We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible country house in the centre of the city - wow!”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I've been looking forward to going to the Prestonfield for quite a while now and after finally making it there yesterday, it didn't disappoint! I went with a friend for afternoon tea which was served in the beautiful little yellow room at the front of the old part of the house. We took a break half-way through to walk around the grounds before it got too dark, and they were absolutely lovely. With Arthur's Seat in the background, the parkland with heilan coos, the peacocks, the summer house, the elegant baronial architecture and a choice of putting or croquet on the lawn, this really is a magical place!
The staff at Prestonfield were friendly and attentive. After we had finished our tea, we were given a tour of the house by an affable and enthusiastic kilt-clad young member of staff who gave us detailed information about the history of the house and its belongings - wonderful! Another member of staff was kind enough to take the time to talk to us later and gave us some more (spooky) tales of the house and its legends - the staff were just a pleasure to talk to altogether.
I am already planning my next trip back although I think I'll opt for a lunch at Rhubarb next time, followed by some wine/bubbles on the lawn when the weather gets better. I enjoyed the experience of the house itself more than the afternoon tea to be honest - I would have liked more sandwiches and savouries and maybe a choice for the cakes perhaps. However, it was worth every penny just to experience the old world wonder and elegance that is the Prestonfield. A new firm favourite without a doubt!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Spent one night here for a treat and looked forward to a good meal.

The building is superb, very opulent and the rooms reflect this, however, we were disappointed to find a blanket on the bed instead of a duvet. The pillows were rather flaccid and gave no support whatsoever. As a retired couple the bed is one of the most important parts of a hotel stay as we need our comfort and this was lacking.

There are the usual items to be expected in a hotel such as this - fully stocked bathroom with lotions/shampoos/shower gels and soft towels etc. Dressing table/desk in room with mirror but sadly the tissue box contained 3 tissues stuffed in the top - rather measly. Very large TV with DVD player and a good choice of DVD's available. Would prefer more sky channels. Lovely views over the fields and Arthur's Seat from the two windows. The decor IS boudoir style (quite dark) and not to our taste but that is a personal thing.

We had pre-booked our table in the Rhubarb Restaurant but when we arrived the tables were not ready and needed cleaning and setting. The staff were very attentive and friendly and did their best to apologise and rectify the problem as quickly as possible.

The menu consists of a table d'hôte with a set price with a good amount of choice. There is an a la carte menu also and we were told we could choose from any (we had booked half board).

The food sounded good but was very disappointing when it arrived, we were expecting better because of the pedigree of the hotel owners. The dishes did not meld together in complimenting flavours as we would have expected but were merely ok! Definitely style over substance! The staff, however were all very charming and helpful.

After dinner we wandered off to find one of the lounges for a drink. They are not easy to find. We found a room with log fires and sat around for a while but no-one came to serve us so we gave up!

Breakfast was a slow process and it took half an hour to get our cooked order! There is lots of fruit, cereals etc to choose from but as I have food restrictions I was looking forward to the cooked vegetarian breakfast minus the veggie haggis. When it came the portions were very small and as that was all I was able to eat I was rather disappointed. My husband had the full breakfast but said the quality was not as good as other hotels we have stayed in. The freshly squeezed juices - orange, mixed vegetable and apple were a very welcome addition.

The hotel is beautifully furnished and would probably make a good venue for a wedding, having the right ambiance and lovely grounds etc for photos.

We probably won't go back to this hotel because the food was not up to the standard that we look for. However, we heard that the afternoon tea was very good so we may try it if we are in the area again.

In conclusion, there is nothing majorly wrong with the hotel but it doesn't have that little extra that would tempt us back and I would agree we are picky but we stay in many five star hotels and something above and beyond would have been nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotusflower4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Spent a few hours last month having a lovely afternoon tea with close friends at Prestonfield. We were in the Leather Room, which we had to ourselves with a roaring log fire. The spread was delicious and the service was great, very attentive and happy staff. A beautiful, enchanting and cosy place, perfect for enjoying afternoon tea, particularly in the colder months.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gems118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked this hotel for my husbands 40th birthday.
We booked the owners suite which is the best room in the hotel !
Well first things first, the room was fantastic, out of this world amazing,from the moment we stepped into our room we felt like we had been swept away to another time and place.

The evening meal and breakfast was amazing also.
We had great service from the reception to the waiters/waitresses.
And everyone made us feel special.

We had a great stay and I would recommend for any special occasion or an escape
from life with luxury and extravagance.

Would not change a thing and will come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We are long standing visitors of Prestonfield having got married here in 2008. The hotel and the experience keeps getting better.
Our latest visit was over Christmas - there could be no better setting (other than perhaps with Santa himself). It was like being transported to Downton Abbey (in Narnia).
The hotel is totally unique and mixes sheer opulence with a refreshing down-to-earth normality. Every day is like Christmas staying there, so a Prestonfield Christmas itself had a lot to live up to - it delivered, as did every single member of staff.
The rooms a something from a period drama, but without being in any way shabby, the numerous lounges/rooms are totally unique and the staff are always there, but never obvious. The whole package makes any stay a total escape into a fairytale.
The food is beyond belief from the size of the Breakfast offering(s) to the standard of dinner - and everything in between.
It is a 'grown ups' hotel, but our daughter get treated like a princess....as does every child. They are made to feel truly special. (including mimicking Santa's "Ho-Ho-Ho" after leaving present my the tree - Concierge Stuart!)
Our only criticism is that it is 230 miles away and we can't justify going there more often...!

Room Tip: Try an afternoon tea.... and take time just to sit in the Tapesty Room and let the world slow down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryC2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was treated to afternoon tea here whilst visiting Edinburgh. It has to be one of the most Amazing houses to see. It is opulent and interesting but somehow manages to be quite cosy and comfortable at the same time.
Walking toward the door and up the stairs into the entrance you are met by staff - mostly young men - extremely smartly dressed and polite but very friendly.
The tea was delicious and plentiful with a good choice of teas.
Many thanks to Liam who, on seeing our interest in the house, gave us a mini tour and was very knowledgeable telling us a little of its history; about it once having the curtains set on fire by a guest in the past and the ghost of the little girl in one of the paintings!
There are peacocks wandering around outside and Highland cows in the field. It was altogether a really lovely experience and grand without being in the least bit intimidating.
Many theanks to all the staff for making our visit a real treat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Madhatter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

There is really only one word to describe Prestonfield...Perfection! From the location to the scenery to the warm, friendly and very professional staff, the exquisite food and sumptuous rooms, I cannot fault a single aspect of our stay. We had high expectations for Prestonfield, but they were well exceeded in every way. We are already planning our return trip for our first anniversary.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Daisybugbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,885 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £183 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing