We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebration weekend”
Review of Prestonfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestonfield
Ranked #3 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Celebration weekend”
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Chosen because of its reputation for quality service and good food, the Prestonfield did not disappoint. Only 15 mins from the centre of Edinburgh, next to a golf course and with its own heli-pad the Prestonfield is perfectly located.

Prestonfield is a very fine hotel, with great food and lavish decor. The whole ambience says quality and efficiency. Its reputation is one of ‘the best’. So we where a little perturbs that the valet parking was not present - a minor point. The next thing that did concern us was to be told the dining room was full and we would be offered a table ‘our sister restaurant’ The Tower, in the middle of Edinburgh. We explained that this was not acceptable. Afternoon tea was served with a proviso we moved to another room within twenty minutes. So far the signs where not good and we where considering ‘cutting our losses’ and leaving. However very soon afterwards we where informed a table was available.

Drinks before dinner was the turning point. Everything from that point on was perfect, superb service, delightful and helpful staff and good food. The rooms are lavishly decorated, with all the mod cons, discreetly hidden from view. Everything worked and for those familiar with the ’chain hotels’ no signs telling you what you can not do and the charges for everything. Service is discreet and efficient. The atmosphere is relax and pleasant creating a feel that one is a guest in a country house.

In conclusion this is a place to stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    121
    39
    20
    13
See reviews for
185
635
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Prestonfield for our first wedding anniversary and we were not dissapointed! Firstly, the grounds were lovely and after staying nearer to town the night before it was fantastic to have the tree's and all the greenery around us. We stayed in one of their suite's and it was gorgeous, everything about it was sexy and romantic - just what we needed for our anniversary!!
The staff were wonderful, from the minute we arrived in our taxi the service was top notch.
We had a wonderful meal in The Rhubarb restaurant which is the hotels only restaurant, again the restaurant itself was gorgeous and the decor fantastic. Food was amazing, not cheap but you have to pay for food served and cooked the way it was in The Rhubarb so no complaints with the price we paid.
We had some lovely anniversary treats in our room when we got back which was a lovely touch and made us feel very special.
We enjoyed feeding the peacocks (by hand) whilst having a few beers in the hotels grounds.
We also ate at The Witchery and The Tower restaurants while we were in Edinburgh, all 3 places have the same owner - ALL of them were amazing so we are big fans of the owner!!
The hotel is a cab drive into town, around £8 in a taxi - well worth staying there and paying a little extra to get into town. When we go back to Edinburgh, we will be staying in The Prestonfield, we loved it!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

For my Wife & I the perfect place to get married

Starting to write a review for another Edinburgh hotel I note I never wrote one for Prestonfield last year. Although a year late I must write and say what a great venue this was for our wedding.

We were looking for a venue to hold a small intimate wedding and I must say Prestonfield delivered. Although a large hotel that caters for large events they handled our stay as though we were the only ones there.

Once we introduced ourselves on arrival to the person looking after our event nothing was too much trouble and we were looked after really well.

The hire of the Leather and Stuart rooms worked really well for the ceremony and private dinning. High tea after the ceremony was really nice and the evening meal in the private dining was great. Being 13 of us in total we were able to create a ‘wedding menu’ from the al la carte menu, three choices for each course all printed up for the day personalised to. The food is really good especially the Steak fillet!.

The cake (Rainbow sugar craft) and flowers (flowers by Maxwell) were arranged independently and were top class, recommended.

Our room the Franklin suite was really big, very handy for the ladies getting ready on the day (Although the bed itself is big it turns out only a standard double size bed).

The whole feel of the place, the friendly attentive staff, the food etc all made for a great stay.

One special mention for Derek who looked after us. He took the worry out of worrying if everything was sorted every step of the way, it was.

One niggle was the amount of chasing we had to do with the ‘event’ staff at times before the weekend, that should have been handled better by them.

Pickup & return to the airport was arranged through the airport to.

Its not only for weddings, special getaways to!, we’ll be back!!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetChop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Having stayed at the Witchery several times, we thought we'd book a suite here for our 10th wedding anniversary for a few nights.
This was a poor use of money for various reasons. The suite (The 'luxurious' owner suite, it was called) was a bit small - the bathroom was tiny. If you want a decent suite don't book that one. The bedroom furnishings could appear cool and eccentric but in the cold light of day, they looked a bit cheap and tacky.. I guess that is why the lighting is kept a bit low.
The most annoying things were to do with the service and the value.
Breakfast: burnt toast, slow service
Meal: Slow service - eg 30 mins to get a bottle of wine..Very average food, over fussy.
Value - We booked months ago to ensure a great room as wanted our anniversary to be special. This was a mistake. We know this because staff left out a list of all the guest details by the restaurant so naturally we read it. We saw that some people who paid 1/2 what we'd paid were put in suites with more space because they were a 'late booking'. We all know hotels do this, but you don't half feel stupid paying full price and being given a poorer room just because you booked early!
When we wanted to fill in the guest questionnaire to provide feedback they couldn't find one and the promised call back didn't happen.
Overall - it's ok only, not 5 star - and once the initial 'wow' factor is over from the gaudy decor, it's a disappointment. There are better places to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D0ra_jar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

If you are looking for that somewhere special, then look no further than this gem of a hotel in Edinburgh. Luxurious, decadent, romantic, exceptional - Prestonfield is all of these, and then some. Rhubarb restaurant is first rate and you feel like a VIP throughout your stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmckelvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

The service was abominable, lots of staff wandering around but we waited over 15minutes to have a member of staff take our order for type of tea - then it came not quite correct ( Darjeeling bag rather than leaves). After the tea order was corrected we waited a further twenty five minutes before our sandwiches and cakes came, by which time the tea was almost finished and what was left was pretty cold. All-in-all a very disappointing experience but in such beautiful surroundings. What a shame.
NOT recommended for afternoon tea

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moonma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My husband and I got married in Edinburgh last May, we had a small affair with 11 immediate family guests (and our 5 month old son.) After a service elsewhere, we traveled to Prestonfield for our Wedding breakfast. Once we arrived we had a wondreful, friendly welcome. We were made to feel like royalty as we arrived and we were shown to the leather room where our champagne waited. We sipped it out on the Terrace, which was made private for us. The sun shone and we really felt like this was the most amazing day of our lives, and it was far from over!
We Privately hired the Stewart room, very gothic feel, felt like we were dining in a castle, we even sat on thrones which we found quite comical. The room looked amazing, Never seen anything like it - couldn't believe how grand it looked.
We chose 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 deserts for our guests to have a choice. The food was heaven on earth and the service was outstanding.
The only down side was, my husband and I didn't stay over as we had a 5 month old son and thought it was best to stay with him.
I have booked Prestonfield for our anniversary this year. I have booked lunch and dinner and one nights accomodation and I know we will not be let down. Our big day just wouldn't have been the same if we did it anywhere else. We can't wait to go and relive it all again.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandMrsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 148 in Edinburgh
577 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestonfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestonfield

Property: Prestonfield
Address: Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5UT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prestonfield 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestonfield is Edinburgh's most indulgent retreat and Scotland's latest 5-star hotel. Rated one of the "Best 101 Hotels in the World" by Tatler/Abercrombie & Kent and AA Hotel of the Year 2005, this exceptional hotel is near Edinburgh's Royal Mile. Prestonfield has been lavishly restored by new owner James Thomson of Edinburgh's famous Witchery by the Castle. Now guests find every modern convenience hidden behind the velvet-upholstered walls of Edinburgh's most talked-about bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prestonfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestonfield Hotel Edinburgh
Prestonfield Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing