We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prestonfield
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$328
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$169
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveller rating
1,002
132
47
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
132
47
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrhubarb restauranttapestry roomhighland cattleowners suitebenjamin franklinitalian roomlord provostramsey suitewhisky roomchateaubriandpublic roomschampagne afternoon teawedding venuearthur's seatstunning hotelupgraded to a suitesister hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
726 - 731 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a special hotel with much character and charm, set in a wonderful park. The rooms are beautiful and the staff charming and helpful. The welcome and farewell were ones of the warmest and most memorable.
The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent too. However, the service in the restaurant Rhubarb was hit and miss due to a lack of co-ordination. On all our three dinners there, the wine was served about 10 minutes after our starters. By the time it arrived, our starters were getting cold.
While were were impressed with the restaurant on the 1st evening, we were disappointed on the 2nd evening as we had to virtually remind the staff for everything: from the menu to the dessert. The people at the two tables next to ours came in about 15 minutes after us, and finished their meals 20 minutes ahead of us. The manager and staff were very apologetic for the chaotic service and, as compensation, took the wine and dessert off our bill.
These, however, were added onto our final invoice upon check-out. As it is always good practice to do so, we checked our invoice and pointed out this error to the front desk staff, who were very apologetic and amended our invoice. When we glanced at it again, and after checking our own paperwork, we realised another mistake: we were charged for our room twice. For some reason, we were charged again for our room, which we had booked and paid for through Lastmiute.com. Again, apologies were made and our final was amended for the 2nd time.
In conclusion, this is a nice place to which we would like to come back, but the co-ordination of the services needs improvement.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 which was very nice but dark because of lack of daylight as the window was tiny
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Over the years we have spent quite a few special occasions at Prestonfield. Family weddings, special birthdays, Hogmany and the like. Prestonfield never fails to impress. It all starts as one approaches the main house ( particularly in the dark - as it is beautifully lit). One is met by immaculately turned out staff in their dark kilt outfits and let into this fabulous hotel which has been designed to give guests the ultimate experience in decedent splendour. It is however always in very good taste and never approaches tacky in any way. The owner clearly has a wonderful touch and knows where to draw the line. The public rooms are magnificent, furnished extravagantly with a host of wonderful antiques, paintings and the like. Log fires add to the atmosphere. The bedrooms likewise are sumptuously appointed and it seems a pity to leave them.
We dined in Rhubarb restaurant which is breathtaking.
If you are there a walk around the grounds is well worthwhile as is a glance at the history of this historic old house in its magnificent grounds. Many important and well known characters over the centuries have enjoyed the hospitality here as have some more infamous characters.
We find ourselves leaving wanting more and looking forward to our next special visit.

Room Tip: Let them know what you are looking for and you will get just that.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reelandjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Brilliant weekend between Christmas and new year. Felt like home, staff excellent, food excellent, room excellent - general fantastic atmosphere that meant we did nit leave our spot in front of the tire all day on Sunday - we will be back :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

From the moment you step into Prestonfield you are transported into a magical journey of a baroque glamorous stage set. Oozing in style and elegance, you cannot help but feel part of it.

We stayed in the Allan Ramsey Suite for a special Birthday celebration. The room is quite simply stunning full of antiques, and attention to every detail. You feel like you never want to leave. Wonderful fluffy robes, slippers, chocolates and champagne - we felt really pampered.

Our dinner in the beautiful opulent restaurant was divine with an excellent wine list which was more like a bible. I wish there was a wine list in our room with so much choice - as it would of been good to spend some time looking through it - as some of the wines are vintage and you really need to order the wine an hour or so before the meal to let it breathe. Never the less we enjoyed a lovely bottle of Italian red.

The service was great - nothing seemed too much trouble. Maybe though wait until we finish our dinner before setting the tables for breakfast. It kind of takes away from the romantic evening atmosphere. It did not spoil our dinner - however the spraying of the tables with cleaning liquid was strong and did not smell very nice. I am sure there was no chemicals as you are so green. I think though a hot cloth would of been better as I understand tables need to be kept clean.

Breakfast was freshly cooked with homemade croissants which were quite yummy. Coffee could of been better. It went too cold very quickly as the pots were not heated. Not sure if there was a selection of coffee?. If you stay it maybe worth to ask - if you like nice strong coffee like me.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and I would return. I have travelled all over the world and stayed in some great luxury hotels. I would say that Prestonfield is rated as one of the most unique hotels I have ever stayed in. Just loved it!.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and stay in a suite. It's well worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we have enjoyed Prestonfield few times now and it never fails

beautifully presented Hotel , delicious food, general atmosphere is just so wonderful,
staff very willing -nothing is too much trouble, so rare in this modern world!

one wonders how staff coped with so many demands, weddings, many private parties, guests such as us, afternoon teas, dinners etc it can't be easy but they were there to ensure we had our special time;

on our third evening, sadly last evening, we were tired after Christmas celebrations and hoped for a quiet moment or two,

staff suggested to use "Leather Room " exclusively, which was just amazing as we could enjoy more champagne, small supper and watch missed TV Drama, it could not be nicer, large log fire, beautiful Christmas tree ,fantastic service and peace-all just for us!!!

we would like to thank you all at Prestonfield for responding to all of our demands and to making our Christmas so magical

thank you to Alan- GM ,whose management style allows Prestonfield to entice and surprise

we are already considering dates for birthday celebrations in May

Queenie and Bryan

Room Tip: room 17 has two windows facing golf course beautiful aspect
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LidiaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews