We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to End our Holiday in the UK”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Thank you for your attention to detail, service and terrific food. Sorry that we had your team scrambling to understand/make a Talisker Old Fashion, but they finally got it. Tea was excellent as well on one of our afternoons. The Lord P Suite was perfection. We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Spent the weekend at Prestonfield with entire family for parents 50th wedding anniversary. The whole experience (service, food, rooms and ambience) was first class.
We were extremely well looked after and would thoroughly recommend this venue to anyone wishing a 5-star experience in a fabulous setting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Went with 2 friends for champagne afternoon tea on Saturday to celebrate one of the friend's birthday. I was the one to recommend Prestondfield House after having afternoon tea there on my daughter's birthday earlier this year. What a different experience and what a disappointment. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our seat and then totally ignored for 20 minutes. A water drifted in and out of the small dining room but never glanced our way. Eventually I had to leave my seat and go in search of a member of staff to plead for food. This extremely poor service completely detracted from the relaxed, celebratory afternoon we'd been anticipating. When the food eventually came it was good, but by then the shine had definitely gone off the occasion. Don't think I'll chance it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Pontius321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel is by some margin the best hotel I have ever stayed at. It is central yet secluded, sumptuous yet not pretentious and the service is peerless. It is worth every single penny and more.

If you are staying in Edinburgh and don't go at least for dinner then you have made a grave mistake!

Room Tip: The suites I believe are to die for, none were available when we booked which was a shame but speaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveP_Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

They offer a wide selection of tea or coffee with a sweet n savory selection of many treats from sandwiches to pastry. We sat in the leather decorated room and all of it is amazing. Beautiful well preserved hotel n awesome tea time.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank suzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We've just checked out from staying for 3 nights at this interesting hotel. The welcome was warm and efficient, considering it was a busy wedding event day. We changed room after 1st night - just as well because the 1st suite had drain smells, which meant windows had to be open the whole time, plus the mirror was broken (bracket smashed), unusable and held together with tape! - no comment from staff - just found out when we went to use it but could not! Second room was fine. On transfering our luggage for us they left all our hanging clothes! when asked / reminded, they did get them but promptly put them into another suite ..... but ot ours! So very anoying and frustrating, although I must add they did apolgise and were nice about it. Our Sunday lunch was cold, plus a 7pm room service snack, took 1.25 hours when the hotel was quiet! So, for a 5 star expensive hotel, our thoughts are somewhat mixed, and likely to try somewhere else next time! I should also add the building is amazing, with some slightly odd style and clutter making everything very tight for space. Example is the reception, which is crazy cramped for a key area due to large items in what is a thoroughfare route! Our 1st suite was very crowded with strange objects, the 2nd much better but still cluttered. Please note the suites are in fact two double rooms joined together to make a suite, therefore you have two bathrooms, which can be handy for some, but a litttle strange. So we had his and hers bathrooms! The main old house is very interesting and atmisphric. The separate event venue stables block, looks incredible for weddings etc. hope this helps.

Room Tip: I imagine the suites are all similar - personally avoid the four poster rooms, as they are not big e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We chose this fab place for afternoon tea from the flyer that was displayed in Averon Guest house, where we stayed. Took a taxi, as Prestonfield is not in the centre, but it was worth it. I could not beleive my eyes when huge orange bull appeard on the right, and a couple of real peacocks on the left, and we didnt even leave the taxi yet...
When we did, we where met by a very polite young man in a kilt, who took us to a fairytale room for our afternoon tea. I never thought such design exists in real, only in the films.
I loved the dainty sandwiches, scones, little cakes, and the tea, but the best part was the setting.
We walked around the house, which is very old, and has interesting history. Took lots of photos, and felt completely at home, thanks to the young men in kilts, who showed us around.
Then we had a lovely walk around the grounds, with peacocks and highland cattle.
Perfect afternoon for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank tina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,014 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,432 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £162 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing