We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never stayed anywhere quite like this” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never stayed anywhere quite like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

I always use tripadvisor to help make those difficult decisions about where to spend my hard earned, but have never felt the need to register myself or leave feedback (that's a bit too much like work when I'm still trying to draw out the end of my holiday!)

However, Prestonfield has changed all that! From the friendly welcome as we drove in, to the waving door staff as we left, everything was just like a fairy tale. Everything about this place screams sumptuousness and decadence, pefectly complemented by the attentive, proffesional service staff and delicious fine dining food (thought the petit fours were a bit tasteless (as in lacking flavour, not offensive!), but that's the worst criticism we could find from the whole stay). We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim6120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    116
    37
    20
    13
See reviews for
179
609
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

Went to this hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary - They could not have made it more special for us - Everything was perfect and nothing is too muuch trouble for the staff. The food was exceptional and the room fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank winston100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed overnight at Prestonfield House for dinner bed and breakfast last November last year. We were staying in the Churchill suite, and the room was incredible. The staff across the board are attentive, without being imposing and amazingly friendly.

The room itself is spectacular, I wouldn't want to ruin the surprise for anyone as the rooms here are so unique and half the fun is discovering them for yourself.

Champagne on arrival in your room and probably the most delicious cookies I have ever had. In the afternoon we had cocktails in the lounge by the fireplace, after we had been out for a walk around the house to look at the peacocks. The whole house is decorated to the highest standard, and it really is a pleasure to just be in the building looking around and taking it in.

Dinner was excellent in the restaruant, however the room can be a bit quiet at times and perhaps could do with slightly more in the way of background music.

The next day we had a breakfast that was beyond belief, there was so much choice, including home made patries, we enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast, the only complaint was that I could manage to eat much after the previous nights dinner. It really was a perfect break.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

Having stayed at the Witchery previously, we were looking forward to a 2 x night stay in Edinburgh with friends for the weekend. Unfortunately, the Witchery couldn't accommodate us for both nights, and suggested a stay at Prestonfield. Luggage was forwarded on, meaning we only had to get ourselves there which was a bonus. Arriving at Prestonfield, it was very different from the Witchery. Amazing rooms, fabulous entrance hall. Staff very helpful and friendly. Had fantastic dinner in the restaurant, although it was a little 'stuffy'.. although that may have been the fact we were having a great time, fuelled by champagne and were probably a little noisy (so we'll take the blame for that one). We booked a suite, which was wonderful - although the bathrooms were a little disappointing after the Witchery, as they're quite small. If however, you want a great romantic break - then this is it. Beds were amazingly comfortable, music systems in both bedroom and lounge (and two bathrooms!)... Our friends stayed in the other suite and again, thought it was fantastic. Overall, it was brilliant. Oh, and the food was delicious too... We also took advantage of booking their Range Rover to get us back to the airport, complete with a very good looking guy in a black kilt. Worth the expense just for that!! It finished the trip off really well. Only issue was that our friend is an art dealer, and he left the owner a personal letter explaining about some of the art on display. He has never received a response, not even an acknowledgment which is a little disappointing when he'd taken the time to write.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

So we moved to here after a disasterous stay at the Glasshouse. We read reviews on here and decided to go and check it out before committing to stay here. We immediately feel in love with Prestonfield as soon as we arrived. I guess the best way to describe it is think National Trust stately home but you can touch everything and sit on the chairs and bed! I guess it is a little dark but it added to the gothic charm for us. We were given room 11, which is shown on their website. It has dark red velcet walls with Fleur de Lises on the material wallpaper. It really does feel like the most decadent place you will ever stay.
You we too early to check in but this wasnt a problem, we left our key with reception and they offered to call a taxi to the city and they would move out luggage into the room ready for when we returned. We decided to walk, you will need sensible shoes to do this. Its about 15 minutes to the outskirts of the city and 1/2hr to the castle walking at a normal pace.
We did decide to get a taxi back, it was metered and cost less than 7 pounds.
As we were celebrating we had the champagne afternoon tea, what a delight. The champagne was sweet and delicious and all the sandiwiches and cakes were delightful and just the right portion. I should say we hadnt had any lunch, had we of done it might have beaten us!
We went for the dinner bed and breakfast option, you get 3 choices for each course, or can have the monetary value off anything you choose from the main menu. The food is amazing, my husband chose from the reduced menu and I from the a la carte menu. There was no difference in the quality of the food it was all a taste sensation. If they have them on the menu the langostines are the most amazing thing I have ever eaten!

There are so many positive things to say about this hotel, they really try and make your stay special and memorable and they certainly achieved that. If you are planning a romantic break to Edinburgh, this should be your first choice if hotel, the peacocks will serenade you and you will fall in love with this perfect hideaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorrainegol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed here after staying at the Witchery for our previous 2 visits to Edinburgh. What can I say? Fantastic from start to finish, all staff were helpful, polite, friendly, nothing was too much trouble. we booked a double room but as the hotel was quiet were upgraded to a suite, only problem now is when we return I want to stay in the suite again, 2 full bathrooms, nicely decorated sitting room, large bedroom, plenty of complimentary water, champagne and cookies were wonderful. We has a drink in the yellow room by the real fire and could have sat there all night! Dinner in rhubard was one of the nicest meals I have ever eaten, wish we lived closer, the restaurant service was exceptional. Breakfast could not have been better, just wish i could have made room for some of the pastries. Would definataly recommend a stay here. Wireless internet avaliable in rooms and if you forget your laptop the hotel will lend you theirs.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castigergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

My wife and I had a great wedding with the Prestonfiled being the venue.
Lets just say the house, staff, attention, service, food, consideration, effort were excellent. Added to this we had fantastic weather.
Thanks to the events team, the management and the staff for going that extra 500 miles.
If you are thinking about staying at the Prestonfield do not think about it do it!
The Rhubarb is decadence itself food just amazing.
Many of my guests are going back many more wished they lived there!! If only.
Truly the best of the best.
By the way thanks for the recipe from the chef (re desert) my guests thought the entire meal was the best they have ever had.
With love Jamie and Leigh (We will be back that’s a promise) x x x

  • Liked — Its opulance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JDTSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing