We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people a little disappointing in some areas”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We've just checked out from staying for 3 nights at this interesting hotel. The welcome was warm and efficient, considering it was a busy wedding event day. We changed room after 1st night - just as well because the 1st suite had drain smells, which meant windows had to be open the whole time, plus the mirror was broken (bracket smashed), unusable and held together with tape! - no comment from staff - just found out when we went to use it but could not! Second room was fine. On transfering our luggage for us they left all our hanging clothes! when asked / reminded, they did get them but promptly put them into another suite ..... but ot ours! So very anoying and frustrating, although I must add they did apolgise and were nice about it. Our Sunday lunch was cold, plus a 7pm room service snack, took 1.25 hours when the hotel was quiet! So, for a 5 star expensive hotel, our thoughts are somewhat mixed, and likely to try somewhere else next time! I should also add the building is amazing, with some slightly odd style and clutter making everything very tight for space. Example is the reception, which is crazy cramped for a key area due to large items in what is a thoroughfare route! Our 1st suite was very crowded with strange objects, the 2nd much better but still cluttered. Please note the suites are in fact two double rooms joined together to make a suite, therefore you have two bathrooms, which can be handy for some, but a litttle strange. So we had his and hers bathrooms! The main old house is very interesting and atmisphric. The separate event venue stables block, looks incredible for weddings etc. hope this helps.

Room Tip: I imagine the suites are all similar - personally avoid the four poster rooms, as they are not big e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We chose this fab place for afternoon tea from the flyer that was displayed in Averon Guest house, where we stayed. Took a taxi, as Prestonfield is not in the centre, but it was worth it. I could not beleive my eyes when huge orange bull appeard on the right, and a couple of real peacocks on the left, and we didnt even leave the taxi yet...
When we did, we where met by a very polite young man in a kilt, who took us to a fairytale room for our afternoon tea. I never thought such design exists in real, only in the films.
I loved the dainty sandwiches, scones, little cakes, and the tea, but the best part was the setting.
We walked around the house, which is very old, and has interesting history. Took lots of photos, and felt completely at home, thanks to the young men in kilts, who showed us around.
Then we had a lovely walk around the grounds, with peacocks and highland cattle.
Perfect afternoon for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank tina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My team and I (11 of us) spent the night prior to Conference on site at the Prestonfield Hotel. Everyone of our requirements were catered for without hesitation and everyone was blown away by the exceptionally high standard of the rooms and of the hotel generally.

There was a bottle of complimentary champagne, biscuits and chocolates in the room on our arrival and a discreet turning down service in the evening with slippers placed at the side of the bed.

Room Tip: The ground floor corner room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Really lovely hotel, friendly, helpful staff. Great food and drink. Drinks in the library with the beautiful Christmas decorations were a high point. Only complaint was the room was a bit stuffy but otherwise it was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

On entering the hotel my wife and I felt we had a arrived at somewhere really special. The staff were so nice and helpful, the walk down the long corridor to the reception was almost magical allowing you to take in the ambiance and character of house, almost a feeling of stepping back in time. Our room had a decadent romantic feel which we liked.
Going down stairs for dinner and entering the fabulous dining room with it's subtle candlelit lighting and sparkling wine glasses on the beautifully set tables we had high expectations of a wonderful meal, sadly the dream ended !
I have never had such bad food served to me in a restaurant of this caliber before.

Room Tip: Eat else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan4c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at Prestonfield House with 35 Family and friends for a most amazing lunch.
The staff were very smart and very helpful.
We had not one complaint and everything went very smoothly.
We also stayed over, the room was very glamorous, nothing spared, exceptionally comfortable.
Would definetly have no hesitations in staying there again.
Breakfast was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We were married at prestonfield 3 years ago so decided to have an anniversary breakfast (have eaten/afternoon tea'd and so on) so breakfast it was! This trip was a little different as we now have a 7 month old son :-) All that said the food is fantastic - a great deal of selection from the buffet and the cooked offerings were delicious! We •always• return and I'm sure it won't be long until we do.

Oh and the staff are great - very accommodating, giving us a big table and seat to prop up our son in his car seat.

First class all round!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank scotbokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,917 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
655 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,416 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £185 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing