We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We concur with previous reviews. We chose this venue because we were put off by the high cost of car park charges at hotels closer to the city centre, and we were so glad we did. The hotel, surroundings, accommodation and meals (breakfast and dinner) are excellent, but it is the friendliness of the staff for whom nothing is too much trouble that is remembered long after our stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
There are newer reviews for Prestonfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had a wonderful experience of Champagne Afternoon Tea in this gorgeous hotel. I was really taken aback how beautiful it is. The hotel staff make you feel very welcome from the fist foot in the door until you leave and do not make you feel uncomfortable. Definitely 5 star service. The sandwiches/scones and cakes were absolutely delightful and what a fabulous choice of teas on offer. We could not fault anything and hope to make a trip back to enjoy the "Rhubarb Restaurant" some time. A special mention to Blair our main waiter for the afternoon who looked after us well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

fabulous hotel where the surroundings and service within the hotel are of the utmost importance to the management the whole hotel is tastefully decorated and furnished including bedrooms and public areas the staff are very attentive and if possible shall cater to any requirements you have the breakfast is awesome as is the range of dishes on offer i had dinner in the rhubarb restaurant which i can highly recommend this hotel has high standards which it achieves and it certainly does not disappoint it is close to edinburgh city centre which is within walking distance you are close to the city however you are surrounded by parkland whilst here i also visited the witchery restaurant which is of the same high standard as this hotel

Room Tip: inform staff of your requirements they shall do all the can to accommodate your request
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 130campbell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Visited as a couple to mark a special occasion and found Prestonfield to be a magical place which offered a relaxing and luxurious experience without being at all fussy or aloof.

It was the staff who made the experience: from beginning to end they were available to meet our needs and were interested in providing an excellent level of service and care. Throughout the stay we spoke with a number of them, all of whom knew why we were there to celebrate, and barring one slightly dour waiter at dinner they all displayed real professionalism and dedication to making sure we were having a great time.

The hotel itself gives off a permanently warm and welcoming buzz. Think candles, atmospheric lighting, open fires and cocktails. In the morning we took breakfast whilst looking out over the paddocks adjoining the hotel, then walked through the gardens in the winter sun. A perfect antidote to the champagne, wine and excellent food of the evening before.

Only one area to improve: pre-arrival communication about our restaurant booking was patchy and we received an erroneous cancellation. A quick call to the hotel cleared everything up though.

We wouldn't think twice about another stay, despite the expense.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AberdeenEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Fantastic. Glowing Candles, wonderful drapes, fabric wallpaper, antique furniture stunning. A special place to stay. We enjoyed the plush furnishings of Winston Churchill Suite. Excellent Staff and food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I got married in Prestonfield on the 1st June 2013 and had exclusive use of the hotel for the day- what an amazing experience! Prestonfield staff did everything to make sure it was the most perfect day for me and I couldn’t recommend it enough- either for a wedding, dinner or luxury over night stay.

Some of the highlights I will mention are:

Our food tasting prior to the wedding- it was such a memorable experience- they made personalised menus for us, a waiter tending to our every request and I brought my mum and dad along and they served them a 3 course menu also which we were not expecting so was an extra treat. Not to mention the attention to detail with the food- we took pictures of every course as they were all so well presented and all tasted fantastic.

Staff at Prestonfield- I have never been to another hotel that the staff are so attentive, friendly and willing to tend to your every need. There is always someone at the front door to greet you (with the boys dressed in Kilts) which gives such a welcoming atmosphere into the hotel. The wedding staff were also fantastic with all the guests commenting how polite and friendly they were and willing to help with any food or drink requests. Nothing was too much bother for any of the staff. Further, the wedding coordinator (Paul) made sure that everything ran smoothly and everything was just as he said it would be- no hiccups at all.

The hotel and grounds- What is also so spectacular about Prestonfield is that it is only 15 minutes from the city centre, but you feel like you are out in the countryside. You can see Arthurs seat from the grounds and there is a terrace that you can sit out and enjoy the scenery if weather permits. There are a number of peacocks on the grounds which was a great memory for the day. We had our wedding outside and the peacocks squeaked as everyone clapped which made for a funny memorable moment. The hotel itself is also amazing- it is so luxurious and opulent. There are lots of small charming rooms to sit in and enjoy. The bedrooms are also so grand and you really feel like you are living luxuriously.

Overall, there are just so many more nice things I could say about Prestonfield. If you are staying in Edinburgh then this should be where you stay. If not, at least make a visit for dinner- you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My partner surprised me with a 3 night stay at the Prestonfield before Christmas. It was truly one of the best (if not THE best) properties we have ever holidayed in. From the pick up to dinner at the private dining room (the Prive) to peacocks prancing on the lawn and a giant Christmas tree adorned with red lights in the gardens, everything was picture perfect and we could not find a fault.

It was a special occasion and my partner had booked us into the Owners Suite, a luxurious suite that had paid host to fashion and film royalty. I can see why. Not many of us would decorate our rooms like it but it certainly was just right for Christmas and was cosy with dim lighting without being too over the top.

My partner had made special requests such as for a Christmas tree to be placed in the room and two dvds of my favourite films and the hotel had happily obliged. It seemed as if no request was too difficult to satisfy!

Breakfast at the Rhubarb was lovely and the old world charm of fresh flowers in every room and staff in kilts added to the magical ambiance of the place. It didn't hurt to have a fresh bottle of Champagne in our room every night or for the snow to start falling as we dined in the Prive either!

I would highly recommend the Prestonfield, especially for a special occasion / romantic getaway. It's not too far from the city centre whilst retaining its privacy and seclusion on its grounds.

Highly recommend ordering a glass or two of the vintage port in the drawing room and trying out high tea at the Dalhousie Castle nearby!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manik84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,857 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,387 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
623 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £182 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing