We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we asked for - and more!”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked this for 11 of us to have a 70th birthday lunch. From the minute we got out the taxis at the front door, we were well looked after. The staff were "child friendly", especially Derek (just what we'd asked for and wanted with a 6, 4 and 3 year old!). The food and drink was delicious and served by friendly staff in beautiful rooms, allocated for our use only. I will certainly consider Prestonfield again (already had a family wedding and ruby wedding celebration there in the past). We were treated like royalty from beginning to end. When we tried to tip one of the staff, he said he had already been tipped - how honest is that? Says it all! Thank you Prestonfield!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

WOW, Peacocks greet you as you arrive at the historic country manor. Décor is quite over the top quaint and quirky both. Service is tip top yet relaxed. My room,16, was a corner room, comfortable and air conditioned, but not needed, and overlooked the golf course Great daily treats in the room each day. Daily breakfast was exceptional. Many public rooms where you could have cocktails. Outdoor cocktails could be ordered on the terrace, front lawn or gardens. We went to the show, Taste of Scotland, and enjoyed the music and dancing, skip the dinner. just go for show and wine. We had a very nice dinner at Rhubarb. Walking to city center is possible. I truly enjoyed my four day stay here and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 17 are corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Quite difficult to find , the Prestonfield is WELL WORTH the effort.
A gift from friends , of "Afternoon Tea " was just delightful .
The service / food / & attention , could NEVER be faulted.
As a gift , this was a fabulous treat , which we would willingly pay for , to repeat the sheer indulgence of the day.
If in doubt of this experience - GO !!! - you will never regret it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank brianandavril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I treated my partner to an overnight stay with dinner at Prestonfield staying in the Winston Churchill Suite and I have to say it did not disappoint. ... we had a lovely time, the suite itself was spacious and very comfortable - we were a little worried that it would be noisy as the hotel itself was packed for a wedding however we did not hear I thing! The dinner we had was served to us in a private space that I booked...the salon privae! I would recommend this if you want something special - your own little room with waiter service in the tower of the building that looks onto the gardens ....lovely! I can't fault this, the staff were all very friendly and service was perfect...Well Done - we will be back.

Room Tip: book a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoEnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Prestonfield House Hotel is a really amazing place to stay, it was a great adventure to stay there.

Was really impressed by the staff there, tall gentleman in a kilt, sounded a bit foreign, (no nametag) he offered to take my bags straight away and welcomed me into the hotel, he was very polite and welcoming. He took the bags to the reception and we followed him through, and as we followed he explained a couple of things about the hotel, and where the restaurant is. He took us to reception where Lewis checked us in, then the young tall gentleman took our bags to the room. Lewis was very smiley and friendly as well, he talked to us throughout the whole way down to the room. The room ( Number 14 ) looked very luxurious and Lewis explained a lot of things about it. We decided to have a look around the hotel later and we were fascinated by the high standards of service and the appearance and cleanliness of the hotel.

At the check-out the next morning, the tall gentleman was there again helping us with the luggage and had a conversation with us, he told us his name was Chris when we asked for his name.

Overall we had an amazing time, and I am recommending it to anyone who wishes for a nice romantic, calm and relaxed couple of days.

Room Tip: Room 14 was really nice, it had a lovely view of the garden and had no problems with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a very nice afternoon tea in our own private room. Tea was delicious and a large choice available. The food was excellent especially the savory part (not enough!) and the home made scones (with house raspberry jam!) The staff were very polite and helpful...we visited the hotel freely and made the most of the grounds (croquet) and sat in the gardens that are beautiful with peacocks everywhere!
Shame it didnt last longer!

Room Tip: When you book your tea ask for a private tea room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Melcou66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Spent a very enjoyable afternoon at this lovely hotel in Edinburgh - the champagne was lovely and there was a good variety of leaf tea - I had their own blend called St Andrews which was excellent - the tea was regularly topped up too the sandwiches cakes and scones were fresh and very light - the raspberry jam was delicious =. The setting is romantic and relaxing and the staff friendly and efficient - I will definitely go again The hotel has beautiful grounds and lots of rooms for private dining

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank FoxtrotFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,881 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,950 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £179 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing