We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifesavers!!!”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #3 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lifesavers!!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2009

So we moved to here after a disasterous stay at the Glasshouse. We read reviews on here and decided to go and check it out before committing to stay here. We immediately feel in love with Prestonfield as soon as we arrived. I guess the best way to describe it is think National Trust stately home but you can touch everything and sit on the chairs and bed! I guess it is a little dark but it added to the gothic charm for us. We were given room 11, which is shown on their website. It has dark red velcet walls with Fleur de Lises on the material wallpaper. It really does feel like the most decadent place you will ever stay.
You we too early to check in but this wasnt a problem, we left our key with reception and they offered to call a taxi to the city and they would move out luggage into the room ready for when we returned. We decided to walk, you will need sensible shoes to do this. Its about 15 minutes to the outskirts of the city and 1/2hr to the castle walking at a normal pace.
We did decide to get a taxi back, it was metered and cost less than 7 pounds.
As we were celebrating we had the champagne afternoon tea, what a delight. The champagne was sweet and delicious and all the sandiwiches and cakes were delightful and just the right portion. I should say we hadnt had any lunch, had we of done it might have beaten us!
We went for the dinner bed and breakfast option, you get 3 choices for each course, or can have the monetary value off anything you choose from the main menu. The food is amazing, my husband chose from the reduced menu and I from the a la carte menu. There was no difference in the quality of the food it was all a taste sensation. If they have them on the menu the langostines are the most amazing thing I have ever eaten!

There are so many positive things to say about this hotel, they really try and make your stay special and memorable and they certainly achieved that. If you are planning a romantic break to Edinburgh, this should be your first choice if hotel, the peacocks will serenade you and you will fall in love with this perfect hideaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorrainegol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    123
    39
    21
    13
See reviews for
195
642
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed here after staying at the Witchery for our previous 2 visits to Edinburgh. What can I say? Fantastic from start to finish, all staff were helpful, polite, friendly, nothing was too much trouble. we booked a double room but as the hotel was quiet were upgraded to a suite, only problem now is when we return I want to stay in the suite again, 2 full bathrooms, nicely decorated sitting room, large bedroom, plenty of complimentary water, champagne and cookies were wonderful. We has a drink in the yellow room by the real fire and could have sat there all night! Dinner in rhubard was one of the nicest meals I have ever eaten, wish we lived closer, the restaurant service was exceptional. Breakfast could not have been better, just wish i could have made room for some of the pastries. Would definataly recommend a stay here. Wireless internet avaliable in rooms and if you forget your laptop the hotel will lend you theirs.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castigergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

My wife and I had a great wedding with the Prestonfiled being the venue.
Lets just say the house, staff, attention, service, food, consideration, effort were excellent. Added to this we had fantastic weather.
Thanks to the events team, the management and the staff for going that extra 500 miles.
If you are thinking about staying at the Prestonfield do not think about it do it!
The Rhubarb is decadence itself food just amazing.
Many of my guests are going back many more wished they lived there!! If only.
Truly the best of the best.
By the way thanks for the recipe from the chef (re desert) my guests thought the entire meal was the best they have ever had.
With love Jamie and Leigh (We will be back that’s a promise) x x x

  • Liked — Its opulance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JDTSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Sheer unadulterated luxury surpassed only by the most attentive, willing and welcoming staff I have encountered. Jenny the receptionist, Gillian (restaurant staff) and Derek the Duty Manager where an absolute credit to this hotel, exuding a genuine feeling of warmth and enthusiasm towards their guests yet providing intuitive, professional service. Simply nothing was too much trouble and always with a friendly smile.

The public rooms are an amazing concoction of styles, rich in colour and character, opulent, sumptuously decorated and furnished to the point of being completely over the top…. but it works ! The restaurant is simply magnificent; a romantic haven for a special occasion and an ideal venue for a wedding breakfast. The cuisine is outstanding, beautifully presented and once again served by a team of well-trained and dedicated staff.

Our room on the top floor No 27 was a “large luxury room” but because of the sloping ceiling did not give the impression of being so. My suggestion is to pick a room on the middle floor, which we would definitely do on our return visit. The room never the less was beautifully furnished in rich aubergines with fabric-lined walls. The complimentary champagne given to all guests on arrival is a very welcome touch. The location of the hotel in beautiful parkland yet close to Edinburgh City Centre (£8.00 taxi ride) is calming and serene, with the peacocks being an impressive added attraction.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneLong3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Just back from staying at this Hotel for Christmas and overall the experience was excellent. We initially booked the owner's suite but moved after day 1 as it had only 1 small bathroom and we were staying for 4 days. It is a very unique hotel as all the other reviewers have pointed out filled with beautiful furniture and luxury fabrics/decor. All the staff were very friendly and could not have been more accomodating. We were very happy with the airport pickup in the Range Rover and kilt-clad driver! The food was excellent and really well delivered on Christmas Day. We ended up in the Lord Provost suite which had a really comfy large four poster bed and 2 bathrooms. It's really close to the city centre for all the nightlife and shopping you'd need but has the feel of a country house with the highland coos and arthur's seat overlooking. Highly recommended and excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Upmarket luxury & character
  • Disliked — LImitations of an old property
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Onslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Just lovely - a real hideaway with lovely fires , friendly staff .
Similar to the owners other Edinburgh place - the Witchery - which we loved too .
can't wait to go back ! - Perhaps my only disappointment was that the grounds are not as large as i had thought - I was looking for
a good walk - but visiting the highland cows and peacocks was lovely !

  • Liked — Atmosphere ! lots of books . fires , cosy !
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sessiagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

This was simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in... I enjoyed the experience so much that it has, in fact, prompted me to post my first tripadvisor review; even though I have been a lurker around here for years! My partner and I and extended families checked in here for 2 nights for a family celebration. We were all delighted with our beautiful, plush rooms (even if it is not to your taste it is relaxing and atmospheric... we LOVED the interior however) but more importantly the service, attention to detail and food was supreme. I have NO complaints about our stay here and am just dying to go back.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank failbhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,805 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,833 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 149 in Edinburgh
602 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing