We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Churchill Suite Prestonfield Hotel.”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Fantastic. Glowing Candles, wonderful drapes, fabric wallpaper, antique furniture stunning. A special place to stay. We enjoyed the plush furnishings of Winston Churchill Suite. Excellent Staff and food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
There are newer reviews for Prestonfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

I got married in Prestonfield on the 1st June 2013 and had exclusive use of the hotel for the day- what an amazing experience! Prestonfield staff did everything to make sure it was the most perfect day for me and I couldn’t recommend it enough- either for a wedding, dinner or luxury over night stay.

Some of the highlights I will mention are:

Our food tasting prior to the wedding- it was such a memorable experience- they made personalised menus for us, a waiter tending to our every request and I brought my mum and dad along and they served them a 3 course menu also which we were not expecting so was an extra treat. Not to mention the attention to detail with the food- we took pictures of every course as they were all so well presented and all tasted fantastic.

Staff at Prestonfield- I have never been to another hotel that the staff are so attentive, friendly and willing to tend to your every need. There is always someone at the front door to greet you (with the boys dressed in Kilts) which gives such a welcoming atmosphere into the hotel. The wedding staff were also fantastic with all the guests commenting how polite and friendly they were and willing to help with any food or drink requests. Nothing was too much bother for any of the staff. Further, the wedding coordinator (Paul) made sure that everything ran smoothly and everything was just as he said it would be- no hiccups at all.

The hotel and grounds- What is also so spectacular about Prestonfield is that it is only 15 minutes from the city centre, but you feel like you are out in the countryside. You can see Arthurs seat from the grounds and there is a terrace that you can sit out and enjoy the scenery if weather permits. There are a number of peacocks on the grounds which was a great memory for the day. We had our wedding outside and the peacocks squeaked as everyone clapped which made for a funny memorable moment. The hotel itself is also amazing- it is so luxurious and opulent. There are lots of small charming rooms to sit in and enjoy. The bedrooms are also so grand and you really feel like you are living luxuriously.

Overall, there are just so many more nice things I could say about Prestonfield. If you are staying in Edinburgh then this should be where you stay. If not, at least make a visit for dinner- you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My partner surprised me with a 3 night stay at the Prestonfield before Christmas. It was truly one of the best (if not THE best) properties we have ever holidayed in. From the pick up to dinner at the private dining room (the Prive) to peacocks prancing on the lawn and a giant Christmas tree adorned with red lights in the gardens, everything was picture perfect and we could not find a fault.

It was a special occasion and my partner had booked us into the Owners Suite, a luxurious suite that had paid host to fashion and film royalty. I can see why. Not many of us would decorate our rooms like it but it certainly was just right for Christmas and was cosy with dim lighting without being too over the top.

My partner had made special requests such as for a Christmas tree to be placed in the room and two dvds of my favourite films and the hotel had happily obliged. It seemed as if no request was too difficult to satisfy!

Breakfast at the Rhubarb was lovely and the old world charm of fresh flowers in every room and staff in kilts added to the magical ambiance of the place. It didn't hurt to have a fresh bottle of Champagne in our room every night or for the snow to start falling as we dined in the Prive either!

I would highly recommend the Prestonfield, especially for a special occasion / romantic getaway. It's not too far from the city centre whilst retaining its privacy and seclusion on its grounds.

Highly recommend ordering a glass or two of the vintage port in the drawing room and trying out high tea at the Dalhousie Castle nearby!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manik84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a special hotel with much character and charm, set in a wonderful park. The rooms are beautiful and the staff charming and helpful. The welcome and farewell were ones of the warmest and most memorable.
The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent too. However, the service in the restaurant Rhubarb was hit and miss due to a lack of co-ordination. On all our three dinners there, the wine was served about 10 minutes after our starters. By the time it arrived, our starters were getting cold.
While were were impressed with the restaurant on the 1st evening, we were disappointed on the 2nd evening as we had to virtually remind the staff for everything: from the menu to the dessert. The people at the two tables next to ours came in about 15 minutes after us, and finished their meals 20 minutes ahead of us. The manager and staff were very apologetic for the chaotic service and, as compensation, took the wine and dessert off our bill.
These, however, were added onto our final invoice upon check-out. As it is always good practice to do so, we checked our invoice and pointed out this error to the front desk staff, who were very apologetic and amended our invoice. When we glanced at it again, and after checking our own paperwork, we realised another mistake: we were charged for our room twice. For some reason, we were charged again for our room, which we had booked and paid for through Lastmiute.com. Again, apologies were made and our final was amended for the 2nd time.
In conclusion, this is a nice place to which we would like to come back, but the co-ordination of the services needs improvement.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 which was very nice but dark because of lack of daylight as the window was tiny
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Over the years we have spent quite a few special occasions at Prestonfield. Family weddings, special birthdays, Hogmany and the like. Prestonfield never fails to impress. It all starts as one approaches the main house ( particularly in the dark - as it is beautifully lit). One is met by immaculately turned out staff in their dark kilt outfits and let into this fabulous hotel which has been designed to give guests the ultimate experience in decedent splendour. It is however always in very good taste and never approaches tacky in any way. The owner clearly has a wonderful touch and knows where to draw the line. The public rooms are magnificent, furnished extravagantly with a host of wonderful antiques, paintings and the like. Log fires add to the atmosphere. The bedrooms likewise are sumptuously appointed and it seems a pity to leave them.
We dined in Rhubarb restaurant which is breathtaking.
If you are there a walk around the grounds is well worthwhile as is a glance at the history of this historic old house in its magnificent grounds. Many important and well known characters over the centuries have enjoyed the hospitality here as have some more infamous characters.
We find ourselves leaving wanting more and looking forward to our next special visit.

Room Tip: Let them know what you are looking for and you will get just that.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reelandjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Brilliant weekend between Christmas and new year. Felt like home, staff excellent, food excellent, room excellent - general fantastic atmosphere that meant we did nit leave our spot in front of the tire all day on Sunday - we will be back :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

From the moment you step into Prestonfield you are transported into a magical journey of a baroque glamorous stage set. Oozing in style and elegance, you cannot help but feel part of it.

We stayed in the Allan Ramsey Suite for a special Birthday celebration. The room is quite simply stunning full of antiques, and attention to every detail. You feel like you never want to leave. Wonderful fluffy robes, slippers, chocolates and champagne - we felt really pampered.

Our dinner in the beautiful opulent restaurant was divine with an excellent wine list which was more like a bible. I wish there was a wine list in our room with so much choice - as it would of been good to spend some time looking through it - as some of the wines are vintage and you really need to order the wine an hour or so before the meal to let it breathe. Never the less we enjoyed a lovely bottle of Italian red.

The service was great - nothing seemed too much trouble. Maybe though wait until we finish our dinner before setting the tables for breakfast. It kind of takes away from the romantic evening atmosphere. It did not spoil our dinner - however the spraying of the tables with cleaning liquid was strong and did not smell very nice. I am sure there was no chemicals as you are so green. I think though a hot cloth would of been better as I understand tables need to be kept clean.

Breakfast was freshly cooked with homemade croissants which were quite yummy. Coffee could of been better. It went too cold very quickly as the pots were not heated. Not sure if there was a selection of coffee?. If you stay it maybe worth to ask - if you like nice strong coffee like me.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and I would return. I have travelled all over the world and stayed in some great luxury hotels. I would say that Prestonfield is rated as one of the most unique hotels I have ever stayed in. Just loved it!.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and stay in a suite. It's well worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,857 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,387 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
623 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £182 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing