We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I were a Royal and looking for an escape, this would be it!”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Trappe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I were a Royal and looking for an escape, this would be it!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Driving up, I felt as if I might be arriving at a private country estate. Prestonfield is more manor house than hotel. Highland cows low their heads over the fence on one side and the front lawn was adorned with resident peacocks and pheasant. The front portico leads up and into a hallway lined with cozy parlors, each adorned in its own style from hunting tartan with antler chairs to tapestry lined with overstuffed couches, all with wonderful fireplaces. Tea or cocktails can be taken in any of the rooms meaning that it's easy to find a corner or even an entire room to yourself or your party. The bedrooms are exquisitely lined with padded walls which means very quiet nights and cozy mornings. The food is superb served by a highly trained staff, though we did experience painfully long expanses between courses (almost an hour at one point) but that is easily forgiven when you slow down to take in the gorgeous candle-lit dining room and wonderful wine list. Prices are what you would expect for a 5 star hotel minutes from the heart of Edinburgh, but worth every pence. Concierge was hugely helpful in finding us a hotel for the next leg of our trip to Lock Ness - even made our reservations for us. Highly recommend the Prestonfield!

Room Tip: Our group was on 2 floors, both excellent. Each room decorated a bit different, but all beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alden F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    119
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
182
628
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I've been to prestonfield many many many times and always enjoy the experience. Today we had afternoon tea and as usual the food and service were first class. It was just a bit of a pity we were put in the (cold) whisky room with no log fire and loud business meetings around us. I asked if we could be moved to the tapestry room but was told it was full). Not the usual atmosphere I'm accustomed to at P'field and whilst it certainly didn't ruin the afternoon it wasn't as nice as it usually is..

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank scotbokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel, the staff, the food in the restaurant, the quality of the room ) all added up to an experience to remember. When my partner went all out, he really went all our, it was everything and some. Don't hesitate to stay here for a special occasion or any other occasion if your lucky enough!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It's not cheap, but it over-delivers and for what you get it's fantastic value. Friendly helpful staff, excellent food and fantastically OTT decor. Great location for part of our honeymoon and meeting up with an old friend for cocktails and dinner. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughbrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband & I spent a wonderful night last night @ the Prestonfield House Hotel. It was a special night for my husband's birthday & a real treat of sheer indulgence before he commences a life journey to fight cancer. The staff, food & accommodation were exceptional. We were upgraded to a suite on our arrival ( the hotel knew nothing of the reasons for our special visit).The suite was oh just so lovely. We will be saving up for our next visit which we hope will be to celebrate the 'fight' for life! Thank you to all the staff @ Prestonfield House Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I attended a black- tie dinner at the Prestonfield (the wooden spoon charity do) - this place does this type of event better than most. The food and the service are both excellent - if you're planning a big function they will in let you down.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We decided to drive to Edinburgh for the weekend and booked the Prestonbury as it
had such good reviews. We were not disappointed.Staff were lovely,friendly and helpful.
Beautiful room with champagne and snacks.The restaurant food in the evening was superb.
Fabulous choice at breakfast to suit all tastes.We would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing