We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

i took my girfriend here for a romantic weekend ,and i was so pleased with the look of the hotel the greeting she recieved as she arrived before me they took her bags to the room and offered her lunch..
as soon as i arrived i was taken to her and my bags were taken from me to my room..

lunch was gorgeous well worth every penny and our room was small but cosey..

Room Tip: the suites are so much larger and on the first and second floor the attick rooms are small but funct...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
There are newer reviews for Prestonfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Out of this world a pure taste of indulgence Stayed for one night unfortunately it was a business trip and had prompt start in the morning but stayed long enough to get a taste of the luxury of this beautiful Hotel,OK its pricey but dinner was a very reasonable £33 and surroundings are superb as a rare treat before a very stressful day couldn't beat it !
Go on spoil yourself

Room Tip: They all looked good
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Fine location near golf course and close to city center. Very elegant and tasteful decoration.
Fine room but shower area in bathroom too narrow. Excellent service, pleasant dining in well decorated lounges (bar food menu, did not dine in restaurant) quite upset to find letter in our room,
stating that we had smoked in the room or out of the window, which was a totally false statement.
In fact we had smoked a cigarette outside in the gardens and because we found no ash tray, took the estinguished butts inside, wrapoed them in a tissue and disposed in the waste bin in the bathroom. Very upset that room maid went sniffling through garbage and subsequently hotel manager deposed false accusations in our room. He should have checked our room, there was no trace whatsoever of smoke.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

If you can afford it, stay here. Just pick up the phone and book it. The place is amazing. The staff are at your service, at all times. You'll be welcomed in style on arrival, and that sets the tone for your stay. The rooms are very cool and sexy, although our bathroom was oddly incongruent (needed an update). The peacocks and the Highland cows give it a country house feel, yet it's just ten minutes away from Edinburgh city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJacks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Driving up, I felt as if I might be arriving at a private country estate. Prestonfield is more manor house than hotel. Highland cows low their heads over the fence on one side and the front lawn was adorned with resident peacocks and pheasant. The front portico leads up and into a hallway lined with cozy parlors, each adorned in its own style from hunting tartan with antler chairs to tapestry lined with overstuffed couches, all with wonderful fireplaces. Tea or cocktails can be taken in any of the rooms meaning that it's easy to find a corner or even an entire room to yourself or your party. The bedrooms are exquisitely lined with padded walls which means very quiet nights and cozy mornings. The food is superb served by a highly trained staff, though we did experience painfully long expanses between courses (almost an hour at one point) but that is easily forgiven when you slow down to take in the gorgeous candle-lit dining room and wonderful wine list. Prices are what you would expect for a 5 star hotel minutes from the heart of Edinburgh, but worth every pence. Concierge was hugely helpful in finding us a hotel for the next leg of our trip to Lock Ness - even made our reservations for us. Highly recommend the Prestonfield!

Room Tip: Our group was on 2 floors, both excellent. Each room decorated a bit different, but all beautifully...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alden F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I've been to prestonfield many many many times and always enjoy the experience. Today we had afternoon tea and as usual the food and service were first class. It was just a bit of a pity we were put in the (cold) whisky room with no log fire and loud business meetings around us. I asked if we could be moved to the tapestry room but was told it was full). Not the usual atmosphere I'm accustomed to at P'field and whilst it certainly didn't ruin the afternoon it wasn't as nice as it usually is..

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank scotbokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel, the staff, the food in the restaurant, the quality of the room ) all added up to an experience to remember. When my partner went all out, he really went all our, it was everything and some. Don't hesitate to stay here for a special occasion or any other occasion if your lucky enough!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
621 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £184 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing