We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne Afternoon Tea - Superb”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Spent a very enjoyable afternoon at this lovely hotel in Edinburgh - the champagne was lovely and there was a good variety of leaf tea - I had their own blend called St Andrews which was excellent - the tea was regularly topped up too the sandwiches cakes and scones were fresh and very light - the raspberry jam was delicious =. The setting is romantic and relaxing and the staff friendly and efficient - I will definitely go again The hotel has beautiful grounds and lots of rooms for private dining

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank FoxtrotFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I got married here last year so got the pleasure of experiencing the three 'function' rooms that we had booked (Leather room - ceremony, Whisky room - drinks, Stuart Suite - wedding breakfast) and a night in the Owner's Suit.

Everyone had a great time and raved about the wedding afterwards. It was perfect for a small wedding as the venue is like a very luxurious country mansion so was just the right size. It also enables you to have something far more opulent and luxurious than you could have in a hall with 200 plus guests.

The wedding planning was good. I did feel like the gentleman in charge of organising the wedding was a bit laid back until the actual day when he seemed quite stressed about getting everything organised. He did take on board my main ideas though and the venue looked beautiful dressed in flowers and candles.

There was a small hiccup when the night events manager couldn't get the CD player to work and we had to keep on at her until she finally used a hotel laptop. This could have just been done in the first place to avoid hassle during the actual wedding breakfast.

Also, same night events manager took a very very very long time in between courses during the breakfast, to the point where everyone would finish their meal and there would be an hour wait for the next course.

In spite of these annoyances I loved the overall experience and the pampering involved. The Owner's Suite was lovely and the perfect place to spend our first night as a married couple. The wedding breakfast was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious. Staff were very helpful and you got the sense that they took their jobs very seriously and all wanted you to have a great day.

It is an expensive venue but worth it for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Owner's Suite... the most expensive in the hotel, but for good reason!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ramona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Firstly, the hotel and grounds are lovely, the staff are friendly and helpful, the room, though the window was small making it dark even in the middle of the day was luxurious. Any questions asked of staff for recommendations were answered with them going out of their way to be helpful, print outs, maps etc.
The issues we had, though not major were noticeable and not really expected of a top notch hotel with quite a high staff to guest ratio, we ordered a goats cheese salad and received a chicken and black pudding one and the kitchen had closed so it couldn't be changed, breakfast ordered tea and toast, it didn't arrive, had to make the request again and got wrong bread, no mint for Mojitos, request no black pudding for breakfast and it arrives on the plate, as I say not major and certainly not enough to spoil what is a fantastic location, so quiet and still close to the city centre. The aircon in the bedroom is just about up to the job of keeping the room cool, but could have done with being a bit more powerful.
I'd still recommend the Prestonfield but with a little more attention to detail it could have been perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl_TL1000R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at Prestonfield House for three nights, celebrating our 3rd wedding anniversary. We had stayed in The Witchery 2 years ago and were afraid we had too high expectations this time. No need to worry; the experience exceeded our expectations! This hotel is indeed delicious decadence at it's best. Stunning property, eye catching interior, attentive, friendly and helpful staff, great food! The room was clean, spacious and lovely - and like the rest of the hotel - a real treat for the eyes. It is maximalism all the way; a wonderful break from all other bland hotels. Champagne, mineral water, fruit and chocolate every day. We were welcome to drink our complimentary bottle wherever we wanted throughout the hotel. Only 10 minutes to city center by taxi.
I will definitely stay here when we go back to Edinburgh next time. Thumbs up for allowing dogs (it's probably heaven on earth for dogs). We didn't have time to have dinner with show in the stable, but The Rhubarb restaurant was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #11 and were very happy with it. Next time, though, i will try to book the Benjami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Torunn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea at the Prestonfield Hotel. The staff were delightful and the afternoon tea with champagne delicious. Certainly a 5 star hotel offering and highly recommended for couples or friends meeting for an enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

What a wonderful place to have a wedding. Held my daughters wedding on Saturday 12th July 2014. The accommodation outstanding the lawns stupendous for canapés and drinks even the Peacocks were showing of their feathers.the all round ambience was out of this world..the reception in the stables venue was superb ,food just perfect wines just right and most important of all the service was second to none. Congratulations to Sarah ,Cameron and Laura for organising a special day.special mention to the Corra Band who made evening swing and how. II would highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue.Leave it to the experts that they are they just sail through it.'

Room Tip: All rooms are historic and beautifully furnished absolutely luxurious.Rhubarb Restuarant brilliant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This luxurious hotel was certainly the perfect venue for our daughter’s wedding reception. Everything from the opulent accommodation, beautiful gardens, the excellent food (special dietary requirements were well catered for) and the professional attitude of the staff ensured that the wedding was a glorious occasion.

We stayed in one of their luxury suites which are amazing, with all the frills you would expect from a 5 Star hotel i.e. complimentary champagne, chocolates, freshly baked cookies, fudge etc.

Breakfast was in the Rhubarb Restaurant. There was plenty of choice and generous portions, all freshly cooked on request.

Sarah, the Events Managers meticulous attention to detail and calm reassuring manner ensured that this was indeed a magical occasion.

This is the most wonderful place to hold a wedding or a special occasion.

The only complaint we had was that being the parents of the bride we didn’t get the time to have a lazy morning and enjoy the suite a bit more. I guess this just means we will have to return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhán O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,044 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
691 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £174 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing