantastic both at breakfast and in the restaurant " Rhubarb " . We had dinner one evening in the beautiful and romantic opera box type room , just made for two and it was lovely .This must go to the top of your list of special places to stay , we will deffinately return .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing