We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavish Decadent Indulgent Bliss.....”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #3 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lavish Decadent Indulgent Bliss.....”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

From the moment you step into Prestonfield you are transported into a magical journey of a baroque glamorous stage set. Oozing in style and elegance, you cannot help but feel part of it.

We stayed in the Allan Ramsey Suite for a special Birthday celebration. The room is quite simply stunning full of antiques, and attention to every detail. You feel like you never want to leave. Wonderful fluffy robes, slippers, chocolates and champagne - we felt really pampered.

Our dinner in the beautiful opulent restaurant was divine with an excellent wine list which was more like a bible. I wish there was a wine list in our room with so much choice - as it would of been good to spend some time looking through it - as some of the wines are vintage and you really need to order the wine an hour or so before the meal to let it breathe. Never the less we enjoyed a lovely bottle of Italian red.

The service was great - nothing seemed too much trouble. Maybe though wait until we finish our dinner before setting the tables for breakfast. It kind of takes away from the romantic evening atmosphere. It did not spoil our dinner - however the spraying of the tables with cleaning liquid was strong and did not smell very nice. I am sure there was no chemicals as you are so green. I think though a hot cloth would of been better as I understand tables need to be kept clean.

Breakfast was freshly cooked with homemade croissants which were quite yummy. Coffee could of been better. It went too cold very quickly as the pots were not heated. Not sure if there was a selection of coffee?. If you stay it maybe worth to ask - if you like nice strong coffee like me.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and I would return. I have travelled all over the world and stayed in some great luxury hotels. I would say that Prestonfield is rated as one of the most unique hotels I have ever stayed in. Just loved it!.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and stay in a suite. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    122
    39
    21
    13
See reviews for
193
641
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we have enjoyed Prestonfield few times now and it never fails

beautifully presented Hotel , delicious food, general atmosphere is just so wonderful,
staff very willing -nothing is too much trouble, so rare in this modern world!

one wonders how staff coped with so many demands, weddings, many private parties, guests such as us, afternoon teas, dinners etc it can't be easy but they were there to ensure we had our special time;

on our third evening, sadly last evening, we were tired after Christmas celebrations and hoped for a quiet moment or two,

staff suggested to use "Leather Room " exclusively, which was just amazing as we could enjoy more champagne, small supper and watch missed TV Drama, it could not be nicer, large log fire, beautiful Christmas tree ,fantastic service and peace-all just for us!!!

we would like to thank you all at Prestonfield for responding to all of our demands and to making our Christmas so magical

thank you to Alan- GM ,whose management style allows Prestonfield to entice and surprise

we are already considering dates for birthday celebrations in May

Queenie and Bryan

Room Tip: room 17 has two windows facing golf course beautiful aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LidiaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Prestonfield is sheer opulence and luxury with rooms befitting royalty.
the service is second too none and you feel completely relaxed by staying there.
we spent our hogmanay in the gorgeous surroundings of the prestonfield house and enjoy delicious food and relaxed surroundings a true unique experience and something i wont ever forget, book it yourself and see the splendour and luxury that prestonfield affords.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theatreworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This year, instead of buying each other Christmas presents, my husband and I decided to treat each other to a night in the Benjamin Franklin suite in Prestonfield House. We dined in Rhubarb with friends, and had a wonderful time. I couldn't find a thing to fault if I tried - just perfect. I have a feeling this may become a new annual tradition.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFromKent
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked into the Prestonfield House Hotel for the Hogmanay Festival for 3 nights.. The Ball is held in a converted stables within the Hotel grounds with the interior resembling that of a circus big tent. I have to say the festival was faultless with excellent food and entertainment

From arriving on the 30th we were welcomed with a genuinley warm greeting by the front staff and checked in by Emma, who after checking us in escorted us to our room to explain all its features

We stayed in room 5 on the ground floor which has one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in... beautiful.... enhanced by its four posts.. the decor is mainly red and black, quite gothic in apperance..

The views from anywhere in the Hotel are faultless and there is a tranqulity about the place in general which, in fairness, you will need to experience as its difficult to place into words.

We also dined at the Hotel Restaurant ( Rubharb) Again.. excellent.. with attentive, but not overbearing or intrusive service.. and the Wine List has to be the most extensive I have ever seen.. with choices of wine from all over the Globe and at all ranges.In fact, I believe the Hotel has a Mitchellin star for their wine list.

Really ...to sum up... When you stay at Prestonfield House Hotel, you are treated like a real person.. This hotel is run to please its guests ..not ...accountants.. You the guest.come first.!

The General Manager, (Alan) is very approachable and,can be seen ( walking the Walk ) with his staff and indeed guests which speaks volumes to me about the way this hotel is run..

Room Tip: When booking let the staff know what you are looking for in aroom.. this is not some faceless centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenFromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed several times at Prestonfield, In Nov 2013 we took eight friends to stay for a weekend and subsequently booked for New Year. Both visits were superb. The atmosphere is always wonderful and the staff can never do enough for you. It really is a haven of tranquility - the decor, the food, the service and attention you receive are of the highest quality - even our Jack Russel was made to feel quite special. Many Thanks to `ALL` the staff and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Thank you to all the staff for once again pulling all the stops out to make our family celebration fantastic. The Italian Room looked so beautiful and the food was first class. I know the hotel was busy being the 30th Dec but it never showed in the attention and service we got. Till next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 149 in Edinburgh
596 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing