We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Macgabay

Te experience of a life time

Review of Prestonfield
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Aug 2016via mobile
I stayed here for only 2 days and by the second day we were trying to stay 2 more. The hotel itself was beautiful and extremely luxurious. The rooms were something out of a dream(see picture at the bottom). The grounds are filled with peacocks roaming around and other friendly animals. The restaurant there was just as good as everything else. The food was very very good and all of the wait staff were very friendly. I felt more at home than I did staying at a hotel. If you are thinking of going just do it. This is not something to second guess.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£78
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from Prestonfield
Free parking
Restaurant
£160
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
  • Algotels
1.4 miles from Prestonfield
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
£115
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.7 miles from Prestonfield
£228
  • ibis Styles
    £228
  • Skyscanner.com
    £210
  • Priceline
    £228
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£227
  • ibis
    £227
  • Skyscanner.com
    £216
  • Priceline
    £227
1.5 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£144
  • Expedia.com
    £145
  • Agoda.com
    £116
  • Hotels.com
    £144
9.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Free parking
£140
  • Priceline
    £131
  • Skyscanner.com
    £130
  • Expedia.com
    £141
1.4 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
£61
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
9.1 miles from Prestonfield
Free parking
Restaurant
£125
  • PremierInn.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
£112
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Prestonfield
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveller rating
1,303
151
55
33
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,303
151
55
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhubarb restaurant owners suite highland cattle leather room benjamin franklin lord provost italian room champagne afternoon tea arthur's seat stunning hotel garden room city centre visiting edinburgh royal mile wedding luxury kilts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Recently dined here with family but was not impressed with the service. We had to wait half an hour for a pre meal drink then during the meal the service was slow lacking precision. The food is nicely presented does lack flavour. It appears to be trying hard to be Michelin class with price tag but is not near that. The ambience is lovely.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mojo104
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Staying in a hotel of this level should be a real experience and the Prestonfield did not disappoint. I've stayed in a great deal of 5 star and luxurious hotels all over the world and the Prestonfield delivered a top 3 experience for us.

The style of the hotel is opulent decadence, and all the more special for it. One thing that they offer that's simply impossible for other hotels in this bracket however is the small number of rooms. Just 23 rooms, a very high staff to guest to ratio and lots of rooms to take food, drinks or afternoon tea in leaves you with freedom more akin to your own home with waiting staff than a hotel. That those staff know your name and take time to interact with you provides a genuine first class experience that other hotels will struggle to live up to.

The wine list was absolutely excellent and the breakfast was superb. I wasn't completely overwhelmed by the food at our evening meal. It was undoubtably of a high standard, but perhaps I'd been a little spoilt by the exceptional food I'd experienced during the week in Scotland.

Nothing was too much, and when we broke the bill down to it's individual elements it was also good value for money - it was a no holds barred night for us. I sometimes leave high-end hotels feeling some remorse over the cost of the stay against the whole experience, but that certainly wasn't the case with the Prestonfield. Highly recommend.

Side note: we discovered the simply incredible Speyside Glenlivet bottled water (bottled just north of Edinburgh in the Cairngorms) during our stay and will now be stocking at home. What a pure and wonderful drinking water for special dining occasions, but in our opinion it is best served at room temperature to appreciate.

Room tip: Each room is of an individual style, only choice to consider is suite or 'standard'
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank B5009BEpetert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2016

I stayed at the Prestonfield for a couple of days during the Festival and chose it for the free parking. However, I was blown away by the place, especially the staff that were incredibly good at getting the right balance between attentive and friendly. The building is in a beautifully quirky and eccentric high Victorian style and you can always find a comfy corner to have a drink or soak up the atmosphere.

The room was spacious with a huge four poster and oversize paintings and décor but proved quiet and comfortable with views directly of Arthur's seat and a golf course. even a 1am fire alarm didn't dampen out spirits as staff were helpful, it was sorted quickly and drinks etc were offered.

The breakfast was relaxed and waiter service (non of the usual crush to grab toast and cereal) and fantastically they did a full vegetarian breakfast. Again the surroundings were amazing and the service superb.

Taxis into the centre were approx. £6 a time and took 5 mins and you can walk it in 25 mins to Princes street

Overall the hotel creates a superb experience and is good value for a level of luxury and style that few other hotels can offer and I look forward to returning next year

Room tip: Taxis to the centre only £6 cheaper than parking there
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RichardYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We booked in for three nights as part of a set of family visits to Scotland. The hotel grounds are wonderful and you are given a warm welcome on arrival. We had to wait for our room until 3pm but enjoyed a walk around and drinks in the tapestry room. Champagne on ice in our incredible suite - and you need the footstool to clamber in to bed.

Wonderful building and staff, although service for things like coffees and cooked breakfast are a bit slow. If you're in a rush, you'd be best advising the staff.
We had a fire alarm go off in error on the at 1:15am which, given the standard and prices merited an apology - not mentioned the following day.

In spite of that, I'd recommend PRESTONFIELD for a lavish, sumptuous stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stevemH1319WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2016

A hotel in beautiful grounds, peaceful with gorgeous views and luxurious rooms reminiscent of a bygone age. What more to say about a wonderful 2 night stay.
Oh, i could also mention the peacocks and Coquet lawn and lovely food.

The staff are all excellent and a credit to the hotel.

This hotel is close enough to walk to the Royal Mile in 45 minutes and its an easy route.

Alternatively buses 30 and 33 stop 10 minutes away and drop you right on Princess Street 25 minutes later and cost £1.60.

I'd suggest you walk in and make sure your route includes the Grassmarket area of Edinburgh. You see loads more that way.

Used as a base to visit Fringe the hotel is ideal and offers calm after the hubbub of the city.

A fantastic stay in a fantastic hotel.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dotchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews